PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Not for Moomba, he’s got to find every anti United thing on the whole information super highway. I believe he can.That's enough internet for me today.
SM
I'm not saying expand for the sake of it at all. I'm saying there's only demand for 1 max 2 more sides and you're talking about a 16 team comp. maybe in 10 years or more Adelaide Brisbane and WA could sustain a 2nd side and it could get there.
Until then fix the mess which is 40% of the comp and bring in Woolongong and Canberra

Canberra makes far more sense than some of the other suggestions. They’ve got a viable stadium, they’ve got the W league club there they can align with. I’d rather see Canberra than a 3rd Sydney side.Canberra.![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
They've got nearly 100k bigger population than Wollongong and nearly 3x the population of Gosford (not that putting a side there went well enough to use as a benchmark)Canberra.![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
Yes but you’re still talking about one off games. You’re making an assumption based off that. Being able to get those numbers consistently is a very different kettle of fish.I'm pointing to evidence that they can turn out a strong crowd for a midweek fixture. 11,000 also turned up to an A-League game between Sydney and CCM there.
I'm not sure what you're missing, but you do realise more teams means more games each week? 14 teams = 26 rounds of 7 games = 182 games compared to 27 rounds of 5 games = 135 games.
What do you think is the solution to the big problem then mate?
Yes but you’re still talking about one off games. You’re making an assumption based off that. Being able to get those numbers consistently is a very different kettle of fish.
Apologies, misunderstood what you meant RE more fixtures. Thought you were meaning more rounds.
Not expansion. Rectify the problems they’re facing with the existing clubs before we add more teams in that won’t be competitive. Adding more teams at the level of CCM helps absolutely no one.
They’ve tried expansion before and it’s fallen flat most times (WSW the exception). There’s no reason to suggest that would change if they did it again now.
But don't have an established football culture.They've got nearly 100k bigger population than Wollongong and nearly 3x the population of Gosford (not that putting a side there went well enough to use as a benchmark)
Probably why I haven't suggested a third Sydney team (apart from using the Hills as an example of a high population area).Canberra makes far more sense than some of the other suggestions. They’ve got a viable stadium, they’ve got the W league club there they can align with. I’d rather see Canberra than a 3rd Sydney side.
Not many places outside Wollongong do which is tough since an 11 team comp wouldn't work.But don't have an established football culture.
Their population is also mainly pollies and uni kids.
Adelaide does, a regional Victorian team could work, Tasmania could.Not many places outside Wollongong do which is tough since an 11 team comp wouldn't work.
Oh no. I've been rumbled.Not for Moomba, he’s got to find every anti United thing on the whole information super highway. I believe he can.
Does tassie have a bigger football pedigree than Canberra? Haven't quite a few Socceroos come from Canberra?Adelaide does, a regional Victorian team could work, Tasmania could.
When you look at the turnout for the GF a few years back I would say absolutely.
I'm just not convinced about Canberra but agree on the other 3.Wollongong, Canberra, Tassie and South Melbourne should be the 4 most serious expansion prospects.
FNQ, Auckland City, Adelaide City and either a second Perth side or NT side should be the next considerations (maybe regional Vic too like SM said).
Main thing is finding areas where the A-League wouldn't be challenged too much and can properly build a fan base and community engagement.
Wouldn't they have all been united fans at the gf?When you look at the turnout for the GF a few years back I would say absolutely.
What does expansion actually cost if the sides coming in are established NPL sides with infrastructure, branding, and existing squads that would just need topping up? Genuine question. A-League get big license fees out of them and presumably would get a lot more in TV rights.Fwiw SM I'd love the a league to have 14-16 sides I just don't think the game can afford another expansion failure like the Queensland two or an expansion non event like Melbourne heart
Not necessarily, plenty would be football fans going for the event, otherwise Adelaide would get bigger crowds at premier regular season fixtures.Wouldn't they have all been united fans at the gf?
They'd only be able to defect 10-20% away from the main club. It'll be like heart all over again.
most Wanderers fans weren't FC regulars before coming in were they? I'm sure I've read a stat somewhere how them coming into the league brought a new fan base rather than splitting Sydney's up. Adelaide (or Perth) would need to do the same thing for it to work.
Melbourne Heart never did and just tried to lure in those who didn't like what MV were doing, like myself (I can't support a team that continually employees Kevin Muscat). But that's a limited pool of people even in a big sporting city so it's failed to do get enough support