Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

Dude, that is so me. I went to school at CBC Freo and was the token skippy(there was a couple of others but we were hugely in the minority). Was never a prob, ironically.

I often had to munch on a vegemite sanga for recess or lunch. If I was lucky, cheese and lettuce would be on offer!

Meanwhile, the dings were livin it large with all kinds of exotic shit!

After I graduated, I came to appreciate the Euro styles of grubbery. Good times. :thumbsu:

Lol, don't bullshit mate.

Dude, that is so me. I went to school at CBC Freo and was the token skippy(there was a couple of others but we were hugely in the minority). Was never a prob, ironically.

I often had to munch on a vegemite sanga for recess or lunch. If I was lucky, cheese and lettuce would be on offer!

Meanwhile, the dings were livin it large with all kinds of exotic shit!

After I graduated, I came to appreciate the Euro styles of grubbery. Good times. :thumbsu:
Don't act like you're working class because you ate Vegemite sandwiches but went to CBC. Not sure how many dings went to CBC early on either considering a lot were hard working people who came out and were abused in the bush. Lots of memorials out in the goldfields where many an Italian was thrown into a big hole after working a 30 hour day. I thought they were all public school and the worse issues they had was whether they were Old Easts or South Fremantle?

My family not too many decades ago were abused for having mud floors, went to Kwinana and South Freo and were lucky to have shoes. Pretty sure that's actual Freo working class, not for eating ****in sandwiches.

CBC – Christian Bummers College. Played them once in footy and they were the softest pricks I came across, worse than those blokes in the Carlton wannabe jumpers with the nice ground overlooking the Swan River. At least North Freo have those aboriginal blokes who wanna hurt you for a laugh and kick snags from the 50 pocket. CBC just had an ugly jumper and warmed up in puffy jackets.

Lol, don't bullshit mate.
In Melbourne you get a fair few Indians in the schools in the Essendon area, a lot of Asians in the inner eastern suburbs but as someone who catches the train regularly every school in the good areas (aka along the Freo Line – sorry Mt Lawley et al, you still count) is white, good looking, and I reckon even a third generation Italian is incredibly rare. It's white as **** and CBC is probably the worst.

CBC being anti-anglo anytime, but in the 60s to 90s is a joke. I went to a school with a high Indigenous population, few wogs, and even then skips were a 2:1 to all the 'others.'

In Melbourne you get a fair few Indians in the schools in the Essendon area, a lot of Asians in the inner eastern suburbs but as someone who catches the train regularly every school in the good areas (aka along the Freo Line – sorry Mt Lawley et al, you still count) is white, good looking, and I reckon even a third generation Italian is incredibly rare. It's white as **** and CBC is probably the worst.

CBC being anti-anglo anytime, but in the 60s to 90s is a joke. I went to a school with a high Indigenous population, few wogs, and even then skips were a 2:1 to all the 'others.'

I don't profess to being an expert on high school demographics but I can't imagine there's private schools anywhere in Aus where anglo-australians are a minority, let alone "huge minority". Maybe there are, and I'm happy to be corrected on that, but CBC aint one.

Rossmoyne SHS is a government one where they would be. :drunk:

Officially Rossmoyne and Willetton aren't selective schools.

But who has the money to buy a house there anymore?
Perth is off its nut; I knew Melbourne was crazy when St Albans went up to a mil but Rossmoyne? Bicton is awesome, Attadale pretty good too, but O'Conner to Garden City is where it gets shit – doesn't matter how close you get to the river or coast, remember 'Waterford' and Two Rocks are too.

Can't believe they're expensive suburbs. Lots of units selling SOR in Freo to Bicton for $300,000 in awesome locales for two bedrooms. We'll get to the two big Aussie cities when we become the third biggest (as should and will happen – not many countries have a third city next to the biggest one or two) and you want to be close in to good areas.

Don't act like you're working class because you ate Vegemite sandwiches but went to CBC. Not sure how many dings went to CBC early on either considering a lot were hard working people who came out and were abused in the bush. Lots of memorials out in the goldfields where many an Italian was thrown into a big hole after working a 30 hour day. I thought they were all public school and the worse issues they had was whether they were Old Easts or South Fremantle?

My family not too many decades ago were abused for having mud floors, went to Kwinana and South Freo and were lucky to have shoes. Pretty sure that's actual Freo working class, not for eating ****in sandwiches.

CBC – Christian Bummers College. Played them once in footy and they were the softest pricks I came across, worse than those blokes in the Carlton wannabe jumpers with the nice ground overlooking the Swan River. At least North Freo have those aboriginal blokes who wanna hurt you for a laugh and kick snags from the 50 pocket. CBC just had an ugly jumper and warmed up in puffy jackets.

CBC wasn't very expensive back then - I believe it's quite different now.

'Dings' as in European, but plenty of Italians went there. Vegemite sangas were just what we were given. It was more an indication of what was on the menu, not of poverty, though we were hardly well off.

Did you go to CBC?
I didn't but I know many that did, and not one of them are Greek or Italian. Most I know are of Irish descent, but maybe you went there in a different era, but since you are a WC supporter I also call bullshit.

It's where I went to school and you are free to call it whatever you like.

The term "ding" has always been a relatively positive one from my experience in a WA country town - only got used in reference to "ding sausage" for which all the footy clubs had a competition for each year as to who could make the best, wasn't really confined to a specific nationality lots of Macedonians, Italians, Croatians in the area but many who were of no Mediterranean descent joined in.

Perth is off its nut; I knew Melbourne was crazy when St Albans went up to a mil but Rossmoyne? Bicton is awesome, Attadale pretty good too, but O'Conner to Garden City is where it gets shit – doesn't matter how close you get to the river or coast, remember 'Waterford' and Two Rocks are too.

Can't believe they're expensive suburbs. Lots of units selling SOR in Freo to Bicton for $300,000 in awesome locales for two bedrooms. We'll get to the two big Aussie cities when we become the third biggest (as should and will happen – not many countries have a third city next to the biggest one or two) and you want to be close in to good areas.

I did a sweep of suburbs on realestate.com.au the other day. **** me, the difference between what you get in the high 7/8/900ks and low $1ms is huge.

Most OK suburbs cost a fortune. Bull Creek you are doing well if you can get in under $700k and most houses were built in the 1970s and haven't changed since. Decent area but how is this (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-wa-bull+creek-127251290) a million dollar house? Looks no different to the house of family friends that grew up barely 5 minutes away that they bought with one full time and one part time teacher salaries in the 90s. Willetton has some $600s places but most family homes are $700k+ and if you're not buying a family home why move there? I knew a girl that sold a place in Leeming that was nothing special and that went for over $700k.

Compare that to this joint (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-wa-attadale-127051146) and that legit looks like an expensive house and it's right near the river. Most people will never aspire to the $3m, $5m, $10m mansions but there seems to be plenty of people buying around $1m, give or take. Some places look like a relative bargain compared to others.

I did a sweep of suburbs on realestate.com.au the other day. **** me, the difference between what you get in the high 7/8/900ks and low $1ms is huge.

Most OK suburbs cost a fortune. Bull Creek you are doing well if you can get in under $700k and most houses were built in the 1970s and haven't changed since. Decent area but how is this (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-wa-bull+creek-127251290) a million dollar house? Looks no different to the house of family friends that grew up barely 5 minutes away that they bought with one full time and one part time teacher salaries in the 90s. Willetton has some $600s places but most family homes are $700k+ and if you're not buying a family home why move there? I knew a girl that sold a place in Leeming that was nothing special and that went for over $700k.

Compare that to this joint (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-wa-attadale-127051146) and that legit looks like an expensive house and it's right near the river. Most people will never aspire to the $3m, $5m, $10m mansions but there seems to be plenty of people buying around $1m, give or take. Some places look like a relative bargain compared to others.
That Bull Creek one is in a quiet little spot and in the Rossmoyne catchment, walking distance from it so. Very very desired location.