The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Yeah one died on the spot, other died later in hospital. Tragic. Still unsure what exactly caused it.
I'm an Electrician and I can tell you that it's an invisible killer. You can't take short cuts or think " she'll be right "

I've had a switchboard blow up in my face and spent a night in Royal Perth because of it. These guys who work with HV are a different bunch of blokes. 415 volts is bad enough. When you start talking KV , no thanks.

Anyone who thinks that dogs should always be outside regardless is not a person I would trust with regards to advice on owning dogs to say the least. Know a few friends with this mindset.
On the other side of things I don't think the people that leave their dogs permanently inside realise just how much their place usually smells.. I don't mind them inside a bit for a treat but they are predominately outdoors animals.

I'm not saying that they should leave their dogs inside at all times, I'm not that black and white.

I'm am talking about those who think the dogs should stay outside inclusive of events where it is a bit harsh to keep them out there e.g. Thunderstorms, fireworks, overnight in an area where burglary can occur.

My family leaves the dogs outside for the fact that they have a tendency to piss and shit and sit on sofas etc inside, and that is fair enough. But at nighttime the dogs come into the laundry to sleep, as it really I not safe for them to stay outside whilst everyone is in bed. And they are allowed in when there are fireworks or storms occuring for obvious reasons. That's a humane way to look after dogs if you think they need to be outside as much as possible.

If we are home, our dog is inside. If we are out, he's outside.

He gets a bath once a week and my wife is OCD when it comes to cleaning the house so doggy smell and hair is never an issue.

I'm an Electrician and I can tell you that it's an invisible killer. You can't take short cuts or think " she'll be right "

I've had a switchboard blow up in my face and spent a night in Royal Perth because of it. These guys who work with HV are a different bunch of blokes. 415 volts is bad enough. When you start talking KV , no thanks.
Geez screw that. What happened with the board why did it explode?

No matter how careful you are around the stuff there's still always that potential to catch you out by surprise.

Geez screw that. What happened with the board why did it explode?

No matter how careful you are around the stuff there's still always that potential to catch you out by surprise.
Working on a SMSB in a building in town and the insulators between the bus bars were so deteriorated , they gave out. You yourself being a Sparkie can imagined what happened next. This was before the days of SWMS and JSA's. You just went in and did the job. My mates silhouette is still on the switch room wall I reckon. The ****ed up thing about it is, the building manager was more concerned about the restoration of power than of our well being. campaigner.

I like it. I hate Friday night football in Perth and it's a pain in the arse to get there. All night games in Perth should be Saturday night.
I love Friday night games in Perth. My wife doesn't mind me crashing at a mates house after the game because we normally go straight to the game after work and get on the piss after the game.

Cant have it too late for the flogs over east watching on TV.

I prefer Saturday nights much more anyway.

Who cares about those flogs? :P

Don't see the west coast of US starting sport earlier for the east coast, shouldn't do it here either. Hopefully Friday night double headers are a thing by then.

I'm sure if they can do it at Subi they can do it at the new place.

You would of hoped that sort of stuff was sorted when they started the process

Who cares about those flogs? :p

Don't see the west coast of US starting sport earlier for the east coast, shouldn't do it here either. Hopefully Friday night double headers are a thing by then.
It was such bullshit that we had to have day games for the big bash.

I'm sure if they can do it at Subi they can do it at the new place.

Subi is serviced by Leederville Station from Butler, West Leederville Station from Perth, Subiaco Station from Freo plus plenty of roads for cars and buses. It's also right next to the CBD.

Burswood is really only serviced by the Farmer Freeway, Great Eastern Hwy and rail coming from Perth or Armadale. What the stadium needs is a train station which connects to Armadale, Butler, Freo and Mandurah without the need to get on and off in Perth. There are already multiple lines running as far as Claisebrook, it really shouldn't be that hard. Mandurah services could run along Roe Hwy and join up with Thornlie Station as per the original plan for that line, but all this is a lot more capital investment than the govt will have budgeted for.

Subi is serviced by Leederville Station from Butler, West Leederville Station from Perth, Subiaco Station from Freo plus plenty of roads for cars and buses. It's also right next to the CBD.

Burswood is really only serviced by the Farmer Freeway, Great Eastern Hwy and rail coming from Perth or Armadale. What the stadium needs is a train station which connects to Armadale, Butler, Freo and Mandurah without the need to get on and off in Perth. There are already multiple lines running as far as Claisebrook, it really shouldn't be that hard. Mandurah services could run along Roe Hwy and join up with Thornlie Station as per the original plan for that line, but all this is a lot more capital investment than the govt will have budgeted for.
The Burswood train station will be 6 platform so they may have specific trains for each line. The roads are more suitable for heavy traffic compared to the inner streets of Subi which turn into gridlock on gameday. Distance to the CBD will be about the same and will be connected by a foot bridge.

I hadn't realised they were old measuring stations- that's a huge drop off from 850 to 733mm, though. Is there a similar cycle like that through our history of recording measurements? ie periods of more then less rainfall?
I'm a number-lover. Love to see those stats and am always looking at climate stats (not that I remember what I've read, though :( That's one of the downfalls of old age :cry:)

I'd say with the slow decrease in rainfall that the rain that is falling would be lower than in previous periods. I haven't looked at the exact stats but I can always go back and take a proper look.

What am I on? I can't see the numbers on my phone.
SquishyKitty and friends will kill me if I don't post it on the Geelong board!

**** the Geelong Board, post your 20,000th here with your Western Australia brethren. :thumbsu: