The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Interesting considering he/she is ethnic themselves
I have a feeling that his post may have been a result of other people's comments. Perhaps to highlight the racial overtones. Having said that, I should leave it to him to defend himself.

There were some inappropriate comments last night using derogatory terms for various ethnic groups.

Chinthrop?

That's an odd one. The only people I've actually heard use that terms are my ABC mates in Winthrop.

I'd call it more affectionate than racist.

I'm also ABC but from the other side of Leach Highway

We were discussing it at lunch and wifey thinks Albany is the retirement capital of WA. I thought it was Busso?
Albany for sure.

I'm pretty sure it has some sort of statistic anomaly regarding the amount of people over 55.

Related, Albany also had the country's highest suicide rate per capita in the early 90s. Apparently it was staggeringly high for a few years.

It is a magnificently naturally pretty town from October to March. I think only Sydney could rival it in those terms. I don't think you could find about ten absolutely world class beaches all around one area. I love the granite, the clear green water, the really unspoilt areas where it's just high native shrubs and grass... if you took a European or inland American there and showed them all of that in four days, they'd be astonished.

...but in winter, it's like the ****ing Falklands. So grey, depressing, dreary. It's awful, the place is just a shithole then. There's nothing to enjoy and nothing to do. When you stop surfing at 15 it becomes even worse. I say this as someone who loves winter and the rain hitting you, grey frigid skies and days... but Albany just sucked in those months. Nothing on. Nothing happens.

Yeah there is some serious money down Yunderup way, a mate of mine from high school's parents had a holiday home down there with their own jetty, we went down there and ran amok hooning about on dingies.

And their place was povo compared to some of the super rich campaigners down there, they just bought in early back in the 80s when it was still being developed.
LK is now a pretty developed area. It's definitely not sheep territory these days. Pretty shit place these days though, that side out near Bayonet Head is woeful. Collingwood Heights is about as far away as you really want to get out that way. Even then... Breaksea Estate...

...but in winter, it's like the ******* Falklands. So grey, depressing, dreary. It's awful, the place is just a shithole then. There's nothing to enjoy and nothing to do. When you stop surfing at 15 it becomes even worse. I say this as someone who loves winter and the rain hitting you, grey frigid skies and days... but Albany just sucked in those months. Nothing on. Nothing happens.
Why stop surfing at 15 then? Too mainstream?

There are a number of suburbs in that area that are catchments for good or excellent public schools. These suburbs become "self-actualising" as asians by into the suburbs, study harder and achieve better results and thus deliver an even stronger reputation for the schools.

Winthrop is affectionately known as Chinthrop by asians, attesting to its high asian population.

Part of this was driven by Indonesia and Malaysia's racist education policies which prevented Chinese-Indo and Chinese-Malays going to university. So the parents bought properties in these suburbs to send their kids to high school and then to university. My wife is a product of this, owns a place in Chinthrop and went to Rossmoyne.......same with all her friends.
Ever been to Box Hill in Melbourne?

While I'm a flog and agree with some of his points, I don't think another big city would help.

The only thing Geelong is good for is masochistic trips down to see what footy was like in the early 90s.

That and Lambys on a Sunday night. Actually that's not a good thing at all.

No one ever talks about Wollongong, Newcastle, or Gosford. And Townsville, Cairns might as well be operating in their own state. Second cities don't have much pull or relevance in Australia, and them helping out WA in any way – especially in terms of making Perth a bigger, bustlinglinglinglier city is a bit nonsensical. Bunbury, the shithole, or Albany, too far away, swelling ten times their size will just take people away from other areas.

Other areas like Nauru Processing Centre.
Everything here is just too far away from everything! That's the point.

Chinthrop?

That's an odd one. The only people I've actually heard use that terms are my ABC mates in Winthrop.

I'd call it more affectionate than racist.

I'm also ABC but from the other side of Leach Highway
I've only ever heard it called Wongthrop. Never heard it called anything else.