The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

German backpackers arent the brightest drivers over here, I thought that country had the best learning programs in the world.

People do things in foreign countries they normally would never consider in their own.

Plus, the German road network and their legendary autobahns are some of the finest in the world.

Went out on Sunday for lunch and to watch the NBL in Northbridge hoping that UFC shit would be done by 2pm. First place tried was 'The Game' which is normally fine but there was a line to get in and when in there was like something from Snatch. Wall to wall Irish backpackers/Pikies smashed to the back teeth after arriving there at 8am fighting each other, tripping over themselves and some trying to light ciggies inside. All bottled beer and canned spirits sold out, no money in the ATMS, 10 minutes wait at the bar at least. Moved on to the Brass Monkey where it was again full of pikies but not as bad so got to watch the game albeit with pumping dance music. None of the backpackers were kicked out despite the way they were acting going up to random strangers and hugging them then were obviously taking pills because then they got all loving and sensual with each other dancing to Justin Beiber.

A lesson for all. Don't go in to the Northbridge the day of a UFC PPV..especially if McGregor is on the card. It's like St Patricks day on bad acid.
Brass Monkey is ****ing gross. When I'm back in summer I always end up going to a Glory game and we go for a few beers around a couple of spots, and it's okay at 3pm on a Saturday but a few months ago I was there at 10ish on a Tuesday or something... seriously, grim. Just full of horrible cougars and blokes in Volcom shirts trying to get laid.

What's that one at the far end, near the suburban side? Sort of towards Flyrite nightclub and the piazza? It's literally a drinking den for Paddies – there's barely even TVs and chairs.

FWIW re: Perth being unique, Budapest reminded me so much of Freo when I was there. I was really homesick at that time though so maybe it was the lenses I had on, but still. It's still a pretty southern European feeling city I reckon in summer – which is a good thing.

BTW FWIW jesus christ I'd do a lot for a swim at South or Port today. **** me. Victorians say they have good beaches but I went down to an apparently good one the other day, horrible. "It's a great beach but don't go past your waist – the rips are really bad."

As much as I would still recommend Freo to anyone visiting Perth jeez it's in desperate need of some revitalisation. 20 years ago my mates & I were skating at the woolstores and with the exception of some new boards over the windows it doesn't look like the place has changed a bit.

Had a conversation with a friend recently about Freo and he was of the opinion that Notre Dam has a lot to answer for. I don't know how much truth there is in that but I did get the impression that Freo (especially the west end) is turning into a bit of a student town...

As much as I would still recommend Freo to anyone visiting Perth jeez it's in desperate need of some revitalisation. 20 years ago my mates & I were skating at the woolstores and with the exception of some new boards over the windows it doesn't look like the place has changed a bit.

Had a conversation with a friend recently about Freo and he was of the opinion that Notre Dam has a lot to answer for. I don't know how much truth there is in that but I did get the impression that Freo (especially the west end) is turning into a bit of a student town...
The City of Fremantle has a lot to answer for as well if I'm not mistaken.

I work in Freo and while the West End is vibrant and a pleasure to be around everywhere else is dead..seriously dead. The mall has an empty shop front even second store, the area around the former Myer building is on it's knees and the area up nearwhere the FTI used to be? Woah..

It's delightful around Target too with the colourful locals waiting for their buses out to whatever shit hole they live in either scabbing smokes, money or sometimes making monkey noises to Asian people like I saw today. It's sad but a lot of people from the council down dropped the ball.

Beaufort St Festival canned due to it being too popular? Farkin lol!

From what I read, the organisers wanted to downsize it because it grew from a little indie event to attracting drunk dickheads, which ruined the spirit of the event.

Interesting to read about Melbourne in this thread. I've lived in Melbourne and Perth and loved both. Best thing about Melbourne was the access to footy. A mate would send out a text on a random weekend morning and a few hours you would effortlessly be at the MCG watching two random teams. The same thing about going to watch a band on a random Tuesday night. You'd have 30 venues to choose from. The best parts of Melbourne are the ones that hardly anyone knows about. I remember have beers at a venues that was just a staircase. On the platform between the stairs there would be couches. Pretty cool looking up and down a 15 story building and seeing people having beers in this dark, narrow staircase. This was in the early 2000s when the atmosphere was more relaxed and everyone was just out for some fun. Not sure what it's like now. The beaches are okay, but just for sitting in a cafe overlooking it. The real beaches are less than two hours away. Cape Patterson in Gippsland is as good as anything WA has.

But Melbourne is also too busy. The transport isn't great if you're in the outer suburbs. The suburbs are full of dickheads racing along the avenues on a Saturday night.

Perth is great. I love the weather during winter. I love the architecture of the city and Freo. Watching the WAFL as suburban grounds has been great fun. I really like the people here - Melburnians can be judgmental (private school, race, religion, location), but Perthites are really open and crass (which I love). I love heading down south for a weekend. I can't comment on how it's developed over the years, but the night's I've been out, there's a pretty cool atmosphere and it seems to be getting better all the time. I love the bold projects like Perth Arena.

It's been mentioned, but the customer service is total shit and it has the rudest drivers I've seen.

I work in Freo and while the West End is vibrant and a pleasure to be around everywhere else is dead..seriously dead. The mall has an empty shop front even second store, the area around the former Myer building is on it's knees and the area up nearwhere the FTI used to be? Woah.

I'm guessing the retail space is still listed for a gazillion $/sqm.

Probably. There's only so many bead necklaces and Roundhouse T Shirts you can sell.

Crazy Teez finally died on the high road there. Who actually purchased shirts from there apart from middle aged man child pissheads.

Anyone who says you can't have a good conversation on public transport is lying - you just have to find someone who grew up in an era where it was the norm. Had a great chat with a man today who was a bit of a wizard, covering everything from the pointlessness of growing rice and cotton in Australia to how the old GPO building is falling over to what's it like to play EVE Online with 400 other people.

That's another Perth thing - is there any major building in Perth that is not sinking or on the point of falling over?