The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Actually infrastructure is a very good way to invest riches. They just did it at the wrong time. If they'd started building these things now, they would've been cheaper, and they would've been employing people who are now unemployed, waiting for the next boom.

Possibly. Still, depending on the infrastructure project, you were always looking at a mass of short term jobs, then nothing. The stadium at least needs hundreds of staff and during the AFL season it would be particularly prosperous, is it the same with EQ? Would prefer more money gets invested in things like tourism and other service industries.

Jobs are jobs. They just help bridge the gap during a downturn. Also, it's not as though there isn't some other advantage to public infrastructure when it's completed, whatever it may be.

I like the idea behind EQ but I've always believed it was a colossal waste of money and not required - not yet anyway. There are also plenty of more sustainable jobs that could be created, but I suppose that takes foresight and thinking beyond election cycles. Mind you, not convinced an ALP State government wouldn't have done the same thing.

Elisabeth Quay is just super high profile and elite location real estate development for billionaires.

If it attracts new money to build and set up offices it is a huge win.

At the moment, though, office vacancy rates in the CBD are at an all time high. Millions of square metres of unused space. Chevron afaik is the only big company committed to a relocation to EQ.

Elisabeth Quay is just super high profile and elite location real estate development for billionaires.

If it attracts new money to build and set up offices it is a huge win.
Completely agree, however right now as with the housing market it's really tight. I know some buildings who are offering free electricity for a year and trying get tenants in.

However, when it was designed office spaces were a premium to get

It's tragic and I hope the guy pulls through, but prepare for the inevitable over reaction that comes with it as well.

You go into an environment which has wild animals and it's the risk you take, don't blame the animals for doing what is in their primal instinct.

Is he still alive? The story didn't sound good. Lost a leg, performed cpr and told the helicopter to leave

Fighting for life and in a critical condition, Perthnow have named him which I don't think is a good idea.

Some of his friends/family might not have heard the news yet, so would be a rude way to find out.

Fighting for life and in a critical condition, Perthnow have named him which I don't think is a good idea.

Some of his friends/family might not have heard the news yet, so would be a rude way to find out.
Perthnow named him before his girlfriend knew.

See that's just low, have some sense at a time like this and respect the victim's privacy.

Everyone's in a hurry these days to be the first with the scoop they put it before human decency.

3k course if you wanna get the license to do it legally.. and advertise and stuff.

I can do cashys on the sly though ;)

Mate 3k is absolutely **** all. You'll earn that in no time. Sparky mates of mine would never work for company now the money isn't there. Work for yourself and it doubles plus do whatever you want

http://www.combinedskills.com.au/electrical_contractors_training_program_by_csta_wa.html

Looks like you can get it done for $2250. I was just having a look as I was curious to how much electricians have to do to get licensed.

My opinion is if you're a tradie its worth spending the money to get licensed as if anything happens with work you can always fall back on working for yourself. There is always going to be work around.
Yeah I was thinking about getting back into the trade possibly next year when I'm free to be able to do so but because things are so bad and also because I've been out of it a long time I'm probably almost zero chance of getting a job with someone. But there is actually lots of domestic work out here in the wheatbelt, my mate works with his old man as a contractor and when I last spoke to him he said they are still flat out and I'm pretty sure the other 2 guys are the same. I've even done a few cashies myself, was thinking about just doing the course and just going out properly on my own..

I'm in recruitment. Advertised for a switchboard electrician this morning

35 calls and count less resumes once the ad went live. 45 mins later....it's absolutely scary out there at the moment
Mate that's scary stuff, switchboard wiring in a workshop is the dregs as well, boring as ****.

Or depending on your situation consider moving to Sydney or somewhere else for a year or so to earn good money. Mate I know is a brickie also and he's just gone to Sydney a month or two ago and can't believe how big of a boom they're in. Getting calls every day from multiple builders trying to get him to work for them and for more

3k course if you wanna get the license to do it legally.. and advertise and stuff.

I can do cashys on the sly though ;)

$3k would represent what.... 2 days' income? Do the course; advertise in the local paper for domestic or whatever work you're chasing (do research and slightly undercut the opposition, maybe offer no call out fee [build it in your rate] or some such sweetener) and you'll get it back in no time.