The Perth Thread

Heard on ABC yesterday about parking at Perth's hospitals. St John of God Murdoch had to increase their prices because it was cheaper than Fiona Stanley. As such, a lot of Fiona Stanley's visitors parked at St John.

A mate of mine works at various hospitals and pays up to $20 a day. He only clears $800 a week and he's basically spending $100 of that on parking. Public transport doesn't work really well so he ends up driving in every day.

The amount of waste at the hospitals is staggering, according to him. One hospital ordered a seating system for one of their ward's reception areas. The seats costs $7000 and the freight from America cost $7000 as well...
That is really shit.

I'm guessing the other thing they have to worry about is students from the Uni looking for a parking spot as well.

If Murdoch's parking is anything like Curtin's then it would be way cheaper than parking at the hospital. I pay $4 / day max at Curtin although this does involve parking a fair way from where I need to be.

They aren't that stupid. You have to have a registered smart rider for a start, and then you also have to log a subsequent train or bus journey on the same smart rider.

You shouldn't have to pay for parking at a ******* hospital, especially if you work there.

Paying for parking in general is a pain in the hole but it encourages people to use PT and the city and surrounds that's positive.

Most people have to pay for parking - where do we draw the line at who is exempt. I don't think those on afternoon or evening shifts should have to pay but then what about police, firies etc.

I can drive to Garden City or Bunnings and park for free but I can't drive to the hospital and do the same? Seems backwards. I get you want to discourage people from parking at the hospital and using it to catch the train, but it seems harsh to penalise hospital goers.

I don't know how many people work at FSH but if it was me I'd have designed in a staff car park and issued permits.

My mate works there and they have a staff car park right up the back (the one you can see from the freeway) but I think they still have to pay a certain amount for parking. I know when he worked at Freo the staff had to buy permits for the staff car park.

I can drive to Garden City or Bunnings and park for free but I can't drive to the hospital and do the same? Seems backwards. I get you want to discourage people from parking at the hospital and using it to catch the train, but it seems harsh to penalise hospital goers.

My mrs is a nurse there and they do have a staff parking area with permits etc but you still have to pay $50 a week to use it.

You shouldn't have to pay for parking at a ******* hospital, especially if you work there.

Paying for parking in general is a pain in the hole but it encourages people to use PT and the city and surrounds that's positive.
If you're visiting someone admitted as a private patient, they give you vouchers for free parking along with vouchers for free newspapers and meals at the food courty thing there.

I love how Perth people get so up in arms about paying for parking :tearsofjoy:. We don't even have road tolls. Haha.

Go anywhere in the world and it's a lot more expensive to use a car. It makes sense. Obviously I don't enjoy having to pay for parking, but it's a cost of living we've got to deal with. The more people who use PT, the better it will become. Perth is an expansive city and it makes it difficult if you don't have a car, but I would guess the majority of people could jump on a train/bus if they could be bothered.

I am a PT user and I shake my head at people who drive for an hour each day in morning traffic just to get to the CBD to pay $30-40 to park their car for 8 hours only to do the same in the evening traffic, but Perth's PT infrastructure is lacking in many areas.

Nurses for example work early morning shifts, night shifts etc. and earn a below average wage. Bit rich to say 'yeah just get PT to work' when it's often not an option at those times then slug them for parking also. And having to pay for parking to visit a hospice is just a kick in the nuts you don't need.