The Perth Thread

Which is why I hope these council mergers go ahead.

They can go ahead but just don't merge Cockburn and Kwinana. I don't want to live in Kwinana.

Jealous, but you can be sure that they'll come for your patch of paradise at some point. WA isn't an outlier the all the major Australian state government parties are propped up by donations legal or not of property developers. Why do you think Howard introduced the First Home Buyers Grant? To keep tradies in work? NSW Liberal Party branches screaming at him to do something for their donation committee more like.

Not sure what the go with some of the other states are but at least as a bare minimum Victoria makes developers pay for the infrastructure of a new suburb if they want to bash down some more bush/farmland. We subsidise the profits of estate developers by paying for all the roads and community centres.

Make sure you give them a kick if they try.

I've bought acreage in both places and will continue my WA persona of being the crazy old guy with the gun collection who lives at the end of the dead-end track.

Works every time.

serious.:thumbsu:

I love my suburban block with the big 4x2 plonked on the middle. It is the great Australian dream.

I don't buy into the need for a high density city with London like living arrangements.

With the land we have we can afford to spread out. Sure the services also need to spread out, but I don't see that as a major issue.

Spread out doesn't work - the city becomes too disjointed and public transport infrastructure is too expensive so we rely on a road network that is congested because we still have a CBD style city

I built a house in Duncraig 27 years ago and Hepburn avenue was the end of the freeway. I thought we were a long way from the CBD.

After a long stint in Broome I've now moved back to Padbury just a couple of k's north of my old house. Hepburn ave is now about halfway and the suburban sprawl stretches to Yanchep which used to be a holiday town. Getting around the city can be a nightmare and traveling in an east-west direction is ****ed.

There needs to be a balance - high rise development close to public transport and the CBD with larger blocks further out. Driving out into the northern suburbs I was amazed at the way houses are being squeezed onto postage stamped blocks with no space for any garden or character.

If they're going to develop in the outer suburbs do it on larger blocks - houses cramped next to each other with no yard 30+km from the city is dumb when it would be far smarter to build similar size apartments in medium height (~10 stories) apartment blocks closer to the CBD

But no there is a stupid fascination with double brick single dwellings just so people can say they have their own house and land

It's been the Australian dream since our Parents were born. And for good reason too. Our state is massive, lets utilise it.

I too grew up in Duncraig so I am very familiar with the area. I currently live in Greenwood and work in Bentley. Getting to and from almost kills me but when I get home and cruise around my 700sqm paradise all is right with the world. I can kick the footy with the dog, go for a swim out the front and eat my dinner under my 90sqm patio. All of this takes place securely on my property.

Anyway, a lot more people are working from home these days and that seems to be the way of the future. That should help ease congestion.

Anyone here go to the beach at night? Would you recommend? What beaches are the best for a night visit?

Not for me, as you know, I'm getting the flock out of here.
I'm actually keen to get back over east, I had an absolute blast in Sydney during my time there, not being able to hold down a stable job and going broke left me with no choice but to come back to Perth to live with family.

Perth is definitely a good city if you like the conservative simple family life lifestyle and/or the beach lifestyle.

Anyone here go to the beach at night? Would you recommend? What beaches are the best for a night visit?

Cottesloe, but smear yourself in tuna oil first.

I'm actually keen to get back over east, I had an absolute blast in Sydney during my time there, not being able to hold down a stable job and going broke left me with no choice but to come back to Perth to live with family.

Perth is definitely a good city if you like the conservative simple family life lifestyle and/or the beach lifestyle.

I'm gonna be a hippy in Qld mate. Can't wait.

It would be nice if the utilisation was outside of Perth as well.
It might be 'The Great Australian Dream', but it has led to urban development that is unsustainable and problems with provision of services and infrastructure. The culture has to change.

It's still possible to live 'The Great Australian Dream' though, just has to be further away from CBDs, major PT hubs and major service hubs as areas close to those need to become denser.

We have very limited arable land to develop on and service and infrastructure provision is too expensive and inefficient to maintain pre-1990s style sprawl growth.

Albany's great

If your 50/Retired/like Fishing

It gets very boring as a young bloke, Some good beaches but out of the way, It's a bit bigger nowdays but growing up around there in my youth it was pretty bleak, I didn't have a lot of friends, it was fishing with my grandad/uncle or riding around on a motorbike

Glad my parents moved out, No doubt i would of turned into a massive little shit with the amount of boredom i went through before high school

Cottesloe, but smear yourself in tuna oil first.

I'm gonna be a hippy in Qld mate. Can't wait.
Owsley "Bear" Stanley lived in Queensland for years, despite it's inherent right wing weirdness, or maybe because of it, who knows, it's quite popular with hippies.

There goes my acid supply:(
He also helped develop a lot of the parts that are used in modern amps and speakers. He was a very bright bloke, if a bit argumentative; Jerry Garcia once said of him, "there's nothing wrong with Bear that a few million less brain cells wouldn't fix."

geez, him and Jerry tried their darndest to make that happen!:p

Go to archive.org and search out some GD shows from '74 when they were touring behind the Wall of Sound, that was partly Bear's baby. It's still reckoned to have been some of the purest sound ever. A lot of the tech that he devised is used by high end instrument makers Alembic, who were partially formed by GD roadies.
BALKAN sorry to louse up your thread with hippy shit.

It's all good Goffy. We are very tolerant and open minded in the wild wild west.