The Perth Thread

Slight off-topic from the heated discussion on DLS..

Where can one find a decent pizza at daytime? Most of the real good places dont open until like 5pm, but I want one for lunch dammit!
No chain store suggestions please, want a real legit awesome pizza place like Ace Pizza (open only at nights) or Delisio(?) in Subiaco, which is a tiny little store but they've won shitloads of awards somehow and their pizzas are pretty good, open for lunch too!
Little Caesars in Leederville. Very good award winning pizza.

They also have shops in Mundaring and Hillarys but don't let that put you off. They are very popular for good reason.

There used to be a good pizza place on Cambridge Street in Wembley, too. Haven't been there for years though, not sure if it's still around.

Had to laugh at this:

"It was a case of life in the slow lane for the driver of a street sweeper impounded by police on Tuesday for travelling well under the speed limit on the Mitchell Freeway.

The truck was spotted by police near the Warwick Road exit at about 10.10pm, travelling south at just 48km/h, when it was pulled up."

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/wa-police-impound-hoon-street-sweeper-20141105-11h2gz.html

What a shame the police don't travel up and down the freeway during the daytime and pick up the stupid slow drivers! :mad:
Or worse- the drivers travelling in the right lane, just under the speed limit, with a HUGE gap between them and the car in front..... TEXTING!!! That's right. Middle of the day, @ 100 kph, texting in the RH lane of the Kwinana Freeway!

F*wits!!

48990199.jpg

I have a massive pet peeve for drivers driving like old age pensioners in the right hand lane and when stopping and turning in general.

You'd have loved to have been me, driving along this morning, then.
I was waiting to turn right from a side street, across two lanes of oncoming traffic going 70kph. The traffic lights must've just gone green because the two lanes of traffic seemed never-ending. Just as it eased off and I was about to turn into the median 'waiting area', some guy coming from the other direction slowed down in the right lane and indicated that he wanted to turn right, into the street that I was exiting.... so I was a bit :mad: but waited patiently.... but he went on by so I was a bit
smiley-angry003.gif
but waited for a few more cars in the other lane and turned in behind that indecisive idiot... who changed back into the LH lane and continued on :rolleyes:... dropping down to 50kph as he indicated that he wanted to now turn LEFT... but he then decided that was the wrong turn, so accelerated up then braked as we both reached the red traffic light (typical). I was in the lane next to him by that stage because he was obviously lost.

When the light turned green, he got off to a flying start, while I was stuck behind an old lady... so I'm
smiley-angry002.gif
but kept my temper. I started to change lanes to follow the old 'lost' man but, as I did, so did the lady in front of me... and the tailgater behind me swung right up so I had to keep changing into the left lane.... by now, I'm getting
smiley-angry008.gif

The old bloke slows down again, as he discovers the street he was looking for, and I'm still behind the old lady who's behind him. As I indicate to change lanes around her, she swings back into the right lane again and I have to whiz back into the left lane so she doesn't hit me.... AARGGGHHH!!! and it appears that she needed to get into the RH slip lane up ahead, so WHY WHY WHY did she bother going into the LH lane for 200m when she needed to be in the RH lane anyway???
smiley-angry012.gif

I continue my journey home, getting stuck behind a Steggles truck travelling 40 in a 60kph zone and I'm feeling
smiley-angry020.gif
.... and, wouldn't you just KNOW IT??? The traffic light at the end of that street turns red, HE SLIPS THROUGH and I get freaking STUCK AT THE LIGHTS!!!!!
smiley-angry021.gif

I don't think I'll be going out in my car for the rest of the day. :(

Slow down. Enjoy the ride.

:)
I have good days and I have bad days. Mostly I am happy to just cruise along but, once something goes wrong, everything compounds and the whole trip goes to shit. :(

I am resigned to the fact that I will always be the first person in line at the red traffic lights. The lights see me coming and they just rub their hands together, thinking "hee hee hee... here she comes!!" I no longer am bothered by that. I do, however, get pissed off when some idiot comes up next to me at the lights, rather than wait behind my car, then tries to cut me off when the light goes green because he/she just HAS to be in the opposite lane to the one they're currently in. Why not just get in behind???

I just don't get it.

Slight off-topic from the heated discussion on DLS..

Where can one find a decent pizza at daytime? Most of the real good places dont open until like 5pm, but I want one for lunch dammit!
No chain store suggestions please, want a real legit awesome pizza place like Ace Pizza (open only at nights) or Delisio(?) in Subiaco, which is a tiny little store but they've won shitloads of awards somehow and their pizzas are pretty good, open for lunch too!

Only gripes are that they always seem closed whenever I go to the footy (Freo getting every Sunday next year won't help) and they recently reduced their variety but yeah, great pizza. Also hire hot Italian babes which is a big plus.

Sorry I can't answer your question. knowing if you're north or south would help.

I have a massive pet peeve for drivers driving like old age pensioners in the right hand lane and when stopping and turning in general.

To be fair most of them probably are old age pensioners. I don't know why they always seem to be on the roads all at once though.

DLS is great for young couples, teenagers and older families. It becomes a bit of a problem if you have a young family that needs to be up and out of bed in time for school the next day after staying up an hour later the previous night. It's great during the summer holidays, though (I spent my childhood in Vic and have no complaints). During term time, I struggled to get my young kids into bed while the sun was up and I couldn't get them ready for school the next day- despite telling them that we aren't chooks and don't go to bed at sundown...

My next door neighbour used to complain a bit when he'd been out working in his yard fixing stuff and didn't realise till 9pm that he was late for dinner. Time flies when you're having fun.
And those who liked to get up and have an early swim or a run/walk/whatever before work, complain because their morning sunlight disappears and they can't fit their exercise in before work, in the cool of the morning. After work, it can be too warm for some.
My parents had a 'young family' of kids in primary and high school during the referendum and they're staunch advocates for daylight savings. I remember not wanting to go to bed just as much in winter as I did in those extended summers. It's not really an issue when you have blinds. And in an age of increasing obesity and social skills, surely an extra hour of exercise and hanging out in orange skies is something parents should embrace? In Melbs right now, the sun's down by 8pm. When does school finish? In a month or six weeks? It's a minor difference.

It's amazing to be able to go to sport while it's still sunny, to have an early dinner and swim at 6:30... daylight savings makes life a little more cinematic and enables so much more freedom – it's like, an extension on the best parts of summer.

Unless you live right near the coast and get the sea breeze it's usually too ****ing hot to do much running around in summer until a couple of hours before the sun goes down. All daylight saving means for kids or people knocking off early is that you have to wait an extra hour sitting inside in the air conditioning until it's cool enough to go outside and do active stuff.

Only gripes are that they always seem closed whenever I go to the footy (Freo getting every Sunday next year won't help) and they recently reduced their variety but yeah, great pizza. Also hire hot Italian babes which is a big plus.

Sorry I can't answer your question. knowing if you're north or south would help.

Aha yer that sucks that they arent open, but imo I like sunday 2.40pm games hey.. perfect timeslot to go to as fri/sat nights clash with other plans while sat arvo I play footy. So sunday nice and late in the arvo giving plenty of time to sleep in is awesome in my books.
Havent checked yet, but hope the Fre v Ess game next year is a sun 2.40 game! ..as Bombers have to play your mob over here again for like the 5th year in a row (again not a complaint) :p

And Im south of river, but about 10-15mins from CBD so not talking like real south..

Aha yer that sucks that they arent open, but imo I like sunday 2.40pm games hey.. perfect timeslot to go to as fri/sat nights clash with other plans while sat arvo I play footy. So sunday nice and late in the arvo giving plenty of time to sleep in is awesome in my books.
Havent checked yet, but hope the Fre v Ess game next year is a sun 2.40 game! ..as Bombers have to play your mob over here again for like the 5th year in a row (again not a complaint) :p

And Im south of river, but about 10-15mins from CBD so not talking like real south..

I think the timeslot works the best for Perth games.
Sunday arvos were the traditional time slot for Eagles games (protecting the WAFL on Saturdays) although the original noon start times from back in the day were a bit too early. 2:40pm is just right.

I personally wouldn't mind all of them to be in that time slot, saves hearing the whinging about Sunday twilight footy from fans out east.

My parents had a 'young family' of kids in primary and high school during the referendum and they're staunch advocates for daylight savings. I remember not wanting to go to bed just as much in winter as I did in those extended summers. It's not really an issue when you have blinds. And in an age of increasing obesity and social skills, surely an extra hour of exercise and hanging out in orange skies is something parents should embrace? In Melbs right now, the sun's down by 8pm. When does school finish? In a month or six weeks? It's a minor difference.

It's amazing to be able to go to sport while it's still sunny, to have an early dinner and swim at 6:30... daylight savings makes life a little more cinematic and enables so much more freedom – it's like, an extension on the best parts of summer.

Not convinced about the obesity and social skills arguments.

Kids who spend their summer holidays inside playing computer games and what not will still do the same thing regardless of an extra hour of sunshine

Not convinced about the obesity and social skills arguments.

Kids who spend their summer holidays inside playing computer games and what not will still do the same thing regardless of an extra hour of sunshine
Sure. So what's the issue with them going to bed? I always thought this "they won't want to sleep" argument stemmed from them being excitable and still outside when they're supposed to be sleeping in 10 minutes. How hard is it to draw curtains and lay down the law? Or why don't parents go out and kick the footy with a 9-year old, while the sun is out, and tire him out?

Kids don't want to go to sleep regardless of the light and the weather. If you can't get your kid to sleep on time, and the sun is disrupting your ability to do that, isn't that an indictment on your parenting?

I've slept in Norway and Finland in the middle of their summer. Light really isn't an issue.

Heat can be an issue, but on the nights in Perth when it is too hot to comfortably sleep at 9pm it's still going to be too hot to comfortably sleep at 10/11pm also.

Does DLS affect the morning behaviour of kids also? Logically if the extra hour of light in the evening means they have to sleep at 9 instead of 8 then surely they will get up at 6 instead of 5 because the sun rises later?

Daylight saving is great unless you're a provincial idiot who hates it because the "Eastern states" do it.
There is no reason to have daylight saving unless you're an idiot who says we should because the "Eastern states" do it.