The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

True, when I was in uni I rarely gone to the city/Freo/Subi/etc to drink. It's either the uni tavern or someone's place after making a stop at the local bottleshop. $10+ for a pint is okay if you have a full time job, but not if you're on Youth Allowance and making a little bit on the side.

$10 for a pint is never ever okay.

For what reason? I quite like their chocolate.
The chocolate is fine, but the factory itself is just mayhem. The gluttony with the free tastings astounds me.

Are you really surprised people are gorging on free stuff considering how overpriced everything else is down there.

I don't even bother with that one anymore, I was referring to the Swan Valley one.

Was at the Breakwater at Hillarys on Friday. Thought the $12.50 pints were a bit much, but then someone I was with paid $9 for a 800mL bottle of water! I mean, it was "sparkling", but earlier in the day I'd got 7 litres of petrol for that much.

Yeah, but that your petrol was still. Apples with apples, man.

Margret river really is the pits. Alright beaches. One decent pub. Few hot backpacker and a lot of knobhead tourists.

I don't get why people hate on Margaret River. It's a sleepy little holiday town in the South West, what do people expect from it?

Unfortunately you have to accept that if you're going out. :(
It's not like I can't afford it these days but I just rarely go now because it feels like such a waste of money. It's a bit of a shame really that you can't get out of the house, go enjoy a few quiet beers and have no change out of $50.

I figure it into the COSA - cost of socialisation allowance - and that it's more 'worth it' if the place we go to has a good live band, no cover charge, great atmosphere, live sports on the TV etc etc.

Having also spent a lot of time on holidays in Sydney and Melbourne, Perth's prices I find are comparable anyway, if a little bit more expensive.

Pints are still comparatively good value considering I paid $9 for a stubby the other day.

The Margaret River chocolate factory is just the worst.

For some reason I imagined you grumbling about paying $9 for a stubby at the Margaret River Chocolate Factory.

Paying $12.50 for Coksuq Brewing Co. lisp-berry oak ale is fine because half the point is that it's something you don't really session on – you'll grab it for dinner, you'll just have a single beer, you're aware that it's something out of the norm. It's not a whole lot different to paying more for a better wine or whatever. And you will pay that 13 bucks anywhere in the country.

The insult isn't the ceiling – it's the floor. The national variation in the cheapest tap beer is what makes you feel offended in Western Australia... you should not be losing a tenner for glorified goat cream like Hahn or something from the Carlton brewery.

But I guess these are the beautiful benefits of fluoro work gear and raping the earth for finite resources. Maybe if WA seceded everything would be okay.

I'll be coming to WA soon (5th trip) (haven't been in over 2 years) to see my 2nd cousin, his missus, her grandmother and their son who I've not met yet.

Around the large-ish area between Scarborough and Craigie and, to a lesser extent, the CBD and its outskirts, has much changed at all?

Apart from a few things, much doesn't seem to be changing from visit to visit.

From my 2006 visits to the 2008-09 visit, I noted that much had changed around Armadale in particular the demolition of the free standing Woolies to make way for a shopping centre and that Armadale Shopping City got a once over.

Does anyone know a little cafe joint near Dominos in East Perth which offer hot chips?
What I remember of them is the size of the chips are Maccas and Hungry Jacks sized

Greater Perth has terrific weather and whenever I've been there, it's not rained.

In and around Craigie, what's the best pizza shop and fish & chippery?

Cheers.

P.s. are Chicken Treat still clucking?

10+ dollar pints are the perfect storm of cashed up bogans and excessive taxes. Makes the sad action of sneaking in a flask and drinking it in the toilet a viable option.

I don't get why people hate on Margaret River. It's a sleepy little holiday town in the South West, what do people expect from it?
Been there recently? It's not a sleepy little town any more, it's an extension of Bayview Tce in Claremont.

In and around Craigie, what's the best pizza shop and fish & chippery?

Cheers.

P.s. are Chicken Treat still clucking?

Chicken treat are barely holding on, closest one to craigie is padbury, I once saw Blair Evans the olmypic swimmer in there and she was looking pretty damn fine whilst she ordered her chicken roll combo.

I live close to craigie and the fish and chip shop at kallaroo (otherside of marmion ave) does a great feed and its run by nice scottish couple.

Can't go past padbury pizza (otherside of whitfords ave from craigie), reasonably priced and good selection.