The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Don't know what the fuss is tbh - no different from other places that have dress codes so I don't know why the Lycra set would think they are above such requirements

No singlets
No thongs
No Lycra
No big deal
Maybe just put 'collar required'?
Mmmm.... maybe not- dogs would be dressed well enough to get in, in that case. Forget I suggested it.

Might have something to do with the opening hours of the restaurants, though it wouldn't explain why people would go to the Wok joint after 4pm ;)

I guess if you are hungry between the lunch and dinner hours :) Keeping in mind Dominos is 5m away

My only guess is that to some people all sweet and sour pork tastes the same :P

Nandos is OK, but it's not worth double the price of the equivalent McDonalds, Red Rooster etc.
Yes it is.

As for the $22 post - that's 2 pints in Perf money! - I'd suggest a large chips and drink on top of a half is food enough for 2 people.

Yes it is.

....if you haven't experienced proper independent roast chook.

And a half chicken and chips is the same amount as a Red Rooster equivalent, it's not better quality by $11. I get much better quality roast/charcoal/Portuguese-style chicken from little joints with similar-to- larger serving of chips and a drink for less than $20. I guess I have spent too much time in Sydney eating out at the little Lebanese and Turkish places and places like Ogalo.

Perth lads.

Any of you avid gym enthusiasts?

Need some... "Supplements"

I am not a cop, you can trust me.

Try this stuff:
g7_4dd20ef4534b2.jpg

I guarantee you won't get into trouble for using it :D

....if you haven't experienced proper independent roast chook.

And a half chicken and chips is the same amount as a Red Rooster equivalent, it's not better quality by $11. I get much better quality roast/charcoal/Portuguese-style chicken from little joints with similar-to- larger serving of chips and a drink for less than $20. I guess I have spent too much time in Sydney eating out at the little Lebanese and Turkish places and places like Ogalo.
Its not about roast chicken for me, if I want that I go to Red Rooster. It's more about flame grilled, covered in extra hot goodness for me. I also like charcoal chicken; its not as hot, but it is cheaper.

Half a chicken and chips from Nandos is a bigger portion than what you'd get from Red Rooter IMO. The chook is bigger to start with.

Thanks for that! My aversion has just stretched to cover the next 10 years!! :D
I generally try and avoid eating anywhere where you cant see into any part of the food preparation cooking area.

The story was probably embellished and I can't remember where it was but a bloke from one place I worked with reckons he pulled the covers off a switchboard in a restaurant kitchen, didn't realise how long it hadn't been disturbed and all this dust went everywhere with some of it all flying into a massive pot of food. Told the chef and he just shrugged his shoulders and just stirred it all in.. Also a mate of mine (that I would actually believe 100%) when working at Chicken Treat dropped a fully cooked chook on to the dirty floor, picked it up and threw it into the bin. Manager seen him and went "What are you doing?" And made him take it out and put it straight back..

Lots of horror stories everywhere - we've no doubt all got one. It's like anything though - if you get bogged down with the "what ifs" then what's the point, you might as well never get out of bed.

Yeah I don't really care that much tbh, it's still kind of funny though.

The story was probably embellished and I can't remember where it was but a bloke from one place I worked with reckons he pulled the covers off a switchboard in a restaurant kitchen, didn't realise how long it hadn't been disturbed and all this dust went everywhere with some of it all flying into a massive pot of food. Told the chef and he just shrugged his shoulders and just stirred it all in.. Also a mate of mine (that I would actually believe 100%) when working at Chicken Treat dropped a fully cooked chook on to the dirty floor, picked it up and threw it into the bin. Manager seen him and went "What are you doing?" And made him take it out and put it straight back..
Clearly you're not aware of the 30 minute rule.

Fast food is shit and the proliferation and success of Nandos, Grill'd, Jus Burgers et al is bizarre. It's not a local, one-off place but it's still the same price and not that good. It's bizarre. They're better than Maccas et all but it's something I cannot fathom at all.. why not have a nice countery and a pint if you're paying $20 for a burger and coke?

As for cyclists... total dicks. **** them.

Why are people that live NOR a complete *********? When I say NOR I'm not talking golden triangle or Bayswater/Maylands etc., I'm talking people that use the Mitchell Freeway, and when I say 'use' there is a fair bit of creative license involved.

Hutton St has been in existence longer than I have. It's not a new street. Nowadays as you head North if you are in the left lane before Hutton St you must exit. There are signs that say exactly this, and there are left turn arrows painted all over the lane. Today as a very infrequent user of the Mitchell Freeway I see the sign then move into the centre lane as I don't want to get off at Hutton St. This is about 4pm, so it's starting to get pretty busy. I reckon 1 in every 2 others accelerates up the relatively empty left lane past the point where the broken line finishes then slams on the brakes and indicates that they want to merge right over the unbroken line. For. ****s. sake. I know people in Perth don't grasp the concept of merging but this isn't even a ****ing merge point. The next time the traffic bloke on the radio says 'Freeway slow heading North due to a crash at Hutton St' I will know exactly why. End rant.