The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

I've had to go out to the international airport for the first time since that whole project started recently and it looks like another planet. Completely unrecognisable. Couldn't get back onto Leach Highway going south. There was no turn off. I just ended up on GE Highway. Thought I was in the Twilight Zone all of a sudden.
That's a worry. :confused: I came through late last week from the Domestic, going South- had to turn right from Tonkin, then veer back via Abernethy to turn onto a ramp leading onto Leach. Am not sure how that would fit in with your route coming out of the International but I think you'd come out straight onto Leach from my right. I wouldn't want to face that in the dark :eek:

I found the place very confusing at the beginning, when there didn't seem to be signs pointing anywhere yet there were gaps between the orange cones and people were turning off to Abernethy, Leach, etc. It now looks a lot better with respect to directions, etc. and I've recently been to both terminals without too much fuss. The international is a bit dodgy, still, especially as I was told a month before I went that I'd need to turn left off Tonkin, coming from the South, but things had changed and I had to come off from the RHS. A week after I did that, though, there were signs saying that the turnoff would be from the LHS again, commencing the following week.

There must be a fair few lost travellers as well as accidents, as people try to switch lanes at the last minute once they see their regular route has changed.

I can't wait till it's all finished! The routes are updated on this website: http://gatewaywa.com.au/news/latest-news/major-traffic-changes

Your exit to Leach Hwy is marked on one of the maps in the links there.

Yeah, the airport is completely changed! The new ramps and stuff, i thought they were gonna use the bridge for the Train.

http://www.news.com.au/finance/busi...s-is-not-welcome/story-fnkgdftz-1227470101487

What's going on here?

'The residents claim the restaurant would cause noise, littering, anti-social behaviour and traffic congestion as well as encourage children at the nearby primary school to eat fast food.'

Errrrr, Applecross McDonald's has been there as long as I can remember. The new site is a couple of hundred metres up Canning Hwy towards Freo, but the intersection is a medical centre, real estate agent and servo so it's not like a McDonald's will be totally out of place. It's not really that much closer to Applecross Primary than the old site anyway.

Seems like an odd thing to be up in arms about.

http://www.news.com.au/finance/busi...s-is-not-welcome/story-fnkgdftz-1227470101487

What's going on here?

'The residents claim the restaurant would cause noise, littering, anti-social behaviour and traffic congestion as well as encourage children at the nearby primary school to eat fast food.'

Errrrr, Applecross McDonald's has been there as long as I can remember. The new site is a couple of hundred metres up Canning Hwy towards Freo, but the intersection is a medical centre, real estate agent and servo so it's not like a McDonald's will be totally out of place. It's not really that much closer to Applecross Primary than the old site anyway.

I used to live 100 metres away and i think its fair enough. That street isnt appropriate for a Maccas.

The lease is expiring on the original site, I'm not sure they can.

The intersection at Canning Hwy and Sleat Rd is a pig, so I reckon moving McDonald's 300m up the road to Reynolds Rd will actually improve things. Plenty of space there to get cars in and out.
The intersection of Canning and Reynolds is a carpark in the mornings at peak hour. It's the rat run through to the freeway to avoid blockages around Leach.

2 stories is probably just to fit in the parking. All maccas stores are open 24hrs these days, but drive thru only after 10pm

I think you'll struggle to find a location anywhere if not being a carpark in the morning is a pre-req.
Maybe on the moon would be my preference. Hate the place.

Still, if Reynold's road is at a standstill in the mornings - and I don't know if it's always like that because I have only been that way a few times because of the crap traffic- why bring another cause in to make things worse? There's a doctor's surgery on the LHS (SW corner of the intersection) and I've seen people blocked from getting into that carpark, so I can't see Maccas being any better.

What's going on here?

NIMBYism in full flight except um yeah there's already a maccas there so no idea what their issue is

Just ate an award-winning minced beef pie from the Bullcreek bakery, opposite Woolies...oh yummmmmm!!!

followed it with a packet of salted caramel popcorn from Target, then washed it down with a coffee from Gateways. Time for dessert... a jam doughnut from the same bakery as the meat pie.. Just can't wait! :D (I don't think I will be eating my dinner tonight!)

Lol at UWA arts students protesting today about their basket weaving degrees being taken away from them.
lolwut?? :D Come on- tell the truth- they're protesting about the heavy load they have at Uni. 6 hours a week of lectures and tutes. What next? :rolleyes:

Seriously- what are they really protesting about?

lolwut?? :D Come on- tell the truth- they're protesting about the heavy load they have at Uni. 6 hours a week of lectures and tutes. What next? :rolleyes:

Seriously- what are they really protesting about?

The fact the arts faculty is planning on cutting Gender Studies, Medieval History and European Studies majors.