PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Anyone else catch the three fighter jets going over in low formation a little before lunch time today? Dont see that every day.
I saw them then I most definitely heard them.I heard them. Gave me flashbacks to the 1994 NATO campaigns.
Do you have a place you are moving to?Now that it has all but been confirmed that I'm moving. I need a Perth "starters pack" of information.
Good bars/places to drink & watch footy (or any other sports).
The "Do's and don't of living in Perth"
Good shortcuts etc for getting around/ Public transport tips
Good places to shop
Suburbs to avoid
Things to do outside of uni
Anything else you current Perth dwellers can think of.
I'm pretty much a blank slate on living in Perth. So the more you guys (and gals) can lay on me before I move, the better.
Mt LawleyNow that it has all but been confirmed that I'm moving. I need a Perth "starters pack" of information.
Suburbs to avoid
I'll be in Mount Lawley
I saw them then I most definitely heard them.
Illinois Nazi yeah I would assume it was something for Remembrance Day but it was probably a touch after 11:11.
Yep, already got my room sorted. Staying in a 5 person apartment.You staying on Campus? If so, the buses during the day run every 10 minutes to and from the city so you should be fine for public transport.
As for pubs/bars, the only one I go to up near there is the Elephant and Wheelbarrow in Northbridge and that is only for Glory games and sometimes the Socceroos. There is a pub on campus but it's only open from about 11-5 and there is hardly ever anyone in there.
Now that it has all but been confirmed that I'm moving. I need a Perth "starters pack" of information.
Good places to shop
Suburbs to avoid
I'm pretty much a blank slate on living in Perth. So the more you guys (and gals) can lay on me before I move, the better.
Wtf is Bay 13? I am a regular booze hound at Uni and have never heard of themI'd probably avoid Illinois Nazi...
If you're in Mt Lawley then go out in Mt Lawley, Northbridge and Perth. They're all close and as good as it's going to get. If you're a uni student I recommend drinking at home, at the uni tav and at places which have student nights (which you'll find out at uni).
Do:
- Complain about the price of coffee/beer/food/rent/anything (bonus points if you compare it to Melbourne. Double bonus points if you compare it to Bali)
- Drive your car onto any road at whatever speed suits you and merge into traffic by grinding to a complete halt or forcing the person behind you to do so
- Say 'yeah, nah' a lot
Don't:
If you're in Mt Lawley then you're going to avoid most of the parts of Perth that are best avoided (ie the far South, North and East). My idea of a good place to shop is Coles or Woolies if something I like is on sale so I'm probably not your guy there. Watertown in West Perth is probably the cheapest place to buy clothes etc. with the big shopping centres (Garden City, Karrinyup, Carousel, Joondalup) and city probably having the widest range of stuff.
- Use public transport
- Speak about our supreme leader Emperor Barnett (unless offering high praise)
- Vote Labor
Which uni are you going to? If UWA join clubs. Bay 13, SABAS, UCFK.. I don't know what's running at the mo, but join a bunch of them. They always have boozy events and lots of chicks. Also join uni sports teams if you don't know anyone in Perth and want to start playing a sport.
Here's my starters pack.Now that it has all but been confirmed that I'm moving. I need a Perth "starters pack" of information.
Good places to shop
Suburbs to avoid
Yeah I'm at ECU. My younger brother is at UWA though, so I'm guessing I'll be over that way a bit anyways.Here's my starters pack.
Mnt Lawley is a decent place to live, pretty central.
Shopping - online, but if not City/Karrinyup/Claremont Quarter and a trip up north to Joondalup are best.
Food Shopping - Cole/Woolies or 24 hr IGA's (Northbridge, Nedlands) if after hourse
Eats - heaps of decent places, just explore, late night food is a coin flip between Maccas 24hr, Moon Cafe Northbridge (12 weeknights, 3am weekends) or the 24hr Pizza Bar in roughly the Cannington area (just over the bridge by the WACA and south for a bit)
Bars for Sport - Game Bar in Northbridge or Varsity Bar in Nedlands, Varsity bar is ******* brilliant, American College themed; Game Sports Bar is stacked full of TV's you can personally change at your own booth.
Beach - Cott, Scarbs or Trigg all quality.
Let me know what Uni youre going to, if its UWA i can give you a heads up, but if youre in Mt Lawley i might guess your going to ECU Mt Lawley??
The Inglewood on Beaufort St, Inglewood is good for footy.Good bars/places to drink & watch footy (or any other sports).
Well! Rarely have I ever!I'd probably avoid Illinois Nazi...
There is a pub on campus but it's only open from about 11-5 and there is hardly ever anyone in there.
Can't go wrong with Mt Lawley really. Has everything and you will eat burritos..a lot of burritos.
Speaking of Mt Lawley the Beaufort Street Festival is on this Saturday. The volume of people is quite amazing. So amazing I'll probably avoid it.
It's the hip way to say thingsMt Lawls