The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Is it just me or are the letters to the opinion page of the West lacking pizzaz and a little dab of charisma these days?

Where is Elsie Donovan of Bedford, Daniel Baldwin (also of Bedford) and titans such as Gillian Gonzales,
John Barich and lest we forget the greatest, the el supremo fulminator and God Botherer..... Don Jackson of Dianella (sadly departed).

Even Mario Rapanaro (is it Morley?) and M Wong of Crawley seemed to have laid down the cudgels of late.

Today we have Mark Garettsen of Bunbury who appears to have a celebrity watch fetish (and general apologist for their antics) and Faith McSwain of Woodlands who sees a mad bomb-toting mullah behind every shrub.

As for contributors from Carnarvon, it seems infested with climate change denialists and the local chapter of the KKK if letters to the editor are any guide.

PS: there is one thing I did admire about Don Jackson and it is this. One day, as I live nearby to Dianella, I thought I would check out his abode and so did the obvious thing and checked the phone directory.

Sure enough there was his name and address - in the biggest font seen for a private listing.

Took up up a quarter of the page I reckon.

It was like Don was inviting us Heathens to come and bring it on.

Kudos to the great man.

I don't know why because it drives me nuts, but I sometimes read the comments on perthnow and I would swear there is an all out war going on there between a couple of readers. Amusing and scathing at times.

Re letters to the editor.

Oops...I forgot Gerry Cohen of Carine (I think) with his execrable poems.

Matched Alston's equally risible cartoons.

As an aside, does anybody recall Alston's interview with Mike Bowers from Insiders?

Christ that was painful...Alston has the personality of a Nissan Pulsar.

I felt for Mike that day as he was trying to get away from the east coast centric mantra of the ABC
but I doubt they will bother again thanks to Alston.

Spleen enjoying a good venting today.

The dress code for blokes is pretty easy, assume it is the same for woman?

considering they let girls wear bikini tops to the cricket I wouldn't have thought the code was that strict.

In the members?

Re letters to the editor.

Oops...I forgot Gerry Cohen of Carine (I think) with his execrable poems.

Matched Alston's equally risible cartoons.

As an aside, does anybody recall Alston's interview with Mike Bowers from Insiders?

Christ that was painful...Alston has the personality of a Nissan Pulsar.

I felt for Mike that day as he was trying to get away from the east coast centric mantra of the ABC
but I doubt they will bother again thanks to Alston.

Spleen enjoying a good venting today.
Yeah I remember him. Used to be a regular in the Sunday Times too.

John Falconer from Claremont was another one.

Is it just me or are the letters to the opinion page of the West lacking pizzaz and a little dab of charisma these days?

Where is Elsie Donovan of Bedford, Daniel Baldwin (also of Bedford) and titans such as Gillian Gonzales,
John Barich and lest we forget the greatest, the el supremo fulminator and God Botherer..... Don Jackson of Dianella (sadly departed).

Even Mario Rapanaro (is it Morley?) and M Wong of Crawley seemed to have laid down the cudgels of late.

Today we have Mark Garettsen of Bunbury who appears to have a celebrity watch fetish (and general apologist for their antics) and Faith McSwain of Woodlands who sees a mad bomb-toting mullah behind every shrub.

As for contributors from Carnarvon, it seems infested with climate change denialists and the local chapter of the KKK if letters to the editor are any guide.

PS: there is one thing I did admire about Don Jackson and it is this. One day, as I live nearby to Dianella, I thought I would check out his abode and so did the obvious thing and checked the phone directory.

Sure enough there was his name and address - in the biggest font seen for a private listing.

Took up up a quarter of the page I reckon.

It was like Don was inviting us Heathens to come and bring it on.

Kudos to the great man.

dhMeAzK.gif

It's in Western Australia rather than Victoria
At least troll properly flog.

Perth's best suburbs easily equal to Melbourne's.

In fact, WA's best five would outweigh Victoria's.

I'd also argue Melbourne has more scummier shitholes. Perth just has more of those banal, nowhere, 12-year old suburbs nobody has heard of. They're bloody horrible, just awful.

But Melbourne has more diversity, more better middle suburbs, is laid out easier, and its events and sports make a huge difference to your calendar. Melbourne is by far the best city. But Perth is still better.

I think you'll find I shoot down shitholes like Franga and boring places like Blackburn as much as I slag off Leeming and Rockun'um.

You just can't handle people giving Perth shit where it deserves it. Have you lived in any other cities? How narrow are you?

We can handle people giving Perth shit but it's annoying when you constantly bash Perth for no reason.
Why would you care what he thinks about Perth ?

Why would you care what he thinks about anything really ?

We can handle people giving Perth shit but it's annoying when you constantly bash Perth for no reason.
No. I constantly bash shit areas.

And you don't like it because you live in Aubin Grove and I called it out as one of those no-name, cream brick suburbs that's just dull to live in.

Australians used to be able to laugh and criticise elements of themselves; their suburbs, their football team, their class... that's all gone now. Everyone has to be better. No one can admit their footy club are nothing but constant disappointment. I'll cop that Fitzroy and Freo are full of flogs and arseholes and stupid, pretentious restaurants where sitting in a Bunnings chair is probably the next decor trend. There's a bit of that on here with Girrawheen or whatever, but most people are so uptight about Perth that it's banal and boring and sanitised.

Why would you care what he thinks about Perth ?

Why would you care what he thinks about anything really ?
You're about 55 and on bigfooty.

You're on a forum because nobody else in your life listens to your opinions.

Of course no one cares what I think. Can you acknowledge that too?