The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/i...or-vintage-tobacco-signs-20160218-gmxwe9.html

The owner of the popular Irish pub J.B. O'Reilly's in Leederville is seeing red after the WA Health Department told him to remove his tobacco memorabilia signs or face prosecution and hefty fines.
Almost every inch of the popular watering hole in Cambridge Street is littered with antique signs and memorabilia, including a number of collectable tobacco signs dating back more than 120 years.

Geoff Hutchison just had the Health Department stooge on ABC Mornings asking why they will do this and the guy cracked the shits answering a question with a question and clearly feeling threatened. Lovely radio and baffling from the Health Dept who have enough issues at the moment without having to tell a pub to take down ads for ciggies that haven't existed in 100 years. What a bunch of ****ing idiots.

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/i...or-vintage-tobacco-signs-20160218-gmxwe9.html

Geoff Hutchison just had the Health Department stooge on ABC Mornings asking why they will do this and the guy cracked the shits answering a question with a question and clearly feeling threatened. Lovely radio and baffling from the Health Dept who have enough issues at the moment without having to tell a pub to take down ads for ciggies that haven't existed in 100 years. What a bunch of ******* idiots.
The offensive signs...?

Geoff Hutchison just had the Health Department stooge on ABC Mornings asking why they will do this and the guy cracked the shits answering a question with a question and clearly feeling threatened. Lovely radio and baffling from the Health Dept who have enough issues at the moment without having to tell a pub to take down ads for ciggies that haven't existed in 100 years. What a bunch of ******* idiots.

That's bloody ridiculous, apart from them being antique cigarette ads it's not like kids are going to see them in a pub anyway.

This PC bullshit just gets worse every day.

Lol. You are so wrong.

The whole of WA is a shit fight.

Backward White Trash knobs who wasted the so called "boom" money and now cry poor to the government.

Enjoy your jet ski's and SS Commodores.
Get over yourself. It's not like every city and town in oz doesn't have bogans.

I couldn't believe it when I read that article.

Except I could believe it, sadly.

Utter nonsense.

Seems like they've back peddled and will let it go this time. It's an antiquated stupid piece of legislation enforce by a beige government stooge. I'm just happy JB's got heaps of publicity out of it as it's a cracking pub.
Don't worry, the public servants involved probably spent 200k getting an action ready against it :drunk: :thumbsu:

Lol. You are so wrong.

The whole of WA is a shit fight.

Backward White Trash knobs who wasted the so called "boom" money and now cry poor to the government.

Enjoy your jet ski's and SS Commodores.
Atleast our government is doing something with the money, QLD on the other hand :$

Alrighty, so.

Where's the best place to watch AFL around the Mount Lawley area? I don't think I'm going to be able to watch it at the uni village rec room.
Inglewood Hotel for sure. Scotto doesn't really show any sport although i've seen them show the cricket on odd occasion. The civic Hotel only has a few screens but is loads quieter than Inglewood especially if it's a Hawks/Pies/Roos game.

Inglewood but it's pricey, bar staff are mostly campaigners, a lot of faux footy fans go there and it's the home of the WA Hawks. Apart from that it's not bad. Either go there or make the effort to go to the Game in Northbridge or up to the road to the Civic where you can watch the game without being hassled and it's cheaper.

I go to Inglewood all the time and the bar staff are nothing but nice. They are always up for a chat and usually go out of their way to help you out.

It was certainly less trashy than the colourful individuals in Murray St mall. And by colourful I am of course describing their behaviour only.

There's that classic Perth Oh I'm only joking wink wink racism.

Inglewood Hotel for sure. Scotto doesn't really show any sport although i've seen them show the cricket on odd occasion. The civic Hotel only has a few screens but is loads quieter than Inglewood especially if it's a Hawks/Pies/Roos game.

I go to Inglewood all the time and the bar staff are nothing but nice. They are always up for a chat and usually go out of their way to help you out.

The midget English bar manager is a little Nazi. There is another manager as well that cracked the shits around this time last year because people asked when the refrigeration machine may be fixed so tap beer would be cold. "It's bottled beer or go somewhere else for your soccer" was the delightful reply. I just find a lot of footy fans that go down there seem to be fly by nighters too. Maybe I'm just unlucky every time I go there. Used to be my local when I lived in the area but now I find the place more and more unlikable.

Hmm that's a shame but I've never had a problem with the staff. The English guy has always been really awesome for us. May have caught him on a bad day.

He's English, warm beer probably seemed perfectly fine to him.

Ashfield soccer oval had soccer cancelled tonight because locals don't like balls

There was if I recall a similar situation developing on an oval near Balga where balls were constantly hitting their fences. Soccer has been played there for as long as I can remember. It shits me that people move into a neighbourhood knowing what goes on and then proceed to complain and it shits me even more that local councils are buying into their whinging

Well since we have been talking regional areas in here, have the hot tip that One Night Stand will be heading to Geraldton this year.

What is One Night Stand

Every time I see the Western Power guys around here doing a job it's usually like 4 blokes standing around watching just 1 or 2 work. They make the council workers seem flat out in comparison.
Amen Brother. You've seen it just as often as I, I'm sure.

Fair dinkum, they have a guy there just to fill out the paperwork.:rolleyes:

There was if I recall a similar situation developing on an oval near Balga where balls were constantly hitting their fences. Soccer has been played there for as long as I can remember. It shits me that people move into a neighbourhood knowing what goes on and then proceed to complain and it shits me even more that local councils are buying into their whinging
I saw a report on the news re Jacobs ladder being closed indefinitely for "repairs" and there was a suggestion that nearby residents were complaining about the noise

It ****ing shits me to tears that people buy into an area and them complain about activities that occur nearby that were there well and truly before they moved there. If you don't like whatever it is do your research beforehand and don't bit there you stupid muppets

I saw a report on the news re Jacobs ladder being closed indefinitely for "repairs" and there was a suggestion that nearby residents were complaining about the noise

It ******* shits me to tears that people buy into an area and them complain about activities that occur nearby that were there well and truly before they moved there. If you don't like whatever it is do your research beforehand and don't bit there you stupid muppets
Isn't the ongoing problem of the structure actually sliding down and out of the cliff face?

It ******* shits me to tears that people buy into an area and them complain about activities that occur nearby that were there well and truly before they moved there. If you don't like whatever it is do your research beforehand and don't bit there you stupid muppets
I was the first house in my street.

I hate my neighbours for daring to build next to me.

Isn't the ongoing problem of the structure actually sliding down and out of the cliff face?
I accept there are genuine problems with the structure and it needs work that may be expensive

It is something iconic to perth though and should be fixed. Complaints from residents should not be given a second of consideration

And those who buy in the cbd and then complain about rubbish collections and noise from night clubs

Go live in Alkimos
Then they'll complain about the sand and wind