The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Mandurah is too close to Perth to be its own city. People live in Mandurah and commute to Perth on a daily basis.
People that do that are ****ing nuts, it used to annoy me enough when I did for a few months on work's time, let alone doing it long term getting to job on your own time.

Don't get me started about Peel. I'm about 1 beer away of firing up the Freo board about what a terrible arrangement it is and how we should be aligned with the Freo clubs...haha
You keep your hands off the doggies! :eek:

People that do that are ****ing nuts, it used to annoy me enough when I did for a few months on work's time, let alone doing it long term getting to job on your own time.
It drives me nuts the one time a year I do that drive going to visit my grandma. Screw commuting

Don't get me started about Peel. I'm about 1 beer away of firing up the Freo board about what a terrible arrangement it is and how we should be aligned with the Freo clubs...haha

No thanks. I don't want us at South and no fricken way do I want the club to be aligned with the blue and white shite.

Yeah. From Koondoola. Cos I'm classy like that.
Pretty easy now with no traffic lights the whole way down, assuming its not a long weekend. Anyway being a Melbournian now the traffic and roads here can't be that galling for you.

Oh yeah Melbourne traffic is bullshit. And I drive a ****ing manual. Do you realise that Melbourne's freeways just dump you into the middle of the city! If I want to go to the eastern suburbs, I have to take a freeway, then drive through one & two lane roads to get through the city, and then onto another freeway.

Sorry mate, we are the Fremantle Football Club and shouldn't be shunted down to Mandurah.
The Freo based teams said no to an alignment

Oh yeah Melbourne traffic is bullshit. And I drive a ******* manual. Do you realise that Melbourne's freeways just dump you into the middle of the city! If I want to go to the eastern suburbs, I have to take a freeway, then drive through one & two lane roads to get through the city, and then onto another freeway.

Hurray for ours plowing right through and under it!

If Colin gets his way you will almost be able to freeway it into Freo too.

Do you realise that Melbourne's freeways just dump you into the middle of the city! If I want to go to the eastern suburbs, I have to take a freeway, then drive through one & two lane roads to get through the city, and then onto another freeway.
wtf.

I thought they were supposed to be so forward thinking, progressive and cutting edge over there, and they don't even know how to design a freeway properly? Maybe it's just the fiddling with the clocks and the coffee.

But he's such a flog!
True but at least he has the balls to stand by his convictions, and he is building a footy stadium away from the bullshit confines and limitations of Subi. That and he isn't a massive raving lefty like a Sarah hanson Young or right wing nut job Abbot style.

I think you have to have a large dose of campaigner about you to be a leader now. Most just try to get reelected and no nothing inbetween now.

Oh and Hot Fuzz just came on TV. **** yes!

Oh yeah Melbourne traffic is bullshit. And I drive a ******* manual. Do you realise that Melbourne's freeways just dump you into the middle of the city! If I want to go to the eastern suburbs, I have to take a freeway, then drive through one & two lane roads to get through the city, and then onto another freeway.

I don't believe in no(not in a rapey way). There is no reason we can't them on board.

Yeah, Gero would be the first location. But aren't places like Gero, Bunbury and Albany already technically cities?? At of the day it comes down to work being available, you can't live somewhere without work. And in WA we only really have mining, fishing and agriculture outside of Perf. Hard to build a decent city around any of those.

I live in Perth but not the City of Perth. The metro area is made up of a bunch of "technical" cities.

Perth is built around all those industries despite none of them actually needing Perth to be where it is.

Wheat, sheep, cattle, resource exports... cars, general cargo imports, cruise ships... all of these things go Fremantle Ports. It's only really the imports and tourism that need to, and they're a function of the already existing population centre. Things like wheat and sheep could be exported from anywhere on the coast

WA is just so centralised which is funny for such a huge land area. Even the mining industry is serviced by Perth despite very few mining activities occurring within a few hundred km of the city. With everything being Perth-centric it limits the scope for growth elsewhere. Once you reach a certain point populations become self-sustaining, and most places in WA can't survive without some link to Perth.

In a parallel universe Esperance Port for example could be much bigger with major road and rail infrastructure servicing the wheatbelt and goldfields. If Esperance was "the" hub for wheatbelt and goldfield exports then it could be a major regional centre.

I don't believe in no(not in a rapey way). There is no reason we can't them on board.
Lets face it, they both have a massive long and proud history as clubs, especially compared to these Eagle and Docker blow ins.

I've worked previously with a few (most older, semi-retired types) who do it. With the train it's not so bad but by car I'd end up greying at Adam Simpson pace.

The train to Mandurah only takes about 50 minutes, which isn't that long when you consider how many people spend half an hour or more covering a fraction of the distance in traffic. I reckon I could handle (very begrudgingly) a short drive to the station then a 50 minute train into the CBD, but if I needed another connection after that or needed to drive so I had my car I'd just move. Perth people need to get on board with how good trains are. Living near one saves you so much time and Perth driver stress if you work a city job.

I've worked previously with a few (most older, semi-retired types) who do it. With the train it's not so bad but by car I'd end up greying at Adam Simpson pace.

The train to Mandurah only takes about 50 minutes, which isn't that long when you consider how many people spend half an hour or more covering a fraction of the distance in traffic. I reckon I could handle (very begrudgingly) a short drive to the station then a 50 minute train into the CBD, but if I needed another connection after that or needed to drive so I had my car I'd just move. Perth people need to get on board with how good trains are. Living near one saves you so much time and Perth driver stress if you work a city job.
Don't have a licence myself, but unless I wanna go to Ellenbrook, Butler and beyond or the random suburbs like Wellard/Auburn Grove, the train gets me everywhere.

Lets face it, they both have a massive long and proud history as clubs, especially compared to these Eagle and Docker blow ins.
True, but things have changed. They'll both be sharing the same ground soon enough and FFC is Fremantle football now. They need to get behind FFC, 80%+ of their supporters would be Freo supporters anyway.

What would really work best would be either a full on reserves comp (league wide) or let them have standalone clubs.

True, but things have changed. They'll both be sharing the same ground soon enough and FFC is Fremantle football now. They need to get behind FFC, 80%+ of their supporters would be Freo supporters anyway.
Im not, my old man isn't either. With the Cockburn training base the Dockers will have a lot less to do with Freo proper too.

Don't have a licence myself, but unless I wanna go to Ellenbrook, Butler and beyond or the random suburbs like Wellard/Auburn Grove, the train gets me everywhere.

Aren't you like 21? Hand back one man card please for not holding a license.

Butler and Wellard have train stations, and Aubin Grove soon will.

As will Ellenbrook..... :D:D:D

Im not, my old man isn't either. With the Cockburn training base the Dockers will have a lot less to do with Freo proper too.
There is a reason why he said 80% +

As will Ellenbrook..... :D:D:D
**** Ellenbrook. That pack of stupid campaigners knew what they were getting into building or buying into a suburb out in the middle of nowhere with shit links to anywhere.

There is a reason why he said 80% +
Age comes into it quite a bit. I think we wont have as many fans in that 20-30y old bracket in a decade. They wouldn't have grown up being able to rock up to the odd game etc and with the internet and massively Vic centric TV media really seems to be more randomness over location involved too.