"The players must have got the wrong message" - crap!!

Originally posted by macca23
Neil Craig openly said on TV before the game that they were experimenting with a game plan against the Roos who in their opinion played a similar style to Port, Brisbane and Collingwood.
Why the hell would you experiment at this time of the year! - just get the ball first, and more often than the oppostion, and do with it what comes naturally - which is using the game plan that was set up yonks ago - and basically seems to be ok most of the time.

Had the good fortune of attending a 3 and a half hour luncheon at the Italian Club in carrington Street today. CMI Toyota were the hosts and Nigel Smart was the guest speaker.

He was excellent.

Firstly bad news. He doesn't think there's any chance of Edwards or Hart playing on sunday.

As far as last week's debacle was concerned he did say that they did change the gameplan for the game and had practised going shorter all week. He said that unfortunately it didn't work, particularly on a wet day, and they were told to abandon it at half time. Unfortunately he said that the players mind sets were too far into it at that stage, and they just couldn't get back to their normal game.

HHH I asked him about the effects of the flu lingering on, and causing the lack of run, he said that somewhere between 12 and 20 players had the flu, and it may well have been a factor, but he couldn't comment as he didn't have it. He did admit that the worst players were those that had the flu.

He said that at training this week it was back to what is regarded as their predictable and normal gameplan - going long to a target in their forward line. He said that Port would try to counter this as they normally do, but he was confident that Adelaide will come out with steam from their ears and win.

He said that he thought Bickley was starting to swing more towards playing again next year, and he said that he was thinking about going again but it would be up to the club whether he did or not, as maybe it was time for younger players to step up.

He said that our two brightest up and coming stars are Hentschel and Reilly. He said that Hentschel had magical talents which we hadn't seen yet, but undoubtedly will next year. As for Reilly he said that he will blossom and come on nicely next year.

I had the good fortune of winning in a lucky draw a large signed framed testimonial print of Nigel, and it's going up on the rumpus room wall tonight. :D

All in all a great day.

One wonders if the short style of football would've worked in the dry. We probably tried it one week too late.

Good to see we're going back to what suits us best. Hopefully it works against Port this time.

I do like what I'm hearing about Hentschel, but gosh I'd love to see it on the field.

As for the door prize... you lucky bastard. :p

Anything about going straighter into the forward line? It's all well and good going long, but it's useless if it's wide to a flank.

Thanks for the report anyway and well done on winning the raffle. I must have bought a million of those tickets and never won one :o

I had the good fortune of winning in a lucky draw a large signed framed testimonial print of Nigel, and it's going up on the rumpus room wall tonight. :D

All in all a great day.

You lucky so & so, that would be something to cherish,

I would have had the same ? as ant = why do we persist in going out wide ? still thanks for the update & that must have been some lunch that went for 3 1/2 hrs:)

Had the good fortune of attending a 3 and a half hour luncheon at the Italian Club in carrington Street today. CMI Toyota were the hosts and Nigel Smart was the guest speaker.
So is that what you executives get up to when you have those very important?!?!?! :eek: :p :p

Firstly bad news. He doesn't think there's any chance of Edwards or Hart playing on sunday.
Not surprising really. Quads take a while to get over.

He said that at training this week it was back to what is regarded as their predictable and normal gameplan - going long to a target in their forward line. He said that Port would try to counter this as they normally do, but he was confident that Adelaide will come out with steam from their ears and win.
That is great to hear. i just hope we stick to the corridor and none of this kicking to the flanks and delivering wide to the forward line.

He said that he thought Bickley was starting to swing more towards playing again next year, and he said that he was thinking about going again but it would be up to the club whether he did or not, as maybe it was time for younger players to step up.
I am really not sure how to take this. If they continue on they will just take a spot away from someone like Hentschel, Reilly, Schuback or Parker. :(

He said that our two brightest up and coming stars are Hentschel and Reilly. He said that Hentschel had magical talents which we hadn't seen yet, but undoubtedly will next year. As for Reilly he said that he will blossom and come on nicely next year.
No surprise really. However, I would have Schuback on that category as well. But overall I would agree that those are the best up and comers. If Rutten gains a yard or two of pace, he would join them.

All in all a great day.
You lucky so and so!!!!!!:p

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
So is that what you executives get up to when you have those very important?!?!?! :eek: :p :p

Of course Stiffy!! A 3 course meal, free wine, a Nigel Smart Testimonial print and good company - it's a hard life mate, but someone has to do it!! :D

Forgot to mention Nathan Bassett. When Smarty was asked why he was dropped his reply was "shall I give you reason #1 or reason #2 - I think we'll just stick with reason #1" and went on to explain that Bass is an excitable character and mouthed off at the coach after being dragged for about the 4th time. We never got to hear reason #2, which probably explains why bass hasn't been picked again this week. (Sort of shooting ourselves in the foot though)

I did ask Nige about the going down the flanks all the time and he agreed and said that's why they had the match practice this week to get some run back, kick long and go straight.

Also on on Wayne Carey, Nige said that Carey isn't happy with his year because his body has had to adjust after missing a year of footy, and he hasn't produced at the level he wants to. Nigel said that Wayne is gradually working to the standard he wants and next year he expects Carey to dominate once again.

The Smart print is huge - 80 cms X 65 cms , beautifully framed and glassed and looks a treat on my rumpus room wall!! ;)

Of course Stiffy!! A 3 course meal, free wine, a Nigel Smart Testimonial print and good company - it's a hard life mate, but someone has to do it!! :D
Man I chose the wrong career path!!!!!!:(

So Bassett had a go at Ayersy?!?!?! This might come as a bit of a surprise but I reckon good on Ayersy for letting him know who is the boss. On the other hand Bassett is our best key defender who would have stood Cornes (If he plays and I am yet to be convinced that he will)

Forgot to mention Nathan Bassett. When Smarty was asked why he was dropped his reply was "shall I give you reason #1 or reason #2 - I think we'll just stick with reason #1" and went on to explain that Bass is an excitable character and mouthed off at the coach after being dragged for about the 4th time. We never got to hear reason #2, which probably explains why bass hasn't been picked again this week. (Sort of shooting ourselves in the foot though)
Does the coach & the Hound have irreconcilable differences?? I hope not.

Also on on Wayne Carey, Nige said that Carey isn't happy with his year because his body has had to adjust after missing a year of footy, and he hasn't produced at the level he wants to. Nigel said that Wayne is gradually working to the standard he wants and next year he expects Carey to dominate once again.
I stick to what I said at the beginning of the season - we will see Carey have a better year in 2004 than 2003, because he will have a year under his belt (after being out for 2002).

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
So Bassett had a go at Ayersy?!?!?! This might come as a bit of a surprise but I reckon good on Ayersy for letting him know who is the boss.
Disagree. It sounds to me like Ayres his putting his ego ahead of whats good for the team.

Just slap him with a fine or make him wash a car... err, on second thought scrap that last one... pick him for the side and get on with things.

Keeping him out of the side only increases the bitterness and tension between the two.

Originally posted by DaveW
Disagree. It sounds to me like Ayres his putting his ego ahead of whats good for the team.

Just slap him with a fine or make him wash a car... err, on second thought scrap that last one... pick him for the side and get on with things.

Keeping him out of the side only increases the bitterness and tension between the two.

That was the impression I got from Smarty that there is a fair bit of tension between the two.

Rumour has it that Bass actually shoved Ayres in the chest in a later argument about Bass abusing Ayres when he was dragged. Don't know whether it's true or not but 2 weeks for disciplinary reasons is pretty high given the importance of the games.

Originally posted by lozstar
Ayres has made players wash cars before and certain other things for discipliniary reasons.. I can't see why he won't do something like that this time..
It's time to think about the side!!
I'm pretty sure it was Blight who was into having players wash cars.

Possibly but the coach has to make sure who is the boss. Discipline is extremely important thing in any spot and if it means suspending a bloke then so be it. Only with tough discipline can a team be successful. If Bassett actually did push Ayersy in the chest during one of the arguments then I am behind AFC on this 100% percent.

Rumour has it that Bass actually shoved Ayres in the chest in a later argument about Bass abusing Ayres when he was dragged. Don't know whether it's true or not but 2 weeks for disciplinary reasons is pretty high given the importance of the games.

Well given the way that Bassett usually flys off the handle and has a tantrum whenever his opponent takes a mark it wouldnt surprise me if he pushed or shoved Ayres when Ayres was letting him know whos boss.

Still tho...im quite shocked that he isnt playing on the weekend. Bit of a plus for the Power.

Bassett flies off the handle when his opponent marks the ball because he's a perfectionist. What defender wouldn't want his opponent to get a kick? Is he supposed to be ambivalent about what his opponent does?

If Ayres can't deal with Bassett's personality then he's failed as far as man management goes.

Ayres is disciplining Bassett at the expense of the whole team and important games?!?! :confused:

I'm pretty sure Ayres could find other ways to discipline a player especially considering it seems to be more of a personal thing. Don't think he's being very considerate to the rest of the team by suspending Bassett. :mad:

Bassett flies off the handle when his opponent marks the ball because he's a perfectionist. What defender wouldn't want his opponent to get a kick? Is he supposed to be ambivalent about what his opponent does?

If Ayres can't deal with Bassett's personality then he's failed as far as man management goes.

I think your wrong there. Sure most defenders dont like their oppoenent getting a mark or goal. Most defenders also arent as...visual...in their disgust at letting their opponenet get a mark or goal.

What i think your wrong about tho is that its Ayres fault. If Bassett is playing like crap or doesnt do what hes told and is dragged a couple of times and then he goes and abuses the crap out of Ayres...how is that Ayres fault?

If they then got into another argument about whatever and Bassett pushes Ayres, How is that Ayres fault? Why would a coach reward a player for pushing him by selecting him in the team?

It is a team game and Bassett not being in the side is penalising the team a bit but if Bassett cant keep his emotions in check then why should he not be punished? If Bassett did push Ayres...then its not Ayres penalising the team...its Bassett penalising his teammates for being stupid enough to push the coach.

I mean really. Put yourself in Ayres situation and what would you do? Would you reward Bassett even if you had allegedly got into an argument with him which resulted in him shoving you only a week after him showing a distinct lack of discipline and respect?

Originally posted by Macca19
I think your wrong there. Sure most defenders dont like their oppoenent getting a mark or goal. Most defenders also arent as...visual...in their disgust at letting their opponenet get a mark or goal.

What i think your wrong about tho is that its Ayres fault. If Bassett is playing like crap or doesnt do what hes told and is dragged a couple of times and then he goes and abuses the crap out of Ayres...how is that Ayres fault?

If they then got into another argument about whatever and Bassett pushes Ayres, How is that Ayres fault? Why would a coach reward a player for pushing him by selecting him in the team?

It is a team game and Bassett not being in the side is penalising the team a bit but if Bassett cant keep his emotions in check then why should he not be punished? If Bassett did push Ayres...then its not Ayres penalising the team...its Bassett penalising his teammates for being stupid enough to push the coach.

I mean really. Put yourself in Ayres situation and what would you do? Would you reward Bassett even if you had allegedly got into an argument with him which resulted in him shoving you only a week after him showing a distinct lack of discipline and respect?
Spot on. I agree 100%. Coach is the one that is there to run the show and tell his players what to do. If they don't do what he tells them then that guarantees a disciplinary action. In any sport coach is always right. And history will show that in any sport if a player can have it with his ciach the way he likes it then that club is as good as gone.

So what? Bassett wears his heart on his sleeve. He's plays passionately and he generally plays well.

Coaches have to deal with all sorts of player personalities. They have to adjust how they deal with different players. Its up to Ayres maintain healthy working relationships with his best players. Otherwise, how does he expect to be a successful coach?

I'm not saying the player should be rewarded but why can't he be forgiven?

Ayres drops the players, the players don't drop themselves. Ayres punishes himself as a coach by not putting his best players on the park.

Fine the player or find some more imaginative form of punishment. Dropping the player just upsets the whole side and that can't be good for the relationship between the players and the coach.

Sorry Dave but i'm with Stiffy & Macca19 on this one,

As much as i believe Basset to be one of our most reliable defenders & in the first 10 picked if he has done what has been suggested Gary Ayres had no other option than to discipline him as he see's fit,

If Nathan had have performed to his normal standard last week for the redlegs instead of (as i've been told) showing no interest at all would he be in the side for this sundays showdown ???

Do the Crows supporters as a whole think that 13-9 and 5th or 6th spot and being a finals also-ran is classed as success?

In short - no, that's not a successful season.

IMHO, the last two Crows coaches have had to work hard to undo the damage the first two coaches did to the club.

Cornes, with his public statements about winning all the home games and pinching a few on the road set the implicit standard that 13-9 is a successful year.

Shaw - well, I won't go there.

Blight and Ayres have had to work hard to instil a win anywhere, anytime attitude. Making the finals should be the expectation, rather than cause for satisfaction.

Slowly, the attitude change is coming. Making the finals saw no great celebrations amongst the Crows faithful - at least the ones I know. We expect the Crows to make the finals; if they put themselves in a position to go deep into the finals and win, or at least challenge for, some premierships, that's a successful year in my book.

On Bassett - sorry Dave, but here's another vote in favour of the coach and the club and against the player.

Firstly, my observation is that whenever Bassett goes all John Drummond, he plays the rest of the game as a beaten man. I don't think I've ever seen him lose it early and come back stronger for it. I reckon it gives the opposition forwards great confidence to see the full back spitting the dummy as they go back to line up for goal.

Secondly, If he lost it with the coach in the way that's been suggested, he should be polishing up the CV. I know that players have different needs - some need more encouragement, some need more prodding. In return, the players need to respect the coach. A player can disagree with the coach, can even make his point forcefully, but if the relationship between the coach and the other players is in danger of being undermined by a player's dissent, something has to give.