Mega Thread The Port Store Mega Thread

Because equality is nothing, and self promotion is a worthy cause?

I'm sorry, but I don't believe that Chokito's motivation is to promote the club.
On what basis have you formed this belief?

managed to get Jackson Trengove and Tom Jonas PI's, really should have been a limit to 2 PI's per person I saw some people buying 10+ guernseys and they will just go on eBay.

I get why they had a flash sale tough, they sold a hell of lot of other things that were not PI stock. Without the PI stock there they wouldn't have attracted as many people and they would have been stuck with a lot of stock. One thing the club needs to learn they have clearly over capitalised on stock, there was so much stock there and some of it looked like it was from 2015.

On what basis have you formed this belief?

I'm not silly enough to believe that people buy sporting merch (take selfies with it, post on social media and internet forums) solely to promote the club.

Chokito is lucky that he knows people. It's annoying for us that don't. But, of course, that's not Chokito's fault. But seriously, just by wearing the stuff that he buys, doesn't make him any more entitled than anyone else who does the same.

But, like I said, it's not his fault. Hate the game, not the playa.

Also - who buys match worn shorts? Any of you that did pls explain why?

Or maybe I don't wanna know? #sniff

I'd buy retail shorts but they are legitimately $80 and the portstore never stocks appropriate sizes. I got a home and an away for $20 each. I've wanted a pair of proper Port footy shorts for ages.

I also got a Paul Stewart home PI (my favourite number is 14) thanks to @CheeseyMac, who grabbed a couple of things for me as I was unable to get down. Apparently the racks we're empty when he arrived but someone put it back in front of him. Pretty lucky!

I'm not silly enough to believe that people buy sporting merch (take selfies with it, post on social media and internet forums) solely to promote the club.
Um, Chokito isn't exactly riding the Power Gear Store to fame and fortune, is he?

* Chokito buys club merch and promotes it
* Chokito's reward for this is he is in a position to buy more club merch

Has Kochie had him up on Sunrise or something and I didn't hear about it?

But seriously, just by wearing the stuff that he buys, doesn't make him any more entitled than anyone else who does the same.
Sure, it doesn't make him more entitled.

Being celebrity enough to be labelled a Port Ambassador doesn't make you any more entitled, but you get access to players etc, but I don't reckon I've ever seen anyone up in arms about that.

If I was give the club the benefit of the doubt, I'd say that doing sale like this means that supporters who can't afford to bid on those auctions have a chance at getting something.

However, they failed to factor in that for every one honest supporter, you're going to have three opportunistic campaigners.

I'm not really fussed by Chotiko's haul (though if they really are for WA supporter groups and alike, he probably could have mentioned it in his original gloat). Some of the attacks on him in here go too far.

It's the sack of shit, ebay selling f**ks grabbing ten PIs at once off the shelf people should be angry at, and at the club for letting it happen.

* Chokito buys club merch and promotes it
* Chokito's reward for this is he is in a position to buy more club merch

Chokito's reward for this is he is in a position to buy more club merch that no one else gets access to.
Chokito does nothing of substance to receive this reward other than buy stuff. We all ****ing buy stuff.

Being celebrity enough to be labelled a Port Ambassador doesn't make you any more entitled.

Probably does actually. Surely, by your reckoning, club promotion deserves rewarding. Ambassadors are probably going to do this better, to a greater audience.

I'd buy retail shorts but they are legitimately $80 and the portstore never stocks appropriate sizes. I got a home and an away for $20 each. I've wanted a pair of proper Port footy shorts for ages.

I also got a Paul Stewart home PI (my favourite number is 14) thanks to @CheeseyMac, who grabbed a couple of things for me as I was unable to get down. Apparently the racks we're empty when he arrived but someone put it back in front of him. Pretty lucky!
Lmao. I think he grabbed it just before me...my fav number is 14 too [emoji107]

Chokito's reward for this is he is in a position to buy more club merch that no one else gets access to.
Chokito does nothing of substance to receive this reward other than buy stuff. We all ******* buy stuff.
`substance', huh?

Probably does actually. Surely, by your reckoning, club promotion deserves rewarding. Ambassadors are probably going to do this better, to a greater audience.
Yeah they are doing this better, to a greater audience. Chokito is doing it better than Sullen McWhataboutme. Seems like there might be a scale, what do you reckon.

So lets turn your `by your reckoning' the other way. Do you think Port Ambassadors should get zero perks for what they do? How about board members?

I would wager that many of the complainants on here actually did not even go to the Port Store today, were never going to spend real money on merch today and actually don't have a dog in this fight but just like being cranky and ripping strips off of other Port supporters because well.. just because

You would be wrong about literally all of that

I know of the aggrieved well enough to know that wouldn't be true. Neither here nor there but they definitely have a horse in this race.

I got there about 10:20, saw a couple of people I know, saw a couple of things I wouldn't have minded but wasn't going to wait at least an hour to pay. Put the stuff back on the tables, walked over to the club store and spent some cash in there.

Good luck to Chokito but the campaigners who simply went in and hoovered the tables clean can GAGF.

Saw another mate in the club who picked up a Krak, indigenous PI.

Would I bother again? Probably not.

My thoughts are they should have limited people to "one of each type" of item per person. So you could grab 1 x Guernsey, 1 x Jumper etc.

I think this would keep it somewhat fair, and rather than having an auction it allows people that financially couldn't afford an auction a chance to get something really cool.

I guess the thing about these types of sales is that there are always going to be people who are a little bit disappointed, but perhaps a fairer system could limit that a little. I also think staff putting the best gear aside is a little rough - but that's an issue the club probably need to address I reckon.