The positives

• Thread starter Thread starter Bluebear

Please, enought negative threads on the board. There were some great positives out of today..........lets see if we can get through some of them:

Fev's goal on Q time.

Gibbs and Kreuzer lifting us in the fourth Q.

Grigg putting two very good games together........at Q time the TV commentators wondered if Goodwin was actually playing. :o

Walker, still opbviously rusty, but breaking the lines a few times with some fakes and bounces, disposal improving.

Austin looking at home in defence.

More?
Please, no negatives.:thumbsu:

Judd didn't really have a impact and we still got close. Made plenty of skill errors and still got close. Kids showing a ton of guts and giving it their all.

Please, enought negative threads on the board. There were some great positives out of today..........lets see if we can get through some of them:

Fev's goal on Q time.

Gibbs and Kreuzer lifting us in the fourth Q.

Grigg putting two very good games together........at Q time the TV commentators wondered if Goodwin was actually playing. :o

Walker, still opbviously rusty, but breaking the lines a few times with some fakes and bounces, disposal improving.

Austin looking at home in defence.

More?
Please, no negatives.:thumbsu:

Good onya BB!!

Yep, good things today. I really enjoyed seeing Aussie, Browne and Army take the game on, plenty of run and desperate for the footy.:thumbsu:

...that's why I started the Grigg thread. But people will always focus on the negatives.

More game time into Armfield, Brown, Austin is good no matter which way you look at it. Good game from Simpson

Krooz - not just that he's already turning potential into performance but this young fella is more Carlton now than a few players will ever be. Just a footballer who will bleed for the navy jumper. I am SO impressed with his work.

Grigg - starting to own his patch. Pretty composed under fire.

Simmo - never say die, real twinkle-toed effort today but kicking........(no negatives).

Army - shows cheek, balance, speed and courage.

Tex - any thought of trading this bloke will probably result in a siege being laid on Royal Parade. Another through and through Carlton man whose attack on the man is fiercer by the game. He's not scared of giving his shoulders major workouts. Love him.

Fev - did everything possible from his opportunities. Still a chance to drill 100, first since Jezza.

Juddy - starting to show signs of emotion. Turns out he's not a robot - tags and scrags and shit umpiring got to him today. Don't often see him reacting too much. All good.

Wiggo - did enough to show he will be there next season. Loyal, strong, brave and a great kick for goal.

Jammo - so bloody calm. Couple of crude tackles but unlike T-Bird doesn't sook when things don't go his way.

We finally had a good 1st quarter of footy. Granted, I missed the game last week, but we were on top early on, playing some good footy, and going through the corridor with our mids on top.

In an overall sense, we lost today and the finals look out of the question now. But with a bit a luck we could have easily been sitting right up there in the top four, which is quite scary, because the fact is we're not ready yet. I honestly think there are only two teams in the competition that we have no chance against, Hawks & Geelong and on our day we could beat anyone else in the league. Once the younger players start getting more experience and confidence and few little kinks are ironed out, then look the **** out.

On todays game, thought Simpson was fanstastic. Really provided some run and carry.
Walker was good early and will obviously get better.
Jamo was fantastic and will be an AA full-back in future.
Grigg, I love his confidence almost bordering on arrogance. He loves to get into the niggle and I think he's been overlooked a little as he's been quite integral to a couple of our comeback wins.
And of course Kruezer, his desperation at the contest is great for a 1st year player.

Must mention Kreuzer. As thylacine said, he is Carlton through and through, and I love him for it. Very rarely have I seen a 19 year old so determined and level headed - on attitude alone, he will be an absolute star, never mind the shitload of potential he shows each and every week.

I think we've no proven we can match it with the top teams in the AFL and are no longer outclassed by our opposition.

Really we butchered the ball all day today, but we where still close enough at the end that we could've pinched it.

Given that the game finished a few hours ago, i've been thinking that we weren't anywhere near our best today, yet we got within 8 points of team that was most certainly up and about on their home ground.

Carrazzo - Arguably his best game for the year today. Got alot of the ball, and used it very well.

Simpson - Like Carrazzo, really had a good game today. Broke the lines, and kicked long and to targets.

Grigg - Looking better and better each week. Did a great job on Goodwin today.

Austin - Outmarked a couple of times by Moran, but looks a very likely type. Very much another defender in the Jamo mould.

Kreuzer - Didn't have alot of the ball, but gee whiz his second and third efforts are just outstanding for a 1st year player

SPOT ON.

I think the crows must have been given at least 5 goals by the umps, it was home town biased at its finest.

come off it guys, you had every opportunity in the last quarter, we are down on form, players etc. You had every chance. Blaming the umpires?? starting to sound as sour as choco

agree

Although umpiring was dirty today, it was our skill errors that let the umpires affect the outcome. Added to that, we needed to put 4 solid quarters together, and we didn't. I personally think we lost it cos we didn't have a suitable match up for Moran, and that may be down to MC or Ratts. Reckon Setant woulda been a match made in heaven, but he's not showing any form. Just unlucky today.

But sticking to the thread title, LOVED the look of Simmo today. Really starting to recapture the form he was showing towards the end of last year, and I love it.

Positive: Ratten would have been extremely fired up after that loss. Would have given it to the players. With a bit of luck we can come out next week and have the 100 point win we have all been craving for the best part of the last decade. Sure finals might be out of the question (who knows, 3 out of the next 4 are VERY do-able), but lets stick it up Port.

It's on our soil against a team that have raised the white flag. Destroy them boys. :thumbsu:

i think when we get our game going, run and carry throught the guts, we are almost impossible to control. i dont know where it was in the 3rd q? but atleast we are starting to sting a 3 quarters of footy together, 4 will come with experience and maturation, of that i have no doubt.

and i thought carrazzo was b.o.g. today, kicking was FIRST class and provided great run! and grigg is just getting better and better!

sad to see eddie injured, has been playing with tight hammys for around 3-4 weeks, was bound to make way sooner or later :(

overall, i am pleased with the boys effort, gutted that we lost, but signs are there, we are on the up.