Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

More importantly, attached is a real (undoctored) image from Hawkes Bay NZ demonstrating the destruction of the cyclone and floods.
Check out what is on the roof of the building.
I have a small amount of skin in the game here having family in the area.
Thankfully safe and sound, but they’re going to be without power for weeks.
Major destruction in their town.

View attachment 1607819

Now that will be a struggle when my Sav Blanc goes up by $5 a bottle.

What do you consider working class? People who do manual labour? The tradies are doing better than the professionals at the moment. Look at all the best selling cars in Australia. All big Utes. A sparky would be better off than a GP these days.
Nah most tradies are middle class+

I meant lower income not people doing manual labour necessarily which usually pays well

Nah most tradies are middle class+

I meant lower income not people doing manual labour necessarily which usually pays well

So like retail workers and stuff? Child care and stuff like that is generally the worst paid full time work at about $20 per hour. If you could live at home for a couple of years and save 3/4 of your wage you could still save $60k or something. Buy a bedsit close to the city for $300k and rent it out for $250 pw, just need to pay $75 per week to cover the short fall on the repayments. Stay at home and keep paying down the loan like you saved for a deposit and pay it off in 5 years. Then your $800 per week is $1000 per week and you can borrow more to do it on a bigger scale.

It's still doable just harder.

More importantly, attached is a real (undoctored) image from Hawkes Bay NZ demonstrating the destruction of the cyclone and floods.
Check out what is on the roof of the building.
I have a small amount of skin in the game here having family in the area.
Thankfully safe and sound, but they’re going to be without power for weeks.
Major destruction in their town.

View attachment 1607819
Just saw you image of the horse. Hope he/she gets off the roof safe and sound

So like retail workers and stuff? Child care and stuff like that is generally the worst paid full time work at about $20 per hour. If you could live at home for a couple of years and save 3/4 of your wage you could still save $60k or something. Buy a bedsit close to the city for $300k and rent it out for $250 pw, just need to pay $75 per week to cover the short fall on the repayments. Stay at home and keep paying down the loan like you saved for a deposit and pay it off in 5 years. Then your $800 per week is $1000 per week and you can borrow more to do it on a bigger scale.

It's still doable just harder.
My son recently bought a 2 bedroom flat in a small older block of flats in Brunswick.
Think he's going to AIRB&B the other room to help pay the loan. More money than a
flatmate. Sad.

What do you consider working class? People who do manual labour? The tradies are doing better than the professionals at the moment. Look at all the best selling cars in Australia. All big Utes. A sparky would be better off than a GP these days.

To top it off, most of them have stopped taking on apprentices, so they keep their skills in high demand. Constant shortage.

Just saw you image of the horse. Hope he/she gets off the roof safe and sound
Unfortunately, the horse fell through the roof and was put down.
If you look closely at the photo, you will see another that is on the top of the stop bank (levee). Hopefully that one is okay.
A lot of livestock (sheep , cattle and horses) is missing.
More distressing is the news that the two pet shelters (domestic animals) have been inundated and destroyed.
A lot of people are missing pets, presumably drowned in their cages.
I used one of them for my guy when I was there.
I understand exactly the owners pain.

Unfortunately, the horse fell through the roof and was put down.
If you look closely at the photo, you will see another that is on the top of the stop bank (levee). Hopefully that one is okay.
A lot of livestock (sheep , cattle and horses) is missing.
More distressing is the news that the two pet shelters (domestic animals) have been inundated and destroyed.
A lot of people are missing pets, presumably drowned in their cages.
I used one of them for my guy when I was there.
I understand exactly the owners pain.
That's pretty ****ed.

Although .......

The earthquakes in Turkey and Syria are worse.

Always someone worse off / always someone better off.

I never understood the mentality of those who try and frame someone’s problems against something happening elsewhere. It’s borderline psychopathic.
It's perfectly logical and helpful for those that think they are at the end of the line. Maybe ?

I did say it was pretty ****ed, so be fair.

Are you saying you can't compare disasters that impact non-caucasian people and those that do ?

Really ?

The incessant rate rises by this one trick pony Reserve Bank only serves one master, the big four commercial banks.
It is estimated 20 billion will be sucked out of middle and lower class pockets to fill the massive record profits for the big four banks.
Lowe says there is more pain if inflation is not reigned in. Why should we believe him when his last prediction was there would be no rate rises until 2024?

This is simply a transfer of wealth from the lower classes to the rich and ruling class as we have seen in many western democracies over the past decades.
Lowe can buddy up and have lunch with all of his banking mates and be smug in the knowledge that he is a law unto himself.
No wonder he is always smiling, he and his mates are pulling off the biggest wealth transfer in Australia's history.
The Reserve Bank is not the govt.

Their job is monetary policy and to ensure a stable financial system - its the govts job is to manage the impacts.

Govt could introduce a bill that says when a bank increases mortgage rates there must be a commensurate rise in the savings rates.

Working class people can't afford a mortgage in the first place.
That's not true, I own property and am paying it off without much issue and although it's still possible, I do agree the rate rises are crippling for most. Hard to stomach what it's going to look like if there's 3 more rises though.

My younger brother was going to purchase his first place right before they announced the price hikes, and I'm glad he didn't. He put the money in low risk shares and we'll wait until there's some stability.

Always the case though, wages stay the same and everything else goes up. Incredibly tough for young families these days.

I never understood the mentality of those who try and frame someone’s problems against something happening elsewhere. It’s borderline psychopathic.
100%. Whataboutism is a lazy counter to anything. Raising an irrelevant issue to a situation is absolutely pointless. There is always going to be pain and suffering which is unfortunate but if it has no relevance to the issue at hand what benifit is there to bringing it up?

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

Agreed
Not my cuppa
Bur god damn we sell a s**t tonne of it
Very popular

The ladies love it. I can drink Rose if I have to but otherwise wine shouldn't come out of the fridge. I'm not a fan of bubbles either. French champers is a piss-take, they charge you good money for sparkling cat's piss that someone stuck in Sodastream.

It's horse piss, it's the kiwi's signature wine though. I hate whites regardless. I'd rather drink beer.

Its interesting , here are the most popular wines globally.

and here are the ones from Australia.

I maintain that Sauvignon Blanc became more popular after Cath and Kim and their Chardy.
People who were afraid that drinking Chardy would leave them labelled as Bogans , even though if you switched your preference to Sauvignon Blanc for that reason, you probably are one.

If i'm drinking White, ( which i occasionally do in summer ) i prefer a really dry Chardonnay, which i find has more flavour than Sauvignon Blanc, which often tastes kind of watery to me. New Zealand make some decent Chardonnay too.
Meanwhile my daughter drinks some fermented grape juice filled with sugar that Brown Brothers make. ( I'm sure that in the world of sickly sweet stuff they do a fine job ).

Its interesting , here are the most popular wines globally.

and here are the ones from Australia.

I maintain that Sauvignon Blanc became more popular after Cath and Kim and their Chardy.
People who were afraid that drinking Chardy would leave them labelled as Bogans , even though if you switched your preference to Sauvignon Blanc for that reason, you probably are one.

If i'm drinking White, ( which i occasionally do in summer ) i prefer a really dry Chardonnay, which i find has more flavour than Sauvignon Blanc, which often tastes kind of watery to me. New Zealand make some decent Chardonnay too.
Meanwhile my daughter drinks some fermented grape juice filled with sugar that Brown Brothers make. ( I'm sure that in the world of sickly sweet stuff they do a fine job ).

NZ pushed SB as a summer drink. It’s the most tolerable of the whites to me still. Very mild and not sour or sweet. Not a big surprise that the Spaniards are well represented in the top wines. We have a Spanish friend and she finds ways to put wine in everything. She seems to want to get out the wine as soon as the sun comes up.

Some wines are riskier than others as well.
I really like a good Shiraz, but a bad one can be horrible.
Merlot is probably the red equivalent to SB, its usually a very safe choice.

Some wines are riskier than others as well.
I really like a good Shiraz, but a bad one can be horrible.
Merlot is probably the red equivalent to SB, its usually a very safe choice.

I used to love Merlot but went off it. The tannin flavour is harder to pair with food. Shiraz is a good all-rounder. Cab Sav is too big for a lot of foods. I do like Tempranillo though. Some Italians like San Giovese are solid too.

Back in the 90's i used to collect Red wines , id go and buy say half a dozen of this and that , about five years ago had some friends over to watch the Melbourne cup so i decided to pull out some Shiraz which everyone seemed to like and any wonder they did as i found out afterwards it was worth $500 a bottle,

Update , i just checked and its now $750 a bottle

I used to do the same but I wasn't disciplined enough to sit on it that long. Wynns were huge back then, like Wolf Blass and Lindermans.

Yeah i had all the Wolf Blass black label ones from the mid 80's