Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Anyone else here finding as they get older, their memory isn't what it used to be?

I met a girl today and we started talking about music. She invited me back to her place to jam. While we were there she tried to kiss me and I completely bloody forgot I had a girlfriend. We ended up in bed and then her hot room mate came home and joined us. Even that didn't jog my memory. It wasn't until I'd finished having a completely debauched time with both these stunning girls that it dawned on me. I was like "bugger... that's right"

I called my girlfriend later in the day and she asked what I'd been up to. I said I had strange day baby... remember the other day when you couldn't remember where you'd put your keys?.... well............

I remember some polly stating that Melburnians were scared to go to dinner a few years back cause of the apex gang in dandy. We were living in inner eastern Sydney at the time and a few of the locals at the dog park were asking if our families were alright with the gang crime wave going on.

Meanwhile double bay had coke fueled bar fights most nights.

Simpler times.

I remember some polly stating that Melburnians were scared to go to dinner a few years back cause of the apex gang in dandy. We were living in inner eastern Sydney at the time and a few of the locals at the dog park were asking if our families were alright with the gang crime wave going on.

Meanwhile double bay had coke fueled bar fights most nights.

Simpler times.

Funny enough there are heaps more Africans in the inner west like Sunshine and Footscray than Dandy. Dandenong is a really interesting mix with a lot of central and southern asians and middle eastern people. Definitely have a Sudanese community but much less than the other side of town. The immigrants seem to keep to themselves.

Big Afghan community - a lot of Hazaras who came here as refugees but have settled in well. Also a big Tamil cohort - ex Sri Lanka, India, Malaysia.

Great food shops.

It's an acquired taste. The Samoans that I used to know tried to introduce me to it but it tastes a lot like wood-pulp and dirt to me. Maybe Fijian kava is superior. ;)

Anyway Yerba Mate is like hay-bales that have been pissed on by a dog seeped in water. And it doesn't even get you high.

I got married on Matamanoa island in Fiji.

I got on really well with the dudes that worked on the island. A few nights after my wedding I was hanging with them at the staff accomodation drinking Kava and playing guitar/singing til 4 in the morning. Awesome times.

There were 2 American girls on the island who were really bummed because they'd come there hoping for a wild holiday but everyone was coupled up. A few nights before I left the island I showed up with them late at night at the staff accommodation... then left. I believe a good time was had by all.

Out of all the experiences I've had travelling, hanging with those dudes (it happened a few times) drinking kava and playing music would be one of my favourite memories. Just really cool people.

Obama is a crooked as a dogs hind leg. You didn’t need to dig too deeply to find quite a few disturbing and contradictory things about him but he’s articulate, reads an autocue better than most and the media had anointed him. He in what was a sign of things to come simply received a free pass, those who loved him simply self censored or lent on people to suppress anything negative. Now of course we’ve seen the hotline connection that existed between Silicon Valley and the democrats exposed and if they’d had the opportunity the republicans would have done the same. I guess it says quite a lot about a few things, the media including social media and it’s tenuous relationship with the truth and our own willingness to ignore facts and reality in favour of feelings based on personal bias etc.

We live in interesting times, what’s it say about cable and mainstream media when a British comic and a sacked cable personality are two of the more interesting people to listen to and are watched by huge audiences on social media. Dumbing down democracy written by Lindsay tanner was an interesting read. It’s just so hard to have the sort of conversations we once had and interestingly whilst it gave us Obama it also gave us trump although for different reasons.

Obama is a crooked as a dogs hind leg. You didn’t need to dig too deeply to find quite a few disturbing and contradictory things about him but he’s articulate, reads an autocue better than most and the media had anointed him. He in what was a sign of things to come simply received a free pass, those who loved him simply self censored or lent on people to suppress anything negative. Now of course we’ve seen the hotline connection that existed between Silicon Valley and the democrats exposed and if they’d had the opportunity the republicans would have done the same. I guess it says quite a lot about a few things, the media including social media and it’s tenuous relationship with the truth and our own willingness to ignore facts and reality in favour of feelings based on personal bias etc.

We live in interesting times, what’s it say about cable and mainstream media when a British comic and a sacked cable personality are two of the more interesting people to listen to and are watched by huge audiences on social media. Dumbing down democracy written by Lindsay tanner was an interesting read. It’s just so hard to have the sort of conversations we once had and interestingly whilst it gave us Obama it also gave us trump although for different reasons.
We live in a guided democracy basically sums it up. It's displayed as true choice but it really isn't.

What did Joan Rivers say again just before her untimely death?
I’m only on bigfooty and I watch some diving and fishing lifestyle type YouTube. Occasionally I’ll hit on something that pops up for a laugh and it’s like what 😳. Apparently Megan and Harry don’t have any kids, those two are rentals 🤣🤣 these sites have tens of thousands of viewers and the comments are twilight zone stuff. Then on the other hand things that seem not quite that stupid but pretty unlikely turn out to be true.

I wonder if anyone is studying what impact having the daily papers behind paywalls is having. Everyone used to buy the sun and the age over here now that would be pretty rare.

The Apex gang stuff was around but it wasn't on the streets of Dandy. It was more a group of thugs going around stealing stuff.
( Pretty sure it was them that got my Territory Turbo and trashed it ). They might have lived in Dandy ( They were out of Apex street pretty much before anyone heard of them ) , but they knew that wasn't where you'd go to steal anything good.
There were some crimes in places like Berwick where they'd kick the front door in, and ask for the car keys. Several 7 foot tall muscle bags on meth burst into your house and ask for car keys, you give them car keys.
Was stopped at a traffic light in Hallam one day and there were a group going along hammering a few cars with bats.
They ended up deporting a couple i think ( not sure, the appeals of the appeals of the appeals might have got up ) and amazingly it all just stopped. One New Zealander had his deportation overturned because they felt sorry for him when all his family lived here. Of course the stupid idiot went out and re-offended.

Lived in Footscray for a while back in the day. ( Going Way back ). From memory it was very Vietnamese centred. ( I remember seeing a local newspaper about the Aussie butchers who's family had been in the market for years. The two son's had learnt Vietnamese from working in the market and both married Vietnamese girls. They would spruik out their meat deals in both english and Vietnamese. ). Boring i know, but i never saw any romper stomper stuff while i lived there.

At least he was awake, and i don't mean "woke" i mean not asleep like some Presidents tend to be.