Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

I'm 6'2".... I'd look like a clown. I don't care about practical 4WD, just an image. The old 2 door range rovers are going nuts in the UK, those early ones are worth 100k plus. I found one that needs some restoration for $22000 and got excited but the boss says no. It's got to be better than a Subaru Outback off road too.
The boss is right on the RR. I'm 6'3" and I don't have a prob in my mate's Jimny. Forget about back seat passengers though. If your are into speculative 4WD investments I can recommend a Defender. Rough as guts and will go though anything and any amount of money. Great resale value. I know of people who have made a killing on these things to cashed up numbskulls.

images

All the Drizabone wearing Toyota drivers will be laughing their heads off when it gets stuck due to some intermittent fault.
All part of the fun. Would be easy to chuckle back at the missing-toothed, TV dinner munching, twice divorced, same-car having, bogan bore fests known as troopy/79 series muppets 😎

I'm 6'2".... I'd look like a clown. I don't care about practical 4WD, just an image. The old 2 door range rovers are going nuts in the UK, those early ones are worth 100k plus. I found one that needs some restoration for $22000 and got excited but the boss says no. It's got to be better than a Subaru Outback off road too.

The term "Toorak Tractor " was invented for you Gringo.

4wd jacked up piece's of s**t should be road banned
Angle your headlights down you ******* moron
If you can see me giving you the finger as you drive past then yes i mean you

Careful, they'll zap you with the high intensity lights aimed out the back.
( someone did it to me once ).

I had a gut full of car BS after 3 years of owning an alfa 156.
Now don't get me wrong, it was just beautiful to drive but l paid $10,000 with 115,000km on the clock and sold it to my mechanic for $600 cash at 150,000km when it was falling apart faster than l could fix it.
Learned my lesson and bought a 1994 Hilux surf diesel which did me 6 or 7 years of happy motoring and just sold for double what l paid with 360,000km on the clock and not one single problem ever. Serviced it myself for $70 every 5000km. Unbelievable car.
With a change in job 6 months ago l was doing more miles and decided to pull the Hilux off the road for a resto. To replace it l found a mint 1999 Lexus with only 130,000km and fell in love with it so much that l just swapped the Hilux for a J90 Prado and band the family from ever touching the Lexus on pain of death.
I can't see myself ever needing another car now. They don't make them even close to this good anymore and both will easily clock another 300,000km before major issues. Phuk l love Toyotas.

I had a gut full of car BS after 3 years of owning an alfa 156.
Now don't get me wrong, it was just beautiful to drive but l paid $10,000 with 115,000km on the clock and sold it to my mechanic for $600 cash at 150,000km when it was falling apart faster than l could fix it.
Learned my lesson and bought a 1994 Hilux surf diesel which did me 6 or 7 years of happy motoring and just sold for double what l paid with 360,000km on the clock and not one single problem ever. Serviced it myself for $70 every 5000km. Unbelievable car.
With a change in job 6 months ago l was doing more miles and decided to pull the Hilux off the road for a resto. To replace it l found a mint 1999 Lexus with only 130,000km and fell in love with it so much that l just swapped the Hilux for a J90 Prado and band the family from ever touching the Lexus on pain of death.
I can't see myself ever needing another car now. They don't make them even close to this good anymore and both will easily clock another 300,000km before major issues. Phuk l love Toyotas.

There's an old guy around the corner from me with a 90's Lexus, it's actually so old it's cool now. He's kept it like new. I keep wanting to word him up about selling it. He doesn't looks like he's got many more years left driving.

My first Hiace was like that. Bought it for the business because the ute we had broke down and they couldn't get a part. I bought it for $1200 with a road worthy because it had done 600k. I had it for about 4 years and was waiting for something to **** up to send it to the wrecker. It got so old I was embarrassed driving it so chucked it on eBay and some young guy bought it for more than I paid to fix it up. The one I've got now is just as good. Toyotas are a phenomenon.

Surely all this funeral bullshit will be done with soon

I reckon they could milk another 3 months out of it. If FTA wanted to destroy its last bit of relevance they are doing a great job.

There's an old guy around the corner from me with a 90's Lexus, it's actually so old it's cool now. He's kept it like new. I keep wanting to word him up about selling it. He doesn't looks like he's got many more years left driving.

My first Hiace was like that. Bought it for the business because the ute we had broke down and they couldn't get a part. I bought it for $1200 with a road worthy because it had done 600k. I had it for about 4 years and was waiting for something to * up to send it to the wrecker. It got so old I was embarrassed driving it so chucked it on eBay and some young guy bought it for more than I paid to fix it up. The one I've got now is just as good. Toyotas are a phenomenon.
I'd get dibs on that Lexus if I was you.
I love the circa y2000 cars because it's just before manufacturers started overloading tech into everything but has enough to deliver modern driving dynamics and mod cons. The early Lexus' had the most effort put into them by Toyota to snaffle initial market share off Merc/BMW and they're friggn bullet proof.

I'd get dibs on that Lexus if I was you.
I love the circa y2000 cars because it's just before manufacturers started overloading tech into everything but has enough to deliver modern driving dynamics and mod cons. The early Lexus' had the most effort put into them by Toyota to snaffle initial market share off Merc/BMW and they're friggn bullet proof.

I've been in tech for decades but the last thing I want in a car is a shitload of software and tech. I don't even want an automatic transmission tbh. Just give me a ****ing steering wheel, a few pedals and a gear stick.

I've been in tech for decades but the last thing I want in a car is a shitload of software and tech. I don't even want an automatic transmission tbh. Just give me a ******* steering wheel, a few pedals and a gear stick.
My old girl is a 3 on the tree manual with drums all round

FtW

I've been in tech for decades but the last thing I want in a car is a shitload of software and tech. I don't even want an automatic transmission tbh. Just give me a ******* steering wheel, a few pedals and a gear stick.
Still too much to go wrong, give me a single horse, no saddle 🐎

FtW
You at least need discs on the front. Drums all round in the wet is rolling the dice ....... I should know. Was ice skating along Nepean Hwy once
coming towards Southland from City. Had three young kids in the car fast approaching a red light at 80 kms. Went up onto the centre median
strip and took out a couple of paper bark trees with my right front fender to slow down with my hand break on. I did tell the kids to hang on.
Worked out fine but I got rid of the car soon after even though I loved it.

FtW

Disk brakes are a great invention.
Changing worn out drum pads are a pain in the arse.
The disks are just so simple and easy.
Pads are like 15 minutes when you have a hoist and equipment.
Disks don't take much longer.

Funny how mechanics try to convince you that it costs a lot to change them.

Funny how dealers make out they cost a lot to produce.