Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

School teaching also attracts slackers who like to get paid a decent salary for working 5 hours a day, and having three big blocks of vacation every year.
Yeah ...marking papers etc....but if you're a determined slacker you can find ways to breeze through that stuff.
The kids know which ones they are.

If you are in year 12 and getting reasonable if not spectacular grades and only doing the easy subjects, and you'd much rather spend your time surfing than working 50+ hours a week. Consider a degree in Education.
Good ones aren’t working 5hrs a day closer to 10 hour days

If you're not a sociopath when you start, working with little shits 6 hours a day 250 days a year will turn you into one sooner or later
Wife always blamed me maybe its been the little shits all this time

View attachment 1603567
View attachment 1603572

Only two refs I have for that sort of time period, chiefly because as you can tell from location, we joined the BFL they had some history, Saints had the then BFL as the zone in the period, so there you go.

As you can tell by the article, we essentially got "street A to street B" whilst others got "This shire, that shire, that shire also, why not throw in shires 1-12 also" in histories and after q quick google there's also Almanac Footy: The unknown history of country zoning – Part 1 from a Dees perspective. Far as I'm aware, there was nothing really mentioned in any docs about VFLPA instances or league rulings outside of the catch all clauses like "each club is given at least 1 metro zone" and "all players from that zone are bound to that club after Y" statements.

Legend! Thanks mate.

View attachment 1603567
View attachment 1603572

Only two refs I have for that sort of time period, chiefly because as you can tell from location, we joined the BFL they had some history, Saints had the then BFL as the zone in the period, so there you go.

As you can tell by the article, we essentially got "street A to street B" whilst others got "This shire, that shire, that shire also, why not throw in shires 1-12 also" in histories and after q quick google there's also Almanac Footy: The unknown history of country zoning – Part 1 from a Dees perspective. Far as I'm aware, there was nothing really mentioned in any docs about VFLPA instances or league rulings outside of the catch all clauses like "each club is given at least 1 metro zone" and "all players from that zone are bound to that club after Y" statements.

Did they change at some point, because when i lived in Latrobe Valley, i had a mate who was offered a spot at the Hawks ( he turned it down, too lazy for all the training ). When i was a tiny tacker I lived a few doors up from the Hardware shop that Peter Welsh's ( Hawks/Tigers ) parents owned and ran. Peter was quite the local celebrity.

Imagine being a teacher in the USA, getting shot by a 6 year old.
You know you should have picked him up by the feet and swung his head against the wall ages ago, but you'd get in too much trouble for that.

So it's not the elderly you need to worry about with bung hips dropping holsters and accidental shootings, but instead, newborn babes wondering what the hole does and why it has a trigger...

Did they change at some point, because when i lived in Latrobe Valley, i had a mate who was offered a spot at the Hawks ( he turned it down, too lazy for all the training ). When i was a tiny tacker I lived a few doors up from the Hardware shop that Peter Welsh's ( Hawks/Tigers ) parents owned and ran. Peter was quite the local celebrity.

Many times, zoning was around from like the 40's maybe so there were a few revisions. Sruffed if I know what though as I only saw things and had discussions from the 70's peeps.

Good ones aren’t working 5hrs a day closer to 10 hour days
No wonder they hated me. All I did was remind them of how many holidays they get and constant period breaks through the day lol. All of them would come back at me with the “when do you think homework gets marked” so I’d hit them with “who’s giving us the homework”

I was a ****-head back in the day

Imagine being a teacher in the USA, getting shot by a 6 year old.
You know you should have picked him up by the feet and swung his head against the wall ages ago, but you'd get in too much trouble for that.
I saw a teacher throw some serious blows at a kid, I reckon he was 8 or 9. I was the only witness, but I kept my mouth shut because he had it coming.

I didn’t realize at the time but that kid probably had a very shit home life.

I saw a teacher throw some serious blows at a kid, I reckon he was 8 or 9. I was the only witness, but I kept my mouth shut because he had it coming.

I didn’t realize at the time but that kid probably had a very s**t home life.

Yeah they have shit home life, but that doesn't mean they should be able to get away with everything either.
Its a reason, not an excuse.

About 15 years ago my son was in year 8 at Cheltenham Secondary Collage and he had this woodwork class which was
taken by this old guy part timer in his mid 60's. Anyway half of the boys in his class were just deadshits and used to disrupt
this class a lot. The teacher would kick them out to wait at the Vice Principals office for some kind of detention regularly.
They used to run and slide on sawdust on the floor, misuse power tools, throw shit at the teacher when he had his back turned
and various other campaigners acts. Anyway one day this old bloke just lost his shit and decked one of them. Resigned immediately
with a big smile on his face. No complaint to police.

I didn’t realize at the time but that kid probably had a very s**t home life.
You wouldn’t believe what some of these kid’s home life is like

In an age when company managers can be penalised if a worker trips over their shoelace at work and bangs their head, Teachers are also people who would like to go to work without facing violence or victimisation. ( And Teacher's can be bullied as well as other kids ).
If a kid has a problem that may cause a teacher or another student to be injured, than the kid and his family should have that problem , not others.

Its not going to get better if they finish school and get into society.

In an age when company managers can be penalised if a worker trips over their shoelace at work and bangs their head, Teachers are also people who would like to go to work without facing violence or victimisation. ( And Teacher's can be bullied as well as other kids ).
If a kid has a problem that may cause a teacher or another student to be injured, than the kid and his family should have that problem , not others.

Its not going to get better if they finish school and get into society.

And that makes you wonder about what kind of people let a violent child have access to firearms.

There's literally open carry permits and essentially guns in large scale dept stores, access isn't the problem, education is because don't infringe muh rights bro or I'll cap ya.

Here's me wondering how many guns discharged in schools before they end up like prisons with body checks, fences and people in suits. "To be enrolled here you must accept my hand in a glove up yo arse 5 days a week. Failure to comply will mean no glove."

There's literally open carry permits and essentially guns in large scale dept stores, access isn't the problem, education is because don't infringe muh rights bro or I'll cap ya.

Here's me wondering how many guns discharged in schools before they end up like prisons with body checks, fences and people in suits. "To be enrolled here you must accept my hand in a glove up yo arse 5 days a week. Failure to comply will mean no glove."
Some schools over there already have metal detectors when they walk in. Something like 10 percent of thier high schools and 2 percent of elementary schools. Some even have armed security guards.

I couldn't even get a Tamagotchi into school in the mid 90's, and these 6 year old ballers are coming strapped with gats? What the heck?

This I did not know, the armed guards bit, last I saw it was people at entry being all 'gimmie your bags and such so I can looksee" quick pat and on your way, very nonchalant.

Mate of mine has scored a job heading up the health hub out at Seaford, he is moving over from Tassie (originally from WA / don't hold that against him / his brother is Oscar Allan who plays for the Eagles). Has recently been GM for Basketball Tas in the South of Tas.

He flew over last night, talking to him yesterday he was saying he was surprised at the org chart for the Saints and their level of commitment to the community. Will keep in touch with him.