Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

I'm in the shits because my wife booked skiing and it must be coming up soon now it's nearly July. There is possibly no "sport" more wanky and boring on earth. I'm sure if you're good at it it's fun but I'm self employed, I can't afford to break an arm. I suggested Bali and as a surprise she books the opposite knowing I hate the snow. It's fun for one night drinking while the fire is going and then it's like being in a frozen jail full of elitist *******s.

I'm protesting by wearing all my dated snow gear so she's humiliated.
Yeah skiing is for softcocks, get a snowboard up ya

It's at least not as camp. Skis are the rollerblades of the snow. Snowboarding is like trying to ride a skateboard on a bed of ballbearings wearing really shit oversized clothes. I like the drinking whisky indoors while looking out on the campaigners that are going back to a shit university dorm with a cask of wine and some port to root some pimply nerd that looks like their sister. Other than that the snow is shit. Give me the tropics any day.

It's at least not as camp. Skis are the rollerblades of the snow. Snowboarding is like trying to ride a skateboard on a bed of ballbearings wearing really s**t oversized clothes. I like the drinking whisky indoors while looking out on the campaigners that are going back to a s**t university dorm with a cask of wine and some port to root some pimply nerd that looks like their sister. Other than that the snow is s**t. Give me the tropics any day.
Next minute

s4K3VP.gif

Don't try and pull the wool over our eyes.

The system is starting to look very unbalanced and AI and other forces that push people out of jobs and a decent lifestyle will shake it up more. Looks like capitalism is going to have to dress itself up to keep going in the next 50 years.I reckon a universal basic wage is inevitable but the corps will have to pay taxes which they don't like doing.

Will never happen in the USA, there'll be several states kicking and screaming about how it's all red and you're into slavery by giving people fair wages and what's with that European accent you terrorist to go with such a short time frame for a monetary system to not get mad pushback by yokel hicks.

In the rest of the world that have common sense and understand what means are, sure, much like universal health care is a thing and a 4 day work week is popping up in random locales for balancing acts, as changes in such locations is a known quantity and you have a symbiosis of thought where even if someone like Scomo comes in with "I have this lemon and mates that need cash, you cool?" to junket places, not much impacts in overall schemes. As opposed to the bloke current getting charged with essentially multiple treason & fraud things being the current alternative option to run the entire country as if that's a sound choice and not something an African nation would do to an 11yo.

It'll be a bit like the metric system in the US, where sure, they use it, but as so much is invested in Imperial you can GAGF if that fundamental is changing anything meaningful on a national scale.

Did more about people trafficking and the abuse of kids and adults in his term than the last four did combined
I'd vote for him twice on Sundays.
You mean the guy pictured with Epstein? Did nothing for abused kids. Did heaps for billionaire's and his mate Epstein.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Will never happen in the USA, there'll be several states kicking and screaming about how it's all red and you're into slavery by giving people fair wages and what's with that European accent you terrorist to go with such a short time frame for a monetary system to not get mad pushback by yokel hicks.

In the rest of the world that have common sense and understand what means are, sure, much like universal health care is a thing and a 4 day work week is popping up in random locales for balancing acts, as changes in such locations is a known quantity and you have a symbiosis of thought where even if someone like Scomo comes in with "I have this lemon and mates that need cash, you cool?" to junket places, not much impacts in overall schemes. As opposed to the bloke current getting charged with essentially multiple treason & fraud things being the current alternative option to run the entire country as if that's a sound choice and not something an African nation would do to an 11yo.

It'll be a bit like the metric system in the US, where sure, they use it, but as so much is invested in Imperial you can GAGF if that fundamental is changing anything meaningful on a national scale.

I reckon they'll have to to stave off a revolution. If no-one has jobs and a few control all the wealth... good luck.

Richard Nixon was looking at a universal basic wage back in the 1960s. You get a minimum amount and anything you earn over that is a bonus. It actually would have been good as. You circulate heaps back through that way, keeps the economy ticking and people are more confident being entrepreneurial because they have a back up.

It's a bit trickier in a global economy and they'll probably just try to starve everyone into bringing wages down and it will become some dystopian nightmare because people are campaigners..... but what can you do.

Is Trump and Biden the best that could try can do?
Just put a corpse up for President as both parties are owned by lobby groups for the rich.
I fully understand why people voted for Trump, he turned out to be just as bad as the rest of them. At least he was entertaining.
Remember 'Lock her up, Lock her up'. Dripping irony now hey [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Trump is a d*ck

But he's a d*ck that had to happen.

Said some incredibly stupid things, but he said some things that needed to be said. The two aren't mutually exclusive.

Of course though, people are like a bunch of rabid dogs chasing their tails. Everything their side says or does is right and everything the other side says or does is complete rubbish.

If you discard everything Trump said or stood for just because it was Trump, you're really not going to add much to this world. Just another brick in the wall.

Trump is a d*ck

But he's a d*ck that had to happen.

Said some incredibly stupid things, but he said some things that needed to be said. The two aren't mutually exclusive.

Of course though, people are like a bunch of rabid dogs chasing their tails. Everything their side says or does is right and everything the other side says or does is complete rubbish.

If you discard everything Trump said or stood for just because it was Trump, you're really not going to add much to this world. Just another brick in the wall.

People are too lazy to think, they just like to be told what their opinion is. On both sides, that is.

I was told by someone much more interested and invested in politics (especially American politics) that trump was a solid economic manager and that was about all he did well in office. Obviously his campaigning and selling pre election was very savvy as well.

Couldn’t think of too many more things I’d give him credit for though. The current insanity of culture wars was driven pretty hard by him (albeit it was there before him).

I was told by someone much more interested and invested in politics (especially American politics) that trump was a solid economic manager and that was about all he did well in office. Obviously his campaigning and selling pre election was very savvy as well.

Couldn’t think of too many more things I’d give him credit for though. The current insanity of culture wars was driven pretty hard by him (albeit it was there before him).
8 trillion of their national debt directly related to the tax cuts for the ultra rich.

Can't see much economic management there, just ran a clyptocracy.

8 trillion of their national debt directly related to the tax cuts for the ultra rich.

Trump had his whole business success based on scamming, paying no tax and not paying contractors. His political affiliations got him heaps of cheap real estate deals and he exploited people to build on them. He was a a corrupt private citizen and when he became president he supposedly became a great manager of money. I doubt any of them actually make many decisions anyway. They have legions of people coming to them with policy proposals and make decisions on recommendations.

Trump's people possibly made more money inside America by disbanding lots of oversight agencies like the EPA and business regulators. It might upspike the economy but at a cost. America didn't come out of it better off. They are still deep in debt, have an uneven playing field and little hope or direction to work their way out of it. People like the Trump faction republicans think that cutting wages for the poor so that you can compete against countries like China in manufacturing are a direction out.

A lot on his deregulation factional side of the party believe in anarcho-capitalism which is as dystopian as ****. Basically turning everything transactional to the point where the poor can eat each other to survive if they can't pay to be part of society.

To me the Nordic model of a social democratic society has it about as good as you can get it. It's safety netted but still allows for mobility and a great standard of living across the board. It looks genuinely sustainable.

I'm in the shits because my wife booked skiing and it must be coming up soon now it's nearly July. There is possibly no "sport" more wanky and boring on earth. I'm sure if you're good at it it's fun but I'm self employed, I can't afford to break an arm. I suggested Bali and as a surprise she books the opposite knowing I hate the snow. It's fun for one night drinking while the fire is going and then it's like being in a frozen jail full of elitist *******s.

I'm protesting by wearing all my dated snow gear so she's humiliated.
Stop whining you know you love it 🤣🤣

Ya nah, I hate it. I'm a sitting by the pool guy and if I'm not immediately good at something I lose interest. Bali would cost about the same and I'd be cooking in the sun. Going form a cold Melbourne to an even colder place seems like idiocy. The wife loves skiing but none of her friends want to go so she screwed me over. I tried to cash it in and would have been $600 out of pocket not going. I've been actively trying to recruit one of her friends to go in my place but they all have lives.

Used to love skiing, completely alien surroundings. Was a good skiier but by **** it was expensive and yes wanky. My right knee is totally ****ed now so no more of that, or running either BTW.

To be fair i just sort of took his word for it, never actually looked into it at all.

This guy was no Trump fan but knows a shitload about Aus economics. Might have had no clue. I was probably trying to be generous.

Never tried skiing myself, gone ice skating a couple times and every time for about a week afterwards my ankles and knees are like "walking? What's walking, rest only thanks" and not taking nay weight without massive complaints. I imagine lengthening that might make it worse if I went skiing and instead I'd just fall on my face many a time...

Did have a teacher who managed to burn her face on snow however so that did scar me for life in going to the snow for prolonged periods.