Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

LMAO.

I need to know more about your process for identifying obvious bullshit. I’m having a few doubts.
You need to be more subtle when you've felt your feathers get ruffled, sweet cheeks! Nothing like a good political whack to bring the soy boys out xox

Sorry George.

I’ll behave myself now. I know when I’m out of my depth.
giphy.gif

Sorry George.

I’ll behave myself now. I know when I’m out of my depth.
giphy.gif
Good stuff mate, just take it easy yeah. I'm a republican and nothing you say or do will ever, ever change that :cool:

Even though I reckon you're total nutters, I still want the best for ya. The rest of the discussion is harmless fun 😘

Good stuff mate, just take it easy yeah. I'm a republican and nothing you say or do will ever, ever change that :cool:

Even though I reckon you're total nutters, I still want the best for ya. The rest of the discussion is harmless fun [emoji8]

Thanks mate!

We like our mods to feel good about themselves too.

Some of the greatest people ever to grace the planet are Republicans. Like Abe Lincoln. You picked a good team, just a bad captain.

Meanwhile I’ll continue twisting my vegan wokist screws into some of the lesser minds in here, while I plan my next say no to oil assault on the public transport system.

Thanks mate!

We like our mods to feel good about themselves too.

Some of the greatest people ever to grace the planet are Republicans. Like Abe Lincoln. You picked a good team, just a bad captain.

Meanwhile I’ll continue twisting my vegan wokist screws into some of the lesser minds in here, while I plan my next say no to oil assault on the public transport system.
Fight the good fight chief

Yeh i mean im pretty biased but trying to put that aside they were all fairly practical and logical and mostly suggested by people with alot of expertise.

Most were fairly simple, eg, the AFL and clubs actually enacting all of the current requirements and recommendation of the ratified anti discrimination act (that was introduced in 2000). A handful which i would personally support might be more difficult eg, pride round.

I would recommend watching the piece (on iView) its pretty balanced and measured, the AFL isnt made out to be some callous POS organisation it really just shows they are a bit apathetic in their support and application.

Watched it

Feel the same as I did before I watched it.

They had a go at Gil because he said he believes players don't want the burden of being the first to come out. He used the word burden. It really depends how you look at what he was said. I think Gil was thinking about the players as individuals.

Robert Murphy called himself a p**fter when he missed goals. That's on him

Showed old footage from the footy show.

Said some 12 year old player called another player a fa**ot but then said he didn't really know what it meant.

etc etc

Society has changed it's views over time. You can bring out old footy show footage and try to make out it's an afl thing but sorry, to me that's just sh*t journalism. It was society.

As I said before.... a player will eventually come out and it'll be ok. It's up to the players and I respect anyone's decision as an individual to do with that as they wish.

Now I'll wait for someone to come in and imply I'm not one of the people who "walk in love" because I dared voice an opinion and didn't just ignore the subject.

Watched it

They had a go at Gil because he said he believes players don't want the burden of being the first to come out. He used the word burden. It really depends how you look at what he was said. I think Gil was thinking about the players as individuals.

Said some 12 year old player called another player a fa**ot but then said he didn't really know what it meant.

etc etc

Society has changed it's views over time. You can bring out old footy show footage and try to make out it's an afl thing but sorry, to me that's just sh*t journalism. It was society.

As I said before.... a player will eventually come out and it'll be ok. It's up to the players and I respect anyone's decision as an individual to do with that as they wish.

Now I'll wait for someone to come in and imply I'm not one of the people who "walk in love" because I dared voice an opinion and didn't just ignore the subject.
I agree with you mate for what it's worth. It seems like irrational fear. Any normal person doesn't give a shit about who someone else wants to sleep with and would treat anyone they don't know with a base level of respect/decency.

I'd argue that the continued frothing for someone to come out only heaps more pressure on those people. I don't understand why it's important for others to know. People should just mind their own business.

Watched it

etc etc

Bob Murphy’s narcissism and martyrdom was utterly embarrassing.
Couldn’t even speak Akker’s name, how ridiculous and juvenile.
The cherry on top was his c grade acting when “wishing he had someone on his team come out, so he could tell them they’re brave, the bravest in the league, making the team the bravest and they could win!”.

More brave than Todd Marshall. Braver than cancer survivors. Braver than those with sick and dying children and partners and loved ones.

Nah.

The cherry on top was his c grade acting when “wishing he had someone on his team come out, so he could tell them they’re brave, the bravest in the league, making the team the bravest and they could win!”.

More brave than Todd Marshall. Braver than cancer survivors. Braver than those with sick and dying children and partners and loved ones.

Nah.
I can't ****ing stand Bob Murphy. Absolute piss-weak operator, thinks he's a spiritual teacher and self-help author of some of the greatest novels, the guide to total enlightenment. Shit sideburns.

Just look at him

gh-cA-ye_400x400.jpg

Got real lesbian vibes about him (the irony). Would rival the great Daisy Thomas for best look.

Nah.

Agreed

Completely cringeworthy.

Watched it

etc etc

That’s fair enough.

Fwiw I can absolutely see the side of the discussion you are talking about I just think the question of has the afl done enough to create a safe space for any player who wants to be openly gay to do so is a reasonable one and to me that is the far more important side of the question.

I’m also absolutely positive that there are plenty of shitty media and SJW types frothing for the story but I also think there are a lot who just want to ensure that players feel supported.

That’s fair enough.

Fwiw I can absolutely see the side of the discussion you are talking about I just think the question of has the afl done enough to create a safe space for any player who wants to be openly gay to do so is a reasonable one and to me that is the far more important side of the question.

I’m also absolutely positive that there are plenty of shitty media and SJW types frothing for the story but I also think there are a lot who just want to ensure that players feel supported.

FWIW, I can see how having players in the afl who have come out would be important for a young gay guy that wants to play the game. That's not lost on me at all.

Yeh, thats really the key to me, that and ensuring that all practical measures to create a safe and welcoming environment are being implemented.

The media pack backing off would certainly help that (i dont think the four corners thing fall in that catagorey either though).

I can't ******* stand Bob Murphy. Absolute piss-weak operator, thinks he's a spiritual teacher and self-help author of some of the greatest novels, the guide to total enlightenment. s**t sideburns.

Just look at him

gh-cA-ye_400x400.jpg

Got real lesbian vibes about him (the irony). Would rival the great Daisy Thomas for best look.
I can’t stand this guy, simpering self righteous hypocrite imo.

Yeh, thats really the key to me, that and ensuring that all practical measures to create a safe and welcoming environment are being implemented.

The media pack backing off would certainly help that (i dont think the four corners thing fall in that catagorey either though).

It'll happen. I just hope whoever does come out doesn't feel pressured. People have their own journey to walk. It's their right to do so as they please.

People can try to assign blame all they like (and I feel there was a bit of that in that piece).. but there's probably a bunch of different reasons it hasn't happened yet. It's not my place to judge what those reasons are.

It'll happen. I just hope whoever does come out doesn't feel pressured. People have their own journey to walk. It's their right to do so as they please.

People can try to assign blame all they like (and I feel there was a bit of that in that piece).. but there's probably a bunch of different reasons it hasn't happened yet. It's not my place to judge what those reasons are.
Yeh i think the balance between "support" and "pressure" is probably the key distinction. Even Bob Murphys comments, he means well but the pedestal hes built is not helpful at all.

What did you think of the recommendations/suggestions? I can see how that looks like apportioning blame, but holistically i didnt think any were particularly onerous?