Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Because they might drive through a red light at speed and wipe you out ?

Because the guy next door is pissed and is belting up his wife ?

Because of preventable alcohol related illnesses cost to the health budget ?

Because blah, blah, blah ?

Yeah I tend to think it’s better to make the actual acts illegal (drink-driving, domestic violence), and future health costs is a kinda messy argument imo because then do we fine people for sitting on the couch too much or eating Maccas?

Agreed mate, was clearly tongue in cheekish. Kudos to Italy for protecting their heritage and specialties.

Oh is that why they did it? Good luck to them but as a general rule I think government shouldn’t stick its nose into random things especially when they would clearly have been lobbied hard by party donors on it.

Tend to agree re:govt. However I treat this fake meat crap on par with big pharma, the worst of the worst.

They're not proposing to stop sale of such things just that as a nation, they're backing their own agriculture to win out and that they, in their choice state for example that cheese comes from milk from a cow and not milk from cells from a cricket. It's an argicultural thing for me which is why they are getting involved to toot horns and protect their own cultural things in agriculture.

They might have been talking about "knock off" salami. It's a thing
The fake salami is possible but I know they were having a huge problems with fake Parma hams (proscuitto). Big money to be made, so you can understand why crime syndicates would want to cash in.

I don’t get that. I can’t stand the stuff but if people want to eat it, why would the government get involved?
Probably for labelling it meat? If so fair enough. I have no problem with people eating the stuff it’s been around for ever I had a vegetarian mate who took vegetarian sausages camping but it’s not meat.

Yeah a. Suburban plumber needs a 4wd vehicle complete with off road tyres winch spotlights etc. They already get a huge tax dodge on these
100% tax right off under ScoMo and don't forget the bullbar - you definitely need these around town.

I had a plumber here on Friday driving a bog standard twin cab with the back modified I assume for his gear. How do you know where a tradie will be working ? 15 minute cities, 20 mph speed limits.

No no, “4wD” = bad, very bad.
Headlights and winches are also horrible for the environment. Nobody should have outdoor hobbies.
There’s heaps of 2wD utes available on the market. All are very safe and reliable.
Tradies don’t have a leg to stand on.

Probably for labelling it meat? If so fair enough. I have no problem with people eating the stuff it’s been around for ever I had a vegetarian mate who took vegetarian sausages camping but it’s not meat.

Yeah I had some manner of plant based chicken skewer and it was atrocious, came apart like wood chips in texture nothing at all like a piece of chicken breast or thigh or any sort of meat product in chew.

More power to people that can eat it, but it's not for me at all.

No no, “4wD” = bad, very bad.
Headlights and winches are also horrible for the environment. Nobody should have outdoor hobbies.
There’s heaps of 2wD utes available on the market. All are very safe and reliable.
Tradies don’t have a leg to stand on.
Seen a tradie with a with a winch and a bull bar. I seriously considered shaking my fist at him vigorously, how dare he planet wrecker

What gets me is that in a time where more and more we’re press ganged into accepting almost anything as ok at the same time so many people want to restrict what has been seen as a traditional normal lifestyle. So let’s get this straight I’m a breeder or married to one and have too many children, my car is too big see the first complaint, my religion is a problem, my preference for fresh meat and seafood is killing the planet, I’m suppressing whole sections of society merely by my white arse being alive apparently and I’m also suppressing women because I’m a guy. In fact I can barely get through a day without offending all sorts of people amazingly without interacting with anyone. I along with many people I speak to are over it and reaching breaking point, all I can say is watch out because the pendulum is swinging back and I’m taking names and handing out receipts.