Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

The optimist would say you push incrementally towards a better future. Back when Winmar stood up against being abaused this point seemed a very long way away and there was plenty of push back. Make a move and keep pushing forward a bit at a time. Means little to most people but little wins can feel pretty huge when it's your issue.
My point is nothing will change. It's like drinking alcohol free beer. What's the point.

He is , i got banned on another thread after i got in a huge argument about english "written" history being of higher integrity than aboriginal word of mouth history. In the view of those writing it in mean. ( it is , don't care what you say its been proven . ) I ended up saying something that was taken out of context , and read in a way i hadn't intended it. I tend to stay clear from him.

If you don't agree with everything he says you are racist.
Ive spoken with South a bit on this and other issues and i dont think he actually does the "youre a racist" thing TBH. I can understand his passion and anger, albeit at times misplaced.

I got howled down for it before but i reckon if you can try to not internalise words and actions as racist (eg. listen to the feedback on the action and not take it personally) everyone would be better for it. No one that ive conversed with on this matter in this thread is anything close to a racist but theres been some racist tropes and stereotypes rolled out, if i was in Souths shoes id probably get sick of hearing some of the rhetoric too.

My point is nothing will change. It's like drinking alcohol free beer. What's the point.
I get the apathy but you dont know nothing will change, youre assuming nothing will but no one can be sure.

If theres a chance this helps and the people directly affected overwhelmingly support it then why not give it a try. Worst case is nothing changes, best case it stuff improves for Indigenous Australians. Its a no lose situation IMO.

I get the apathy but you dont know nothing will change, youre assuming nothing will but no one can be sure.

If theres a chance this helps and the people directly affected overwhelmingly support it then why not give it a try. Worst case is nothing changes, best case it stuff improves for Indigenous Australians. Its a no lose situation IMO.
That's a weak argument, of course I don't know the future but history suggests ordinary people will still struggle and elites will continue to hold power.

Fair, im not gonna try to convince you or anyone else which way to vote, just passing on my logic on your thought process. The alternative is "nothing will change so just keep it the way it is, which is also shit" doesnt seem better to me.

Fair, im not gonna try to convince you or anyone else which way to vote, just passing on my logic on your thought process. The alternative is "nothing will change so just keep it the way it is, which is also s**t" doesnt seem better to me.
No, there's other alternatives.

Good boy, you are becoming a proper pessimistic nihilist. There is a certain amount of shit that you just have to make peace with and accept as part of living in a rich country. Part of the reason we have so much is that we are on the side of some of histories greediest campaigners and even their crumbs are huge.

I love it when people want to drain the swamp. Most of the shit they do is asset stripping poor nations so that the west can live in luxury. Go live in a poor country where you get proper swamps and the government is only there to lubricate the wheels of corruption. You can't renovate the house so just enjoy your chance to help choose the curtains every 4 years.

Organise a revolution El Georgo.

No, there's other alternatives.
None that youre being asked to vote on or that will likely or even possibly be implemented.

One in the hand, two in the bush.

Anyway, i did this for two straight days and if anything probably inspired more No votes so ill quite while im down by 5 goals.

Good boy, you are becoming a proper pessimistic nihilist. There is a certain amount of s**t that you just have to make peace with and accept as part of living in a rich country. Part of the reason we have so much is that we are on the side of some of histories greediest campaigners and even their crumbs are huge.

I love it when people want to drain the swamp. Most of the s**t they do is asset stripping poor nations so that the west can live in luxury. Go live in a poor country where you get proper swamps and the government is only there to lubricate the wheels of corruption. You can't renovate the house so just enjoy your chance to help choose the curtains every 4 years.
I've always been this way lol

None that youre being asked to vote on or that will likely or even possibly be implemented.

One in the hand, two in the bush.

Anyway, i did this for two straight days and if anything probably inspired more No votes so ill quite while im down by 5 goals.
Lol at thinking we only have two options

I mean if youd care to list off what other options were being asked to vote on.

Or even have to assist Indigenous Australians to be heard?
I'm not talking about the stupid vote, I'm talking about changing the way we do things more broadly. We are where we are because people too easily accept the situation they're in, if we had enough ordinary people wanting to change things then things would change, but we're told it's a pointless exercise and to just shut up and do what our master tells us, this is why when I bring it up I get stupid comments like "well why don't you start a revolution hurrdurr" like it's an impossibility or something. That's some real good conditioning right there.

Who cares if yes or no wins, the system around it is completely broken. Fix the system. There's not just the option of yes or no, there's also the option of saying hey you know what, **** this, I don't want to play in the sandpit anymore.

Was down Sydney Road today looking at some records and these two kids walked past and saw their mate across the road. They yelled out "Hey, Milo!"

Milo. Parents named their kid after a Beagle in a kids Christmas movie. Taking the absolute piss.

Tell ya what, they're probably yes voters too. Unreal.

Another way of looking at it, rather than if its something you want to support ,is it something you need to block?
If someone wants to sell alcohol free beer, is it your duty to block it?
If the guy down the road wants needs a permit to open a hairdressers for his daughter and it won't affet you do you need to block it?
Voting No is blocking it.

The other way of looking at it is , "i'd vote yes, but what's in it for me?" which is kind of the way the rich elitists think.

You sound completely defeated, just the way they want you to be 😀

I'm too feisty to stop whinging but I've got to an age where the futility has set in. I used to engage in political discourse, now I'm resigned to it being what it is. We are still extremely lucky to be in this country with more than enough to live one of the greatest living standards in history. I would like it to be fairer but I'm not interested enough to go and put my hat in the ring so just need to learn to shut up and try to do the best I can do.

Was down Sydney Road today looking at some records and these two kids walked past and saw their mate across the road. They yelled out "Hey, Milo!"

Milo. Parents named their kid after a Beagle in a kids Christmas movie. Taking the absolute piss.

Brunswick is a very Yessy place these days.

I'm too feisty to stop whinging but I've got to an age where the futility has set in. I used to engage in political discourse, now I'm resigned to it being what it is. We are still extremely lucky to be in this country with more than enough to live one of the greatest living standards in history. I would like it to be fairer but I'm not interested enough to go and put my hat in the ring so just need to learn to shut up and try to do the best I can do.
Fairy

Someone named Milo isn't driving a 4 x 4, little pissant

You know why he was named Milo ? Because he is not real Quick

I'm not talking about the stupid vote, I'm talking about changing the way we do things more broadly. We are where we are because people too easily accept the situation they're in, if we had enough ordinary people wanting to change things then things would change, but we're told it's a pointless exercise and to just shut up and do what our master tells us, this is why when I bring it up I get stupid comments like "well why don't you start a revolution hurrdurr" like it's an impossibility or something. That's some real good conditioning right there.

Who cares if yes or no wins, the system around it is completely broken. Fix the system. There's not just the option of yes or no, there's also the option of saying hey you know what, * this, I don't want to play in the sandpit anymore.

You have to come up with an alternative though. If they ended unfettered capitalism tomorrow would you be happier? The living standard that we have is still very high even with the inequity. Would you give up your western lifestyle to live a more "real" existence? I doubt it and neither would I. I'm a chardonnay socialist, I'm full of shit because I'm lazy and selfish and don't want to share it too much if it means giving too much up.

I think I have answers but I'm not going to go and get into politics. Posting political shit on Facebook and X isn't fixing anything, it's just playing shit flinging with a bunch of equally stupid people.

Just enjoy everything for what it is. Drink, eat and socialise. We've probably broken the planet anyway. Footy is a great distraction.