Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

You have to come up with an alternative though. If they ended unfettered capitalism tomorrow would you be happier? The living standard that we have is still very high even with the inequity. Would you give up your western lifestyle to live a more "real" existence? I doubt it and neither would I. I'm a chardonnay socialist, I'm full of s**t because I'm lazy and selfish and don't want to share it too much if it means giving too much up.

I think I have answers but I'm not going to go and get into politics. Posting political s**t on Facebook and X isn't fixing anything, it's just playing s**t flinging with a bunch of equally stupid people.

Just enjoy everything for what it is. Drink, eat and socialise. We've probably broken the planet anyway. Footy is a great distraction.
Yeah ok but what are your thoughts on Milo?

Poor old Milo most likely has a life working with the carny folk helping steer the dodgem cars
😂 hits too close to home. My uncle on my mums side (he married into the family so his lack of IQ is not genetic, dweebs) was a manager at Sidetracked for about 20 years - main job? Repairing the go-karts 😂😂

Real Milo type operator

Theres a bit of pikey on one side of our fam tree as well
brad pitt GIF

He is , i got banned on another thread after i got in a huge argument about english "written" history being of higher integrity than aboriginal word of mouth history. In the view of those writing it in mean. ( it is , don't care what you say its been proven . ) I ended up saying something that was taken out of context , and read in a way i hadn't intended it. I tend to stay clear from him.

If you don't agree with everything he says you are racist.
You got banned ? surely you jest

Yeah ok but what are your thoughts on Milo?

Our friends that live in Brunswick and Coburg have kids with whacked out names so not judging incase I know his folks. Most of them have names that suit pets more than people over there.

Now it is 15 pages long!

I think it's all garbage. If the voice is going to have little to no impact on decisions then why bother with it at all. What's the actual point of it, so a group of people can get a little win for a moment in time and then the system just chugs along anyway? The system needs to change, the decisions made within that are meaningless IMO.

I think if it does anything it will make politics a more viable career path for smart indigenous youth. They'll come up through The Voice bureaucracy and then have the knowledge and contacts to get elected to parliament, and to be effective once they get there.

Honestly not personally sure that career politicians is something I'd aspire to but it could make a difference from that point of view.

Another way of looking at it, rather than if its something you want to support ,is it something you need to block?
If someone wants to sell alcohol free beer, is it your duty to block it?
If the guy down the road wants needs a permit to open a hairdressers for his daughter and it won't affet you do you need to block it?
Voting No is blocking it.

The other way of looking at it is , "i'd vote yes, but what's in it for me?" which is kind of the way the rich elitists think.

Whilst on fence, my lean is no, and it's because of that catch all matters relating to statement, so I'd block it because it can do more harm than good in current context.

We have bora rings, we're dealing with a heritage council, the Wurundjeri one on them, we currently don't have all the rings under that heritage due to previous political instances locking one behind private property that got rezoned and sold off. Jeff F'n Kennet which caused that some 12% Lib to 18% ALP switch as get, F'd you elitist prick.

As we actively fight redevelopments in our wetlands, as we actively fight Melbourne on things, why would I want more voices from people when they only started caring about thousands of years old sites in the 70's? Did we do that shit of a job in a fight that it took many rezonings to screw people out of money just so land could be sold to prop up inner suburbs? Did we do that shit of a job turfing sitting reps? Did we do that shit of a job going to the literal heritage council and local councils to scream to get the rings protected under heritage?

Did we do all that wrong for decades so that others should have a say about them?

That is what makes me mad, and that is why I lean no and do better, because we have and continue to do so by being those hands that tend to those rings for decades when no one else gave a shit about them and those thousands of years of history. You don't deserve to have that voice, they deserve to have more power to do something about it.

I think if it does anything it will make politics a more viable career path for smart indigenous youth. They'll come up through The Voice bureaucracy and then have the knowledge and contacts to get elected to parliament, and to be effective once they get there.

Honestly not personally sure that career politicians is something I'd aspire to but it could make a difference from that point of view.

Nothing in the constitution will stop the government of the day from disbanding the current Voice, and appointing their mate at the pub the official voice.
In fact its entirely possible to end up with a Liberal and a Labor voice.

Whilst on fence, my lean is no, and it's because of that catch all matters relating to statement, so I'd block it because it can do more harm than good in current context.

We have bora rings, we're dealing with a heritage council, the Wurundjeri one on them, we currently don't have all the rings under that heritage due to previous political instances locking one behind private property that got rezoned and sold off. Jeff F'n Kennet which caused that some 12% Lib to 18% ALP switch as get, F'd you elitist prick.

As we actively fight redevelopments in our wetlands, as we actively fight Melbourne on things, why would I want more voices from people when they only started caring about thousands of years old sites in the 70's? Did we do that s**t of a job in a fight that it took many rezonings to screw people out of money just so land could be sold to prop up inner suburbs? Did we do that s**t of a job turfing sitting reps? Did we do that s**t of a job going to the literal heritage council and local councils to scream to get the rings protected under heritage?

Did we do all that wrong for decades so that others should have a say about them?

That is what makes me mad, and that is why I lean no and do better, because we have and continue to do so by being those hands that tend to those rings for decades when no one else gave a s**t about them and those thousands of years of history. You don't deserve to have that voice, they deserve to have more power to do something about it.

Both sides want to acknowledge their First Nations recognition. The "voice" bit is the only wedge part and that is like having a group that can advise government but has no power....they already have this anyway but it is being made a requirement to keep it if the vote gets up.

Not sure how the voice bit would make what you're talking about more likely to be looked after. I went out to a site in the Flinders Ranges to see prehistoric petroglyphs that are carved into rock out in the desert. It's ancient and would be a world heritage site in some countries. Bogans have come and carved their shit over the top of it and ruined heaps of them. It's just randomly on some guy's farm and you can access them but they have no protection or security.

Lmao, ABC radio

On the way home from work and some old codger who's had a few too many wines starts slurring an absolutely incredible passage. I could only make out JOHN FARNHAM a few times, the rest was inaudible garbage.

(Probably a yes voter)