Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

5 days after old mans passing;

Using what would be his present of a rice cooker/steamer combo tomorrow to make dinner for the local sister and her bf.
Bought a 4 set of green marble coasters for when I take the cloth off the dining table. Let the dining table breathe I say and get actual marble for that christening.
Spent the day looking at table runners, tivets, looking for a cleaver locally.
Got my parasol for any further hijinks in summer given I am still recovering from mad sunburn. Moved on from the mad inflammation to now I just flake skin everywhere and it itches like a mofo.
Made a list of "to do" in home renovations.
Between the two of us, most things we can handle without a death cert have been sorted, waiting on a water bill so I can get the account to change that to myself, since he paid that manually sadly. Oh and I spent almost a grand on old video games, so ssshhhh.

Literally just put gel on my head and it's already bone dry... FML...

Have never taken notice of food or fuel prices, farkin eggs costing $10 a doz did catch me off guard the other day though 😂
Probably dinosaur eggs, better let Gringwoke in on it he'll be burning a hole through the national museum hotline 😘
The Gringe is off the grid and uneffected by your inner city food prices

img]

5 days after old mans passing;

Using what would be his present of a rice cooker/steamer combo tomorrow to make dinner for the local sister and her bf.
Bought a 4 set of green marble coasters for when I take the cloth off the dining table. Let the dining table breathe I say and get actual marble for that christening.
Spent the day looking at table runners, tivets, looking for a cleaver locally.
Got my parasol for any further hijinks in summer given I am still recovering from mad sunburn. Moved on from the mad inflammation to now I just flake skin everywhere and it itches like a mofo.
Made a list of "to do" in home renovations.
Between the two of us, most things we can handle without a death cert have been sorted, waiting on a water bill so I can get the account to change that to myself, since he paid that manually sadly. Oh and I spent almost a grand on old video games, so ssshhhh.

Literally just put gel on my head and it's already bone dry... FML...
Sorry for your loss St Fly. Time will be your friend.

Blood Meridian is the heaviest most depressing read I think I’ve ever plowed through.
Good read but.

People love or hate it. I haven't given it a go yet. Might have to track it down.

I can't read ebooks, they're too disposable, only read physical. And I can only do audiobooks for non-fiction, otherwise the voices the narrator does interferes too much with my picture of the character.

Yeah, I put an audio book on on a long drive, Lincoln in the Bardo. Don't know if it was the irritating narration but I hated it. Haven't tried again. The wife loves her kindle but I just don't vibe with it. I like a dirty old paper book.

Have never taken notice of food or fuel prices, farkin eggs costing $10 a doz did catch me off guard the other day though 😂

Yeah, you're old dude. Went out the other night and paid for a round of drinks. Thought I'd misheard him and asked twice. ****, I could have bought a slab of craft beer for less money. That's old man shit.

Yeah, you're old dude. Went out the other night and paid for a round of drinks. Thought I'd misheard him and asked twice. *, I could have bought a slab of craft beer for less money. That's old man s**t.
Drinks are an absolute disgrace these days. $27 for a cocktail with 1.5-2 shots in it with some juice and ice?
Poke me in the eye and papercut my tip while you’re at it.
Not the reason I’m off drinking but it certainly doesn’t help draw me back.

We both know he really gets around the bush in peach coloured booty-shorts and one of those square-necked singlets

My wife laughs at me dressing like a country guy to go bush. She reckons I cosplay in flannelette shirts and work-boots or shorts, t-shirt and thongs in inappropriate weather. She laughs but they all give me the little little head nod coupled with a pissed-off squint and a "G'day" so I'm pretty sure they accept me.

Very good point, Dougal 😎

I was going to the market before I got covid, back buying shit at the supermarket makes you realise how much cheaper the market is. Fruit and Veg are insane at the moment. The market stuff is fresher and cheaper.

My wife laughs at me dressing like a country guy to go bush. She reckons I cosplay in flannelette shirts and workbooks or shorts, t-shirt and thongs in inappropriate weather. She laughs but they all give me the little little head nod coupled with a pissed-off squint and a "G'day" so I'm pretty sure they accept me.
Do your soft hands give it away

My wife laughs at me dressing like a country guy to go bush. She reckons I cosplay in flannelette shirts and work-boots or shorts, t-shirt and thongs in inappropriate weather. She laughs but they all give me the little little head nod coupled with a pissed-off squint and a "G'day" so I'm pretty sure they accept me.

What does she say when your whole family rocks up at the cabin?

ctejK13.jpg

Yep plenty of the artful dodger types, snicker as you guys go off with your merchandise.

Yeah, you're old dude. Went out the other night and paid for a round of drinks. Thought I'd misheard him and asked twice. *, I could have bought a slab of craft beer for less money. That's old man s**t.

Last opening round a mate flew from Maroochydore.
We visited one when it was his shout.
He announced that the shout ( 5 beers ) cost as much as his airline ticket.
We moved on before the next shout.

Of course those pretending to be important alpha's just open their wallet and let them take what they want.

Yeah I’ve read Gulag Archipelago and Crime and Punishment.

Oliver Twist I’ve always put off because of the well worn reference of the name. Stupid how the brain works really.

Fountainhead has been added for sure.

Started The Passenger by Cormack McCarthy on audiobook, but stopped very early and will get the hardcover. Making an effort to read physical books again.
When invoking the name of Dickens, don't forget "A Tale of Two Cities".

Fountainhead is better. Real moment in time stuff. US at the peak of it technological advancement and financial explosion, campaignery Murdoch type character, visionary young modernist architect, pettiness, art over cash morality stuff. I reckon it was a great read. Really entertaining.

You should do some Dickens too. Great Expectations and Oliver Twist are really accessible and fun reads. Balzac is pretty good too if you want some French Dickens.

Try some Russian stuff too. The Gulag Archipelago or something not to big to start off with then go to Crime and Punishment or something a bit more ambitious.

For more modern stuff I reckon Barbara Kingsolver is pretty good. Puts some history in her novels and makes them good reads still. The Lacuna and Poisonwood Bible are both pretty interesting subjects. Donna Tartt is pretty good too I reckon.
Finally read C&P last month.
Very good book, but was hoping the pr!ck would get a bit more punishment :)
Am reading the Brothers Karamazov, but need to sit down with it for a while so I don't keep forgetting who all the characters are with their names that seem to have every letter of the alphabet in them. The plane trip at Christmas is probably a good chance.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread