Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Oscar Pisastri winning the F1 championship over Norris would be something pretty good.

Iceman 2.0

Lessgo Oscar, bit early but you're not wrong, there's just something about him that screams WDC and that Norris just doesn't have "it" to get there.

I reckon its mentality.

Max lives in Norris' head meanwhile Piastri does not give a ****, Oscar is more like Hakkinen and Raikkonen

So I'm out of my depth here.

It was 5am this morning.
I was awoken by the sound of people screaming, and upon actually waking, blinking orange lights.
When I made my way to a window to see WTF was going on.
There were 2 people, one with a bucket, one with a shovel or something in his hand, I dunno it was across the street from me behind some bushes.
So they did a thing, bloke got into that truck and then came closer right outside of mine.
Turns out the thing on the back of that truck was an elongated burner.
Turns out that were looking at the road marking for parking bays, the motor I was hearing was the bloke using that burner on it.
I have NFI what was in that bucket, but then the woman was throwing whatever was in it, by hand, where he was burning.
Then they spent far less time outside mine than across the road before they drove off.

So, I gather it was maintenance of some sort.
I am wondering...
WHY 5AM?

I sincerely hope you drive home, park fine, go inside, get out of that not high vis high vis then trip taking your boots off, fall onto a dining table to smash it, on the way down, take off a random picture from a wall, take the small brad you use to hang it, get poked in the non dominant hand, on the way back up, slip and KO yourself by headbutting a wall on the way down again.

FU specifically for waking me up an hour and a half before my alarm you utter flogs.

Also, just why? Why use fire and such on assumed line marking maintenance when it's just paint on bitumen?

So I'm out of my depth here.

It was 5am this morning.
I was awoken by the sound of people screaming, and upon actually waking, blinking orange lights.
When I made my way to a window to see WTF was going on.
There were 2 people, one with a bucket, one with a shovel or something in his hand, I dunno it was across the street from me behind some bushes.
So they did a thing, bloke got into that truck and then came closer right outside of mine.
Turns out the thing on the back of that truck was an elongated burner.
Turns out that were looking at the road marking for parking bays, the motor I was hearing was the bloke using that burner on it.
I have NFI what was in that bucket, but then the woman was throwing whatever was in it, by hand, where he was burning.
Then they spent far less time outside mine than across the road before they drove off.

So, I gather it was maintenance of some sort.
I am wondering...
WHY 5AM?

I sincerely hope you drive home, park fine, go inside, get out of that not high vis high vis then trip taking your boots off, fall onto a dining table to smash it, on the way down, take off a random picture from a wall, take the small brad you use to hang it, get poked in the non dominant hand, on the way back up, slip and KO yourself by headbutting a wall on the way down again.

FU specifically for waking me up an hour and a half before my alarm you utter flogs.

Also, just why? Why use fire and such on assumed line marking maintenance when it's just paint on bitumen?
Not just paint. Something that melts and gels with the roadway.

On another issue, Is anyone having any trouble accessing Saintsational?

Not just paint. Something that melts and gels with the roadway.

On another issue, Is anyone having any trouble accessing Saintsational?

Yes but;
WHY 5AM?

I mean all well and good that I was sleep addled and had NFI what they were doing, but there are noise ordinances for using a burner, blower, screaming commands at each other and essentially turning every single security light on in the street through your truck being constantly running because you only have pissy headlamps and are using said truck to light your way.

You tell home-owners that yeah? You don't half arse that and wake up the residences cause you feel like it.

In your other issue, NFI never visited the place and don't plan to.

Randon thread ...Check..

Ok, I call bullshit on windscreen chips spreading into huge cracks.
I've gone through a lot of my life with windscreen chips and not 1, not a single chip has turned into a crack.
Just bullshit Obrian.
Wonder if it’s something that doesn’t happen with newer windscreens? I remember when I was a kid, I’d often see cars with cracked windscreens, but now that you mention it, I haven’t seen anything more than a few chips in one. For a long time

My last windscreen had 3 big chips taken out of it, I ended up replacing the glass because of the pitting on the exterior, rather than the chips themselves

Yes but;
WHY 5AM?

I mean all well and good that I was sleep addled and had NFI what they were doing, but there are noise ordinances for using a burner, blower, screaming commands at each other and essentially turning every single security light on in the street through your truck being constantly running because you only have pissy headlamps and are using said truck to light your way.

You tell home-owners that yeah? You don't half arse that and wake up the residences cause you feel like it.

I'd say because it's easier to manage traffic when the road is empty. You'd be more pissed if you were sitting waiting to get past them in peak hour.

Randon thread ...Check..

Ok, I call bullshit on windscreen chips spreading into huge cracks.
I've gone through a lot of my life with windscreen chips and not 1, not a single chip has turned into a crack.
Just bullshit Obrian.

Wish that was my experience - 3 year old car - what started as a chip spread like a spider web from the middle to top to bottom! Also damned expensive to replace given my car had all bells and whistles av package so that they cant fix it at home - need to take it to their facility to recalibrate all the tech. Disaster!

I'd say because it's easier to manage traffic when the road is empty. You'd be more pissed if you were sitting waiting to get past them in peak hour.

It was the corner section that I am on primarily, and the entrance to the Child Care Centre area, further up are bus stops like on the opposite corner further up.

Either way, it was the no comms hence the why 5am in big text that you know it was a surprise, you inform residents of that yeah? especially because you know, we have the CFA just around the block cause there's a zone of trees next to a park where people used to like setting it on fire.

So when one hears screaming late at night...

Hence why you inform the residents like you have done on literally every other work that got and is getting done here.

Also, given the road got cut in half back in the 90's as otherwise it was one shot to town with a hook turn so people used to crash through my neighbours fence taking said turn, I assume that island did more disruption than maybe 40min stop start would do. So someone failed a thing far as I am concerned.

Yes but;
WHY 5AM?

Thanks mate.

We had a full resurface of the intersection and approach roads outside our house a few months back.

Full light and sound show with heavy machinery and blokes in astronaut suits. All night it was too, although at least they did send a letter to advise of the works.

The blokes with the flame throwers came in around 5 in the morning, obviously melting the tarmac to install the “cats eyes”.

What they never advised us about was the porta loo which they plonked on the nature strip directly in front of the front door! 😬💩

gGpBBxI.gif

So, got bored, had a chicken breast to use, so looked up a recipe my nonna had.

Olive oil - measured.
Salt - measured.
Pepper - measured.
Dried spices - measured.
"eh that's not enough chili" - whatever the frig spoon I grabbed to take from the jar of crushed chilis to add to it.

It's now in the oven, pray for me...

I live in song writing hell. Anyone else? Can’t stop starting a song, can’t finish a song. Check yourself. So I decided to dig up some song writers of interest, and contrast some songs that intrigue me. The Divinyls,

‘it’s a fine line between pleasure and pain, you've done it once you can do it again, what ever you do don’t try to explain, it’s a fine, fine line between pleasure and pain.’

(Written by Australias most unknown, but ironically most successful song writer, Mike Chapman. And compare that song to this lyric,)

‘Now’s the time to pay the price for not listening to advice and deciding in your youth - on the Policy of Truth. Never again, is what you swore, the time before’..
(Depeche Mode 1989)

Putting artists aside and thinking about the lyrics, do you think such slick lyrics would float in a song today? (Did they for you back then?)

In 2025, are lyrics not allowed to be slippery or ambiguous anymore?

I live in song writing hell. Anyone else? Can’t stop starting a song, can’t finish a song.

No.

Years ago I was like that, but not anymore.

Pick a song.... one song... and sit there until you finish it. Then move onto the next one. It becomes much easier.

No.

Years ago I was like that, but not anymore.

Pick a song.... one song... and sit there until you finish it. Then move onto the next one. It becomes much easier.

My brain is obviously wired differently. I could have 4 different sets of lyrics on the go at once and can jump between them with no issues.......

I'm the same now. But years ago I was guilty of having a tonne of half written songs. I was showing someone (hot girl) some of my songs and it kept going like... this one needs a bridge... haven't finished the chorus of this one etc. She said these are great... but you really need to finish them, so I picked my guitar back up and finished one on the spot. I think I finished 3 more that day. Sometimes it's just a discipline thing.

I live in song writing hell. Anyone else? Can’t stop starting a song, can’t finish a song. Check yourself. So I decided to dig up some song writers of interest, and contrast some songs that intrigue me. The Divinyls,

‘it’s a fine line between pleasure and pain, you've done it once you can do it again, what ever you do don’t try to explain, it’s a fine, fine line between pleasure and pain.’

(Written by Australias most unknown, but ironically most successful song writer, Mike Chapman. And compare that song to this lyric,)

‘Now’s the time to pay the price for not listening to advice and deciding in your youth - on the Policy of Truth. Never again, is what you swore, the time before’..
(Depeche Mode 1989)

Putting artists aside and thinking about the lyrics, do you think such slick lyrics would float in a song today? (Did they for you back then?)

There was a university study done, where it actually analysed the melodic and lyrical content and structure of tens of thousands of songs over different decades and proved conclusively that modern popular music is becoming more formulaic. It is gradually using less and less diversity of language and vocabulary and an ever narrower range of melodic content. There is even a vocal pattern that is noted as being used that the lead author of the report coined a phrase to describe - "the millennial whoop", which is a one third ascending vocal slide (from memory).

Sorry, cannot remember which US College it was, or the lead author, but google it if you're interested, I am sure there was a YouTube piece about it....

I'm the same now. But years ago I was guilty of having a tonne of half written songs. I was showing someone (hot girl) some of my songs and it kept going like... this one needs a bridge... haven't finished the chorus of this one etc. She said these are great... but you really need to finish them, so I picked my guitar back up and finished one on the spot. I think I finished 3 more that day. Sometimes it's just a discipline thing.
I think it depends how you write.

I do lyrics, then sit down to try and create riffs to fit the lyrics. Having said that, lyrics come easy to me. I used to write poetry, not because I had any great desire to be a poet, it just poured out of me of it's own accord, maybe as a coping mechanism or something. At some point I changed the structure of what I was writing to turn it into song lyrics. I still have occasions where I'll sit bolt upright in bed at 3am with an idea for a set of lyrics, hop out of bed, go and write them down, then go back to bed and come back to work on them the next day.........

(Depeche Mode 1989)

Apparently these days all the songs have to be about you.
So if you write " Hey Joe I heard you shot your lady down, yeah i did i shot her" everyone thinks "oh my god , what a terrible person you are singing about shooting your girlfriend ".
( Lets hope they never hear Ariel's "confessions of a psychotic cowpoke " ).
So you get all this whiny crap about sitting in your bedroom feeling miserable.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Write your reply...