Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

I reckon I’ve seen a dozen Cherys on the road this week along. The takeover has begun!

View attachment 1850384
xi-jinping.gif

Tom Elliott lmao what an absolute bellend.

I think it's stupid too but the fact that he says "yOu sHoUlD fOcUs oN oN~fIeLd SuCcEsS1!" is hilarious. If the club ever do anything outside the realm of football that someone disagrees with, that's the line. What a lazy stupid comment.
Someone should remind him what a campaigner his old man was

Tom Elliott lmao what an absolute bellend.

I think it's stupid too but the fact that he says "yOu sHoUlD fOcUs oN oN~fIeLd SuCcEsS1!" is hilarious. If the club ever do anything outside the realm of football that someone disagrees with, that's the line. What a lazy stupid comment.

I used to know him back in the day and he used to be a pretty left wing bloke when he was young. He was a nice guy but totally sold out. Tony Moclair is his mate also a big lefty selling his soul outraging the old boomer ladies with scary stories about woke lesbians taking one of their investment properties to use as a trans brothel for muslims.

Give or take it's 10% max 15% of population that fall under the lgbtqi+ banner. The majority of whom still identify with their chromosome count.

Being overly generous, you might find 5% that identifies as someone other than their chromosome count. And of those 5% you'd be lucky if 1% wanted a job in the footy industry.

So if you think you can fill 20% of your staff body from a 1% demographic and get the best people then I've got some bad news for you.
Having an inclusive policy is admirable. But driving a high quota of niche group is idiocy incarnate.
Would anyone accept the same if they wanted 20% of staff to have fundamentalist Catholic values? Probs not.

Hopefully it's no set in stone or we'll have Danny Laidley having to take up 20% of our footy department roles.

Someone should remind him what a campaigner his old man was

His old man was a really nice guy in real life. Just a bit of a shonk and a loud mouth media whore.

Unfortunately as one of the poorer clubs who relys on Afl handouts for a few more years the club is continually trying to please every single being out there . Can’t be arrogant like the richer clubs . This is going overboard though . Just a ridiculous world we live in .
Cant wait for the day we draft a netball player who identifies as a football player.

"Optus is out - I can't get into my house!"

Personally I like physical keys.

Do you use keys in your car ?.
Actually its insane how the cheapest car can have excellent security, but your house has crappy old locks.
Unless you're in an upstairs apartment, its easy enough to get into most houses anyway.

I reckon I’ve seen a dozen Cherys on the road this week alone. The takeover has begun!

View attachment 1850384

Had a quick look at the one on display at Chadstone. It looked nowhere near as crappy as I expected. Looked as well built as any of the Korean cars on the market. A bit too much going on for my liking but better than I expected.

They've been building cars for considerable time now.

Car fit and finish isn't workmanship or artistry, its methods and i can tell you the serious car makers in china were getting IP from mainstream car companies whenever they could , and their government were facilitating it. VW started assembling joint venture cars in china in 1984.

Looks are one thing and design is another ( i bought a cheap mower, it looked fine, turned out that petrol made the fuel hose go brittle ) but like i said, Chery have been testing their cars on Chinese Guinea Pigs for over 20 years now. ( Domestic China is probably a better test place than Korea too. I once had a conversation with a Korean guy who worked for a headlight supplier. They had resorted to breaking into a military base to find dark roads to test headlights on )

I used to know him back in the day and he used to be a pretty left wing bloke when he was young. He was a nice guy but totally sold out. Tony Moclair is his mate also a big lefty selling his soul outraging the old boomer ladies with scary stories about woke lesbians taking one of their investment properties to use as a trans brothel for muslims.
Ah, it all makes sense now 😎

No I am in the Cornes - Gringo camp. We have built our team around him, we picked him high, he's got the talent, the point of differenceand the romance (boyhood fan, Roo's number, etc). He has what it takes to be a generational success story for St Kilda.

He's been injured and had issues with accuracy. But as Kane states, he's at the point in his career where he needs to put it all together and make teams fear him. He's not doing that right now and call me crazy but I don't think having Rob Harvey as his line coach is going to get the best out of him. He needs to keep building his physique and get Stewie Loewe or Plugger to give him pointers.

We should have Lloyd to do private one on ones with him but I'm glad we didn't hurt Ratts's and Rath's feelings
Lloyd was his coach when he came to us and was a poor kick for goal.
He's improved greatly working with professional staff at the club and being away from Lloyd.

When you put it like that I see your point.

I think the 20% quota is probably BS though, we probably don't actually expect to be able to meet that.
The ad wasn't saying they were aiming for 20% being made up from that 1% of the demographic.

It was saying the aim was to have a workplace that was at least 40% men and 40% women, with the last 20% made up of either/any gender.

They've been building cars for considerable time now.

Car fit and finish isn't workmanship or artistry, its methods and i can tell you the serious car makers in china were getting IP from mainstream car companies whenever they could , and their government were facilitating it. VW started assembling joint venture cars in china in 1984.

Looks are one thing and design is another ( i bought a cheap mower, it looked fine, turned out that petrol made the fuel hose go brittle ) but like i said, Chery have been testing their cars on Chinese Guinea Pigs for over 20 years now. ( Domestic China is probably a better test place than Korea too. I once had a conversation with a Korean guy who worked for a headlight supplier. They had resorted to breaking into a military base to find dark roads to test headlights on )

My brother in law had a year at Holden when he finished his engineering degree. They were bringing in Captivas and other Korean Holdens. He was saying they had constant quality control issues and had to disassemble to refinish heaps of parts because they were unfinished or poorly finished and rusted in the ships. No matter how many times they complained they'd still have issues. Cost them heaps of dollars to remedy the issues.

Chinese tools seem to be hit and miss. Sometimes you get one that's unbreakable and an identical one seems to have been made to break. A mate bought a fake Honda mower and it lasted like a real Honda. Replaced it with the same brand and it was so crap that it he had to keep returning them because they wouldn't last a week. Eventually got another good one.

Blokes who laugh about paying off rape victims are really nice guys? Are they?

In real life he was a really nice bloke, gregarious, funny, generous and friendly. He was of another generation. I bet your grandparents had different values than you do, that was a pretty common attitude back in the day. Pretty sure he probably changed attitudes over the years. Sam Newman probably hasn't.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread