Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

My brother in law had a year at Holden when he finished his engineering degree. They were bringing in Captivas and other Korean Holdens. He was saying they had constant quality control issues and had to disassemble to refinish heaps of parts because they were unfinished or poorly finished and rusted in the ships. No matter how many times they complained they'd still have issues. Cost them heaps of dollars to remedy the issues.

Chinese tools seem to be hit and miss. Sometimes you get one that's unbreakable and an identical one seems to have been made to break. A mate bought a fake Honda mower and it lasted like a real Honda. Replaced it with the same brand and it was so crap that it he had to keep returning them because they wouldn't last a week. Eventually got another good one.

During my brief time at Holden one of the things i got to do was comment on early drives of imported vehicles. I remember driving Barina's, and commenting that the change of LHD to RHD had left the windscreen wipers with a horrible pattern that blocked your visibility, and a severe lack of room to the right of the accelerator pedal. ( LHD Version had plenty of room next to the centre console, RHD version had the pedal right next to the wheel arch. )
Concerns ignored. 6 Month later they were removing the noise deadener from under the carpet next to the wheel arch to try to scrounge a cm.
Also involved in a noise issue with Commodores at the time. Stat's Guru's had found that the noise only came from base models with manual radio antenna's.
Turned out that the antenna was getting a wind flow from up the bonnet forming a vortex when it hit the antenna.
It affected the automatic antennas too, but you didn't notice when the radio was on, and when it was off, the antenna went down.
In the workshop , my suggestion was to use the small rubberized antenna's on the back of the roof for the base models. I was told they were cheaper, and worked better, but the public perception was that telescopic antenna's were more upmarket.
So instead they used motorized antennas across the range including the base models.

GM Korea was the former Daewoo plant bought out by GM.
Daewoo were cheap for GM to buy, because they were broke.
They were broke because they were the shittest of all the Korean brands for quality.
Sanyyong were really weird designs, but their quality was better than Daewoo.
Daewoo/GM Korea, mostly built obsolete Opel designs before the craptiva and the other one.

Chinese companies use lots of subbies. A mower maker might have several engine suppliers.
Car makers are up near the top of the pecking order. If you supply a car company and **** up, you no longer supply a car company.
Car company suppliers need to be third party audited for quality each year and the audits are ridiculously stringent.

A lot more Palestinians been killed by Israelis than vice versa

Well they shouldn't be such C***s

There are lots of Arabs living happily and peacefully in Israel. ( 20% of their population ).
I don't think anyone is happy and peaceful in Gaza , and its pretty much all self inflicted.

Give or take it's 10% max 15% of population that fall under the lgbtqi+ banner. The majority of whom still identify with their chromosome count.

Being overly generous, you might find 5% that identifies as someone other than their chromosome count. And of those 5% you'd be lucky if 1% wanted a job in the footy industry.

So if you think you can fill 20% of your staff body from a 1% demographic and get the best people then I've got some bad news for you.
Having an inclusive policy is admirable. But driving a high quota of niche group is idiocy incarnate.
Would anyone accept the same if they wanted 20% of staff to have fundamentalist Catholic values? Probs not.
Spot on!

Piers Morgan lol

Its not Piers Morgan saying that.

Its pretty simple , Palestinians have targeted civilians then hidden behind their own civilians.
Its pretty stupid to enact an atrocity and then use that to push your cause internationally.

Why is there a big push for Palestinian rights now? A month ago it might have carried some cred.

Israelis' may have killed babies, they have not targeted babies.
Israeli's haven't r*ped anyone. What was the purpose of the raping?
Israeli civilians have not danced in the streets in glee because someone was killed.

Oh?

Half of what you’ve said is clearly not true. There is filth on both sides by the bucket load.

That isn't dancing in the street in glee. She looks like she may have know some recent victims.

Like i said , 20% of the population of Israel are non-Jewish Arabs.
Lets hear what they think of the status quo.

The Gaza strip has never been self governed, and more and more they demonstrate that they are not capable of it.
Hamas is the government of Gaza strip.
What are their governing policies?

Housing?
Utilities?
Reduce Poverty?
Improve Education?

They have never self governed there, do you think it would be good if they did?
If you had to live in one of these places where would you choose?
Gaza, Israel, Jordan, Iran. ?

That isn't dancing in the street in glee. She looks like she may have know some recent victims.

Like i said , 20% of the population of Israel are non-Jewish Arabs.
Lets hear what they think of the status quo.

The Gaza strip has never been self governed, and more and more they demonstrate that they are not capable of it.
Hamas is the government of Gaza strip.
What are their governing policies?

Housing?
Utilities?
Reduce Poverty?
Improve Education?

They have never self governed there, do you think it would be good if they did?
If you had to live in one of these places where would you choose?
Gaza, Israel, Jordan, Iran. ?

I know Israelis that are appalled by the treatment of Palestinians. It’s a lot more complex than that. Pretty terrible regime at the moment. Even removing Hamas isn’t fixing the issues. Killing civilians of any side is not on. Not sure what the answer is but it’s not what’s happening now.

In real life he was a really nice bloke, gregarious, funny, generous and friendly. He was of another generation. I bet your grandparents had different values than you do, that was a pretty common attitude back in the day. Pretty sure he probably changed attitudes over the years. Sam Newman probably hasn't.
Grandparents attitudes? Elliot made light of silencing sexual assault victims in 2009. It wasn't long ago.
Add to this theft, conspiracy, trading when insolvent, being a Carlton supporter and a next level liar....

I'll accept he could be good fun at a dinner party but John Elliot was a campaigner of a bloke. That's on public record.

She does?

The government is happy to talk the same shit. It's a pretty hardcore rightwing religious coalition there now. Bibi has grabbed some pretty aggressive zealots to keep power there.

Anyway the west will continue to back him because there is a lot of mineral wealth under Gaza and they want to put a replication of the Suez through there by the look of it.

Grandparents attitudes? Elliot made light of silencing sexual assault victims in 2009. It wasn't long ago.
Add to this theft, conspiracy, trading when insolvent, being a Carlton supporter and a next level liar....

I'll accept he could be good fun at a dinner party but John Elliot was a campaigner of a bloke. That's on public record.

He was shonky for sure and he wasn't a great moralist. That's the duality of humans though isn't it. With the sexual assault victims, he voiced what was a pretty common attitude back then. He exposed the truth of it to the public, clubs paid off assault victims to keep players out of jail.

Epstein and Weinstein were hardly ancient history. Pretty sure terrible shit would still be happening now. I think there is meant to be more slavery now than at any time in history. He let people peak under the rug. Don't think he invented it.

He was shonky for sure and he wasn't a great moralist. That's the duality of humans though isn't it. With the sexual assault victims, he voiced what was a pretty common attitude back then. He exposed the truth of it to the public, clubs paid off assault victims to keep players out of jail.

Epstein and Weinstein were hardly ancient history. Pretty sure terrible s**t would still be happening now. I think there is meant to be more slavery now than at any time in history. He let people peak under the rug. Don't think he invented it.

Is there anyone you know of calling slavers, Epstein or Weinstein nice blokes?

Maybe I'm mixing up the term nice bloke and good bloke... he was nice to meet, but a bad person.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread