Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

There will be truths and there will be lies both white and huge. Should be mandatory viewing regardless of where anyone sits imo.
He is remarkable in his intelligence contrasted against the politicians in the West at the minimum.
Do you believe any powerful person or country would allow another to trespass against them? I wouldn’t.

He is remarkable in his duplicity and his intelligence could be that of a dickless monkey compared to Tucker Carlson.
There will be his truths, that he believes Ukraine is a fake country and part of the Russian Federation, many Russians believe that. That is a debatable topic, especially if you asked many Ukrainians.

It is a direct fiction that NATO gave assurances they would not expand to Gorbachev in 1994 however he uses this myth to conflate a threat to Russia from the West.

Tell me the last successful invaders of Russia, I think the mongols 700 years ago. The last two from the West, the French under Napoleon, then the Germans under National Socialism, didn't fare too well.
Russia is under no threat of Invasion from the West militarily. As I said it has 6000 nuclear warheads dozens of silent running nuclear subs armed with nuclear warheads.

there is a reason both NATO and Russia tread warily re the Ukraine war. Russia is at pains not to go one centimetre into a NATO countries territory, NATO is very careful not to directly involve itself.

they both know the consequences. This is why his reasons for the attack on Ukraine from a security perspect are disingenuous. Yeah right, the West will attack a nuclear superpower. For what purpose?

Economically the sanctions and other Western economic measures haven't really hurt the Russian economy which is forecast to grow relatively strongly. The only threat the West has from Russia is military.
So his reasons are BS in my opinion and have more to do with imperial conquest of a nation independent for 30 years so he can Make Russia Great Again.

Alexander the Great and Bucephalus, Vladimir the Destroyer and Golden Ray

alexander_the_great_riding_bucephalus__his_horse__by_femalefreedom_dgajdob-pre.jpg

05c.jpeg

It's all the same to me :cool:

He is remarkable in his duplicity and his intelligence could be that of a dickless monkey compared to Tucker Carlson.
There will be his truths, that he believes Ukraine is a fake country and part of the Russian Federation, many Russians believe that. That is a debatable topic, especially if you asked many Ukrainians.

It is a direct fiction that NATO gave assurances they would not expand to Gorbachev in 1994 however he uses this myth to conflate a threat to Russia from the West.

Tell me the last successful invaders of Russia, I think the mongols 700 years ago. The last two from the West, the French under Napoleon, then the Germans under National Socialism, didn't fare too well.
Russia is under no threat of Invasion from the West militarily. As I said it has 6000 nuclear warheads dozens of silent running nuclear subs armed with nuclear warheads.

there is a reason both NATO and Russia tread warily re the Ukraine war. Russia is at pains not to go one centimetre into a NATO countries territory, NATO is very careful not to directly involve itself.

they both know the consequences. This is why his reasons for the attack on Ukraine from a security perspect are disingenuous. Yeah right, the West will attack a nuclear superpower. For what purpose?

Economically the sanctions and other Western economic measures haven't really hurt the Russian economy which is forecast to grow relatively strongly. The only threat the West has from Russia is military.
So his reasons are BS in my opinion and have more to do with imperial conquest of a nation independent for 30 years so he can Make Russia Great Again.
Even if all that were true, I find it remarkable the divide between “our leaders” and someone like him.
Full blown erudite Machiavellian, it is no wonder he is censored over here.

What a strange place the world has become where are leaders are imbeciles, acts of terrorism like the assassination of JFK by the CIA being proven - Nord explosion etc all go in and out of the news cycle in a week if you’re lucky, misinformation and aggression is rife.

It legit feels like we’re being studied in some giant alien experiment. We’re in the Petri dish quibbling over Taylor Swift, diets and which day to have a public holiday on while they just look at each other going wtf are this lot on about, remember they used to build aqueducts and painted the Sistine Chapel??

Even if all that were true, I find it remarkable the divide between “our leaders” and someone like him.
Full blown erudite Machiavellian, it is no wonder he is censored over here.

What a strange place the world has become where are leaders are imbeciles, acts of terrorism like the assassination of JFK by the CIA being proven - Nord explosion etc all go in and out of the news cycle in a week if you’re lucky, misinformation and aggression is rife.

It legit feels like we’re being studied in some giant alien experiment. We’re in the Petri dish quibbling over Taylor Swift, diets and which day to have a public holiday on while they just look at each other going wtf are this lot on about, remember they used to build aqueducts and painted the Sistine Chapel??
Putin's like the Andrew Tate of Heads of State. Except for Tony Abbott, who would have shirt fronted him if he hadn't been stabbed in the back. I reckon the great Australian beetroot, Barnaby Joyce, might be the best Australian despot we've got on the current ledger.

ac318ea0afb0b18854964e639df8c42d.jpg

Putin's like the Andrew Tate of Heads of State. Except for Tony Abbott, who would have shirt fronted him if he hadn't been stabbed in the back. I reckon the great Australian beetroot, Barnaby Joyce, might be the best Australian despot we've got on the current ledger.
This Barnaby?
The Sir Les Patterson of Australian Politics?
Screenshot_20240209_152334_X.jpg

ac318ea0afb0b18854964e639df8c42d.jpg
Australian politicians are deeply embarrassing lmao

WTF is wrong with you Dard?

Australian politicians are a special breed. Keating would eat Putin alive in a face off. I don't care how many bears the big man has ridden, one night in the outback with Katter and the crocs would get a tasty little treat. Coal carrying, burqa wearing, onion eating, Skyhooks loving bunch of high quality misfits, we have here. I'm ****ing proud of them man.

Australian politicians are a special breed. Keating would eat Putin alive in a face off. I don't care how many bears the big man has ridden, one night in the outback with Katter and the crocs would get a tasty little treat. Coal carrying, burqa wearing, onion eating, Skyhooks loving bunch of high quality misfits, we have here. I'm ******* proud of them man.
Well yes, Keating was a legend at question time, unfortunately it is 2024 however 😂

Katter is like a funny version of Biden, all over the shop - saw him try to call cattle the other day and it sounded like an old man hitting the bottom step after a fall lmao.

Interesting read Did The West Promise Moscow That NATO Would Not Expand? Well, It's Complicated.
Lots of hearsay like in all things of this nature, but follows the themes you’ve mentioned Joff.
Interesting that Gorba went back on his original statement, wonder what was at play there.
F*ck it is complicated, too much for my lil brain.
Whatever we are told, it is one tenth of what is happening or has happened. Subterfuge, and 'diplomacy'. What was going on with Gorbachev is a good point, one story for home one for international media all played out in real politic.

Three versions to every story, yours, mine, and the truth.

I don't believe either side of the Ukranian war with Russia. Ukraine is one of the most corrupt countries on earth, the Azov Regiment while maybe not Nazi's had extreme right wingers in it, and did some atrocious things in the Donbas from 14 to 22.

I dont believe either side of the Israel/Palestine conflict either, was very wary how the west jumped on the Israel bandwagon the moment the war started (with the caveat that Oct 7th was appalling). the conflict however didn't start on Oct 7th and the systematic destruction of Gaza and the indiscriminate of civilians is equally appalling.

As you well say, too much for the average punter to understand. Healthy skepticism of everthing you are told is probably best, but then you are in danger of falling down conspiracy rabbit holes.

Australian politicians are a special breed. Keating would eat Putin alive in a face off. I don't care how many bears the big man has ridden, one night in the outback with Katter and the crocs would get a tasty little treat. Coal carrying, burqa wearing, onion eating, Skyhooks loving bunch of high quality misfits, we have here. I'm ******* proud of them man.
Putin fooled Bush junior and Bush said he saw the humanity in his eyes and his soul and believed him.

When Biden was VP when he had all his faculties he met with Putin and he said to him, you have no soul.
Putin said ' good now we understand each other'

Whatever we are told, it is one tenth of what is happening or has happened. Subterfuge, and 'diplomacy'. What was going on with Gorbachev is a good point, one story for home one for international media all played out in real politic.

Three versions to every story, yours, mine, and the truth.

I don't believe either side of the Ukranian war with Russia. Ukraine is one of the most corrupt countries on earth, the Azov Regiment while maybe not Nazi's had extreme right wingers in it, and did some atrocious things in the Donbas from 14 to 22.

I dont believe either side of the Israel/Palestine conflict either, was very wary how the west jumped on the Israel bandwagon the moment the war started (with the caveat that Oct 7th was appalling). the conflict however didn't start on Oct 7th and the systematic destruction of Gaza and the indiscriminate of civilians is equally appalling.

As you well say, too much for the average punter to understand. Healthy skepticism of everthing you are told is probably best, but then you are in danger of falling down conspiracy rabbit holes.

I believe current Ukraine as active warzone tends to galvanise support since survival > most things, so if they say they be stamping out corruption and looking forward to X-Z, more than happy to let them try to continue that work.
Russia, the more and more I see and hear of them the more it screams proxy state on a precipice.

Now sure my focus back in ze day was IT, but my second was actually revolutionary history with focus to Russia and China as the two were linked pre and during WW1 as Russia were th eones advising and providing things to Maos group in the end, it's almost like Russia, the Russia today and the "new" not soviet curtain mob is flying by seat of pants to hold the line as the minute they are found out to be the snake oil salesmen at the top of a pyramid scheme AND the people get wise to it, they're cactus.

So they invade the closest thing to be all 'look at that other mob, aren't they dastardly, didn't they cause these calamities, better go beat the smaller kid up" and they do, cause it's distracting. You can only go so far to hold so many parades about new hardware, even if you can't really manufacture them, or maintain them, actively display them, use them efficiently, improve them... but aren't they pretty and don't they look tough and go grr? Is a smokescreen, bigger North Korea with a docile population.

My thoughts on the Israel/Palestine conflict can be summed up in one word: clusterf-

That region has so many hands in so many pockets that also are filled with so many different scents of urine it's not funny, and they're all pining for small parcels or "you looked at me funny / I don't like your ideas" lets fight now type instances it'd be entertaining in the staring matches if it wasn't all stabby pew pew. or in Irans woods all "Ima gunna break it just kidding wait it's on fire, just joking, please don't hurt yourself on my trap card" as they fail at being succinct at all in trying playing all sides in the region to piss everyone off regardless.

As I said, clusterf-.

Odds on: Medvedev is the new Socrates and Russia nukes itself as "whoopsie, wrong button", or Medvedev passes out, headdesks a specific keystroke and annexes a balti state, wakes up, totally meant it. Russia fractures like Africa in aftermath.

Words are Russia is buying military stock with gold movement, not hard cash. That's gotta sting their ongoing efforts at beating up neighbouring countries and Syria, Africa and the Georgian and Moldovan area at present. They might have to actually try and use siberia properly....

Yep it’s a very exciting space. Progressing so much faster than I thought we’d see in Aus. I didn’t realise until talking with these doctors that all GP’s can prescribe MC, they just never do for obvious reasons * cough * kickbacks.

Their clinic is ready for Psylocybin and MDMA therapies when approved, will be cost prohibitive for many early days but should come back fairly quickly.

A mate rang a place that advertised on radio and within 2 weeks was getting oil mailed out. Fixed his chronic pain somewhat but he’s stoned off his ****, he’s not had a heap of follow up or supervision. He’s hard to communicate with since. Others I know swear by it.

Yeah that’ll be a dodgy joint, it is still illegal to advertise as a “marijuana clinic”, nor are you supposed to get high lol - although inevitably everyone tests the limits.

Took 2ml home alone once (usually dosed 0.2ml) and was falling through my mattress when I heard something outside. I could see a bloke on an electric hire scooter yanking on my car’s side mirror, was too high to do anything let alone know if he was real.
Upon inspection the next morning, he was real 😂

Interesting read Did The West Promise Moscow That NATO Would Not Expand? Well, It's Complicated.
Lots of hearsay like in all things of this nature, but follows the themes you’ve mentioned Joff.
Interesting that Gorba went back on his original statement, wonder what was at play there.
F*ck it is complicated, too much for my lil brain.

Yeah the problem with "do your own research" in geopolitics is there's literally zero way of finding any sort of ground truth. Everything you hear from all sides is propaganda either state-sponsored or tendentious from other orgs.

Imo the only logical thing to do personally is just ignore it, let it all flow past like sticks in a stream, focus on things closer to home.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread