Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Good on you Verdun! I agree with all of your post with the exception of a stadium at that site. We should have had a team decades ago, need a stadium, just not there, and we will be proud of our Devils team because you can guarantee we'll have a red hot go!!

Anyway, that part of the process is done now. Based on this government's performance for the past decade we can look forward to a series of monumental, hilarious, previously unthinkable stuff ups during construction. I'm not wishing for it, and don't want it to happen but the precedents are pretty clearly established and there are no visible signs of any change in approach or application.

Reckon the site is perfect - will invigorate the waterfront and part of the negotiations of one of the independents included transport infrastructure.

It is being built close to the cbd (walking distance)on a site that previously had sewerage works and nothing was happening, that will change.

Good on you Verdun! I agree with all of your post with the exception of a stadium at that site. We should have had a team decades ago, need a stadium, just not there, and we will be proud of our Devils team because you can guarantee we'll have a red hot go!!

Anyway, that part of the process is done now. Based on this government's performance for the past decade we can look forward to a series of monumental, hilarious, previously unthinkable stuff ups during construction. I'm not wishing for it, and don't want it to happen but the precedents are pretty clearly established and there are no visible signs of any change in approach or application.
I was told two things yesterday from a very good source.

The first was Tassie will struggle to get the stadium built due to the Bribane Olympics. Apparently a lot of big players are already committed. I assume that was a reference to whatever time frame they have so time equals cost overruns.

The second was the next license with be a third Queensland team, forget any talk of the NT it is a no go.

Looks like the Socceroos have done ok in the World Cup draw. USA from Pot 1, Paraguay from Pot 3, and then one of Turkiye, Romania, Slovakia or Kosovo from Pot 4.

Really good for us.

That's why people who are playing with a normal sort of input, and not a distorted sound, probably don't get any advantage over solid state.
The kind of thing you can get with a tube amp, is a clean signal in general, but then a bit of soft distortion when you hit the strings a bit harder, if you set it up that way.

It strikes me as kind of weird that someone like Keith Urban would go for tube amps, while Dave Gilmour, Metallica, and plenty of others are happy with Solid State.
Plenty of tube amps with awesome cleans, but the Metallica thing is profilers that have sampled their tube amps (Diesel VH4 & modded Mesa Triaxis for Hetfield rhythm tone) and the profiler feeds front of house direct and onstage monitors is now the profiler through through a solid state power amp (I think Matrix is the brand, but don't quote me). Saw a rig run-through of their set up for the current run they're doing, and was genuinely surprised by the power amps. But they weigh less, are more reliable than tube and more consistent in their sound.....

A lot of touring pro's have switched on to profilers so they don't have to haul their vintage tube amps around the world getting beaten to hell..........

The other thing that seems to be slowly gaining traction with touring musos is the updated modular system by Synergy, where the preamps are modules that can be swapped out and they are housed in single rack unit frame that holds two modules, and you can chain up multiple racks, so can have a dozen different tube amps in your rig if you wanted it.

I'm a big fan of Synergy and my wife got me their Mesa Dual Rectifier module for Christmas (meaning I bought it for myself and she will wrap it and put it under our tree... ;)).......

Their Deizel VH4 module is off the charts good, and so is the Mesa Mk2C module. Got a Fryette Pitbull Ultra lead and a JCM 800 module that are both very good and a Friedman I use for cleans that is very impressive......

Reckon the site is perfect - will invigorate the waterfront and part of the negotiations of one of the independents included transport infrastructure.

It is being built close to the cbd (walking distance)on a site that previously had sewerage works and nothing was happening, that will change.
So it used to be a shit site, but won't be anymore?

What the **** went on at the Lady Gaga Concert. My daughter was just telling me how they got there and had to walk multiple blocks and the end of the queue was somewhere up around flagstaff.

Concert management said there was nothing wrong, just a lot of people needing to arrive and admitted....I call bullshit. Yeah it held more than the footy, but that stadium has often seated 45 000 without drama. And 60 000 is standard fare for the MCG. They ****ed up and won't admit it.

Edit:
They said it was due to everyone presenting at the same gate. But it was management that specified which gate they had to go to, so that was entirely the fault of managment.

There were entry delays due to Lady Gaga's diva'ish list of things that were not permitted, which went beyond the normal drugs, booze and weapons. I suspect that perhaps the inspections were lessened when they realized they had to get the line moving.

How can professionals be such amateurs?

Amazing that isn’t it, when you adapt your style of play to suit where the match is at.

Can’t always play at 5 runs an over.

Sometimes it’s about gritting your teeth and grinding things out.

Bazball has its merit - be aggressive, take the game on, enjoy & have fun - but it’s a test for a reason.

The money people aren't gonna be happy with this pommiebastard capitulation 😄 What's that, two test matches for a total of five days , with (potentially) five days lost. That's big moolah 😵‍💫
The ratings are enourmous too, channel 7 will be cursing.

England playing it perfectly in The Ashes. The trap is laid and we have you right where we want you. Give you an easy start so you will become complacent, then we strike. It's genius really; Napoleon himself would be astonished by the battle strategy. The look on your faces when we win the next three tests....

So for those of you who have worn yourself raw watching replays may i suggest you take a look at the "Educators " on Nexflix , Kiwi series and very funny .

For those sensitive little fellows best stick to replays but its worth a look for light hearted laugh

Its not a state of origin team , you will be lucky if you have 6 on the list from Tassie

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread