Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Haha, it's no big deal really. We've been together going onto 10 years now. It's one of those "eventually when we've both settled into our careers, we'll think about it." We've sat down and spoken about it.

I guess, if it's not a point of obsession it's not so bad.

Have a lot of admiration for my mother and step-father, who got married in 2011 after a brief 28-year courtship. That and one gloriously expensive Greek wedding were the two I've truly enjoyed.

I guess, if it's not a point of obsession it's not so bad.

Have a lot of admiration for my mother and step-father, who got married in 2011 after a brief 28-year courtship. That and one gloriously expensive Greek wedding were the two I've truly enjoyed.

My mate is getting married to what I can only describe as a featureless statue, and he is spending 50k on it. He has known her a year and a half. His mates can see it's a bad decision, his parents can see it's a bad decision but you just cant convince him otherwise. He's got conviction that's for sure, for someone who is only 23.

Problem is, he earns 70k a year, and she doesn't work. She can't get a job because she doesn't interview well. She also doesn't have her licence because she is too skittish to drive. She can't even claim centrelink because he earns too much and they are de facto (he bought a house for them). He cries to me all the time about how he has to foot the bill for everything and how she can't get a job but what am I honestly meant to say?

I've been asked to be the best man, but I really, really...I dunno man, I don't even know what to say, and I usually as you know, have a shitload to say.

Thankfully, miss feel and I are both happy to have something with like 30 or so people. She wants to have the reception at the alberton or AO function rooms, haha.

What does she actually do? Like... ever? Do you know?

It's one of those weird ones where you genuinely don't know. I've spent a fair bit of time at my mates place, and I reckon I've heard her speak once. We know she has an obsession with harry potter and twilight, and I literally tried to converse with her about harry potter, and she just doesn't reciprocate. I was trying to talk to her about a trip that my mate had paid for her to go on, to sydney for some harry potter convention. I don't even know any more man. One time my mates dad was over their house doing a pile of painting for them, and she didn't speak to him once, or even offer him a coffee or some lunch. Just made herself lunch and then went back into her room.

She won't even talk to miss feel either.

My mate is getting married to what I can only describe as a featureless statue, and he is spending 50k on it. He has known her a year and a half. His mates can see it's a bad decision, his parents can see it's a bad decision but you just cant convince him otherwise. He's got conviction that's for sure, for someone who is only 23.

Problem is, he earns 70k a year, and she doesn't work. She can't get a job because she doesn't interview well. She also doesn't have her licence because she is too skittish to drive. She can't even claim centrelink because he earns too much and they are de facto (he bought a house for them). He cries to me all the time about how he has to foot the bill for everything and how she can't get a job but what am I honestly meant to say?

I've been asked to be the best man, but I really, really...I dunno man, I don't even know what to say, and I usually as you know, have a shitload to say.

Thankfully, miss feel and I are both happy to have something with like 30 or so people. She wants to have the reception at the alberton or AO function rooms, haha.

As always...go with the flow. It's his choice, but if it fails let him know you understand, but never tell them what you think until after it happens...never before

It's one of those weird ones where you genuinely don't know. I've spent a fair bit of time at my mates place, and I reckon I've heard her speak once. We know she has an obsession with harry potter and twilight, and I literally tried to converse with her about harry potter, and she just doesn't reciprocate. I was trying to talk to her about a trip that my mate had paid for her to go on, to sydney for some harry potter convention. I don't even know any more man. One time my mates dad was over their house doing a pile of painting for them, and she didn't speak to him once, or even offer him a coffee or some lunch. Just made herself lunch and then went back into her room.

Look, I don't want to go over the top, but... I think you should definitely kill her in her sleep. It's a win-win. Except for her, I guess.

Ummm, after reading this...disregard my earlier advice, grab your mate...and run like hell....get him to safety

While I've been up late studying for uni, he's been spamming me on facebook in the middle of the night when he has to be up at like 5am for work (he works 50+ hour weeks at a minimum), that she is having weird nightmares and keeping him awake. When she gets sick its the end of the world and she keeps him awake all night.

It's all very terrible, really. The guy in the last year or so has gotten severe kidney stones which he has worked through looking as pale as a ghost at work and clearly in pain, he refuses to take the time off to get them surgically removed (they are too big to pass naturally). Has lost most of his hair, and is now having headspins on a regular basis.

I'm genuinely worried for him, he works too hard and too many hours and then spends all that money on her, and I'm yet to see her be grateful or show any emotion at all. I've tried to get him into footy, gaming, road tripping, fishing. All sorts of things, but the guy just doesn't have an interest in anything besides work, no matter how hard or I or others try. 7 days a week hes up at 5am for work, asleep by 8pm. While his misses sits on the couch all day.

While I've been up late studying for uni, he's been spamming me on facebook in the middle of the night when he has to be up at like 5am for work (he works 50+ hour weeks at a minimum), that she is having weird nightmares and keeping him awake. When she gets sick its the end of the world and she keeps him awake all night.

It's all very terrible, really. The guy in the last year or so has gotten severe kidney stones which he has worked through looking as pale as a ghost at work and clearly in pain, he refuses to take the time off to get them surgically removed (they are too big to pass naturally). Has lost most of his hair, and is now having headspins on a regular basis.

I'm genuinely worried for him, he works too hard and too many hours and then spends all that money on her, and I'm yet to see her be grateful or show any emotion at all. I've tried to get him into footy, gaming, road tripping, fishing. All sorts of things, but the guy just doesn't have an interest in anything besides work, no matter how hard or I or others try. 7 days a week hes up at 5am for work, asleep by 8pm. While his misses sits on the couch all day.

Nah, that's just all wrong. That's not love, that's witchcraft. She's sucking the life out of him. Do his family worry? Has he got any close siblings?

His parents worry but are too kind to say anything. He isn't overly close with his siblings other than his parents.

A pity. A strong woman, like a mother or sister could deal with her, but they would have to be immediate family or he would defend her

If this was my mate I would get him to honestly ask himself would this girl stay with him if he had no job....

I've been through all of that with him, but it's like watching a train wreck in uber slow motion.

Ouch.....

Does he have trouble getting women?......

Its really the only woman he's known, he really doesn't know any better. He doesn't socialise outside of work at all because a) I think I'm his only friend and b) he works himself to exhaustion.

He really isn't a weird guy or anything like that, he is simply obsessive about his job, to the point he doesn't show interest in anything outside of his job and his other half.

I am all for being a gentleman but women who pull their equal rights bulls*** on me......better be pulling the other 50%

Careful, I got called a misogynist earlier for disliking my female siblings and saying that you don't need to understand women, you just need to know how to work with them.

Its really the only woman he's known, he really doesn't know any better. He doesn't socialise outside of work at all because a) I think I'm his only friend and b) he works himself to exhaustion.

He really isn't a weird guy or anything like that, he is simply obsessive about his job, to the point he doesn't show interest in anything outside of his job and his other half.
Ahhh that sucks man.....

I've been through all of that with him, but it's like watching a train wreck in uber slow motion.

I've actually known people who have had mates or rellies in a similar position and you can't get through to the bloke, they have to see for themselves and it always turns out bad. The women involved have complete control over the bloke and any helpful advice is treated as an attack of the woman by the bloke and he gets defensive. They become reclusive and make new friends that the woman chooses, the bloke becomes isolated from former friends and family

Careful, I got called a misogynist earlier for disliking my female siblings and saying that you don't need to understand women, you just need to know how to work with them.
Equal rights means 50/50 some women don't understand it

I have no dramas being the bread winners success and all that jazz more power to them....I just cant stand the women you describe in your friends story