Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I would've maimed for that OP!
They were nigh on impossible to get when the Transformers first came out. I reckon Mums were maiming each other to get them when they first released. I remember empty shelves minutes after stores opened. The first one I got was a car that I never ever saw on the cartoon, but I treasured it like a first born.

If any if the youger posters on here got their Yr 12 results today, I hope your wishes came true. :thumbsu:

I'd like to second that but also add

ATAR is just a number
You want something bad enough and willing to work hard enough there is always a pathway

True. Also getting into uni is easier after you're 21. And more fun.

Just for something a little bit different.. Just unpacked these bad boys from my childhood. Complete in box!!

View attachment 201019 View attachment 201020

Optimus Prime brings back memories - we had to buy three of them because there was no way any us three brothers were going to share it...

Had them all - Omega Supreme, Ultra Magnus, Soundwave (x3)...good times, good times :)

Hell, I just remember marks - out of 100, each subject out of 20 - getting scaled for uni entry.

IIRC, you got a bonus mark or two for maths and sciences.

And dropped a mark or two for English and history and shit...

I worked hard at school and got a good TER, then crashed out of uni because I had no work ethic, and now work in a field where finishing school is recommended but not a requirement and I love my job and get paid well and i'm having a great time.
Good if you die in your 30s. I had a similar story except we called it Matric. However I lived on and life has since demanded that over 4.5 years I do two separate work-based courses (which would probably be TAFE now). Later a Bachelors degree. And Fos help me I'm now looking at doing a Masters in 2016/17. You can run but you can't hide.

Ironic, considering El_Scorcho's actual profession ;)

Was at a mates place today in Brighton, and watched a nice black BMW drive up, and who should get out, shirtless to go a swim? None other than Hammer himself... I was starting to froth at the mouth a little.

haha hammer loves it!!

Yeah nah i'll be right :) I'll continue to do training as part of my work if I want to advance through, but I am and will continue to be very comfortable if I choose to never study again.

I appreciate there aren't many careers where I could get away with this, but it's part of why I chose the field I did.

Didn't care much for school, had plan to get a job I really wanted (the dream job!), didn't get in, worked a job I hated for 7 years and was a number and not a name. Started an apprenticeship 3 years ago, as what was initially a fall back option, but have since ended up enjoying it quite a lot (more so the company, small family business where everyone has a name) and will be happy to do It the rest of my life, it's still not the dream job. But it's something where I actually enjoy going to work.

This is the job market now.

job-search-circle.jpg

I know a few people who have sat on centrelink for years, not because they were dope smoking bludgers but because there are no jobs out there and what jobs there are you need an obscene amount of experience and qualifications.

So my mum rang the nursing home where her dad was tonight to confirm he died. He did.

The staff there sound lovely, they really took to him, it sounds as if his current family dropped him off and rarely visited, and he spent most of the time talking about how he loves his family in Broken Hill and wanted to go back there, which is a double edged sword. Now mum feels crap for not making more effort to see him in the last 30 years, but ironically he was treated better in the home than he was at home. The current family didn't even have a funeral or proper burial.

Gee life can be a real shitcampaigner sometimes. I wish a got know him better, he sounds like an interesting man. Not a perfect man, but interesting. One of the reasons he left town was his stepson shot a kid, more like chased out actually. Ah well.