Something to do with Jeezuswhat was the reasoning behind stores like Harvey Norman being allowed to sell furniture on a Sunday but not electrical?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Something to do with Jeezuswhat was the reasoning behind stores like Harvey Norman being allowed to sell furniture on a Sunday but not electrical?
Jesus was a chippy not a sparky.what was the reasoning behind stores like Harvey Norman being allowed to sell furniture on a Sunday but not electrical?
Titus O'Reilly is doing an AMA on Reddit on Tuesday, what should we ask him?
Under the SA Shop Trading Hours Act shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories have been allowed to trade on Sundays since the 1970's but shops selling other goods were not. There is bound to be some very specific Souf Strayan logic behind the distinction but I have no idea what it is.what was the reasoning behind stores like Harvey Norman being allowed to sell furniture on a Sunday but not electrical?
Titus O'Reilly is doing an AMA on Reddit on Tuesday, what should we ask him?
Emergency DIY supplies vs Luxury itemsUnder the SA Shop Trading Hours Act shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories have been allowed to trade on Sundays since the 1970's but shops selling other goods were not. There is bound to be some very specific Souf Strayan logic behind the distinction but I have no idea what it is.
So you can't buy a radio (luxury item) to listen for weather/fire warnings when an emergency is imminent but you can buy a chesterfield (emergency DIY supplies) to sit on to watch your house blow away/burn down.Emergency DIY supplies vs Luxury items

If you are buying a radio to listen to that day's warning, then you have already heard the warning as that is why you are buying a radio.So you can't buy a radio (luxury item) to listen for weather/fire warnings when an emergency is imminent but you can buy a chesterfield (emergency DIY supplies) to sit on to watch your house blow away/burn down.![]()
I read the advice from the government to listen for further (hourly) updates/warnings on the radio in the morning's newspaper. Never lived in a cyclone prone area?If you are buying a radio to listen to that day's warning, then you have already heard the warning as that is why you are buying a radio.
I'm kidding mate, I don't really care.I read the advice from the government to listen for further (hourly) updates/warnings on the radio in the morning's newspaper. Never lived in a cyclone prone area?
I hear that reading a newspaper during a cyclone can be tricky.I read the advice from the government to listen for further (hourly) updates/warnings on the radio in the morning's newspaper. Never lived in a cyclone prone area?
Under the SA Shop Trading Hours Act shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories have been allowed to trade on Sundays since the 1970's but shops selling other goods were not. There is bound to be some very specific Souf Strayan logic behind the distinction but I have no idea what it is.
My post was in response to a question as to why it had been disallowed in the past. The act was amended some time ago to allow general Sunday trading in SA.LOL. As Aldi sell all of the above periodically (and seemingly totally randomly), could make enforcement interesting. Paint and motorcycle helmets are OK but not business shirts? BTW for anyone who's not shopped at Aldi before, it is definitely worth it. They do two levels of most items and the higher of the two in almost all cases we've tried is as good as - in some cases better than - the branded stuff, and heaps (up to 40%) cheaper than the other supermarkets whose names I forget right now. They also sell liquor in ours, apparently the law on that in the ACT changed ages ago.
Jesus was a chippy not a sparky.
Don't tell the AmishHis dad was a sparky though. ........
Don't tell the Amish
Is thatthatone of the many campaigners off channel 7?
got fed up with the trade when nails and wood were used on ankles and wrists, doesn't pay to upset customers who get crossJesus was a chippy not a sparky.

His dad was a sparky though.
"Let there be light"

"Titus. Given that any appeals of WADA's decision has to be made within 30 days of that decision, and made in Switzerland in either German or French, was James Hird's year of studying in France wasted?"Titus O'Reilly is doing an AMA on Reddit on Tuesday, what should we ask him?
got fed up with the trade when nails and wood were used on ankles and wrists, doesn't pay to upset customers who get cross![]()
New ZepplinWhat's an NZ?