Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

oregon is ******* outrageously beautiful, even when you hit the mall you're parking at the base of a hill loaded with old, old trees

Until somebody draws First Blood...

images

And a few other people who if i mention i'll probably get banned.

Since mum passed away last month, it's been one kick in the gut after another. :mad:

Try contacting your local MP and see if or what they can do for you.

Na, Leon Byner. He loves that shit. I'm sure they'll be some type of ombudsman who can sort it.

The Housing trust can burn in ******* hell, long story short, i don't like to admit that i lived with my mum in a housing trust house, mum passed away last month, the trust says they are coming around today to sign a new lease, got a phone call saying they can't do it and we have 12 weeks to find a new house.

Been living here in this house for 18 ******* years, tried to do everything above board and just get kicked in the guts for it, the campaigner on the phone didn't even have the balls to say that shit to my face.

Sorry to hear about your mum.
But you should get in contact with your local MP and give the guys who do the late night talk back stuff on 5AA a call, they are usually good with that sort of thing and getting outcomes for people that the system decides to shit on.

oregon is ******* outrageously beautiful, even when you hit the mall you're parking at the base of a hill loaded with old, old trees

Awesome place - courtesy of work get to spend 1 month of the year there. Just a touch greener than Dubai.
Crater Lake is nice, also Multnomah Falls is worth a look.

Crater Lake is tomorrow then looping back up to Portland

Sorry to hear about your mum.
But you should get in contact with your local MP and give the guys who do the late night talk back stuff on 5AA a call, they are usually good with that sort of thing and getting outcomes for people that the system decides to shit on.

Thanks for the advice, it's not the system that is shitting on us, it was the dumbarse at the housing trust who on late friday afternoon phoned us saying that everything is ok and she'll be over tuesday (today) to bring the paperwork... cue today she phones us up smack on the time she was supposed to rock up and told us because we don't qualify for category 1 we can't stay, even though this had been our home for 18 years.

Yes i am absolutely ropeable, but also ultimately betrayed.

How many times average household income it takes to buy an average house/unit of accommodation in Oz captial cities over the last 35 years.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-25/housing-costs-in-australia-second-only-to-hong-kong/7111490
Surging house prices in Sydney and Melbourne have helped keep Australia near the top of an annual list of the world's least affordable countries.

Key points:
  • The typical Australian house costs 5.6 times the median household income
  • Only Hong Kong (19) is less affordable; with New Zealand (5.2) and the UK (5.1) close behind Australia
  • Sydney is the second least affordable city in the world, with prices 12.2 times incomes
Australia is second only to Hong Kong for housing costs, with the Asian banking hub occupying a unique position given its high-income elite, miniscule size and proximity to mainland China.

Demographia's annual survey of property markets in eight countries (and one "special administrative region" within China - Hong Kong) shows the typical Australian house costs 5.6 times the median household income.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-25/housing-costs-in-australia-second-only-to-hong-kong/7111490

7111708-1x1-940x940.jpg

Crater Lake is tomorrow then looping back up to Portland

Not sure what you're into but lots of nice pubs and beer . I'm told that various plant materials are now very available (not my thing.....).
Heaps of factory outlets in a place called Woodburn about 30 miles south.
Mt Hood also good

How many times average household income it takes to buy an average house/unit of accommodation in Oz captial cities over the last 35 years.

Surging house prices in Sydney and Melbourne have helped keep Australia near the top of an annual list of the world's least affordable countries.

Key points:
  • The typical Australian house costs 5.6 times the median household income
  • Only Hong Kong (19) is less affordable; with New Zealand (5.2) and the UK (5.1) close behind Australia
  • Sydney is the second least affordable city in the world, with prices 12.2 times incomes
Australia is second only to Hong Kong for housing costs, with the Asian banking hub occupying a unique position given its high-income elite, miniscule size and proximity to mainland China.

Demographia's annual survey of property markets in eight countries (and one "special administrative region" within China - Hong Kong) shows the typical Australian house costs 5.6 times the median household income.

7111708-1x1-940x940.jpg

In Vancouver they're having a colossal boom in housing prices. You can't read a paper/click a Canadian news website without tripping over a story about the cost of housing in Vancouver. Of course you could live out in the 'burbs, and commute like the rest of the world does.

But mainland Chinese investors are buying up homes and leaving them vacant. They prefer Vancouver real estate over gold. It's crazy.

http://bc.ctvnews.ca/vancouver-house-prices-jump-30-9-per-cent-in-1-year-1.2780003

I'm not sure if my Canadian mate lives in Vancouver, I'll find out.

He lived in an Adelaide basement power levelling with his gamer crew so he could afford to move to Canada to live with some bird he met over the net. It was always known he earned good money but I'm thinking just how much did he earn in that line of work.

In Vancouver they're having a colossal boom in housing prices. You can't read a paper/click a Canadian news website without tripping over a story about the cost of housing in Vancouver. Of course you could live out in the 'burbs, and commute like the rest of the world does.

But mainland Chinese investors are buying up homes and leaving them vacant. They prefer Vancouver real estate over gold. It's crazy.

http://bc.ctvnews.ca/vancouver-house-prices-jump-30-9-per-cent-in-1-year-1.2780003

I can't remember if it was when I went thru Vancouver in 1989 or 1991, but in the run up to the Hong Kong handover to the Chinese on 1st July 1997, the Hong Kong residents were fleeing to Vancouver to get a Canadian passports and they were dubbed the Yacht people by the locals, and the rest of Canada dubbed it Hongcouver. The Australian government weren't as welcoming to the Yatch people and handing out passports as the Canucks were back then, despite them being the rich ones and the government having a pro business visa at the time.

I have heard from Canadian mates that they just bring in $$$ to buy houses but dont really invest in the local economy. Is that figure quoted in the tweet for just the City of Vancouver (600k) or Greater Vancouver ie Richmond, New Westminister, Burnaby, North Vancouver etc (2.3mil)?? Sydney's would be the average for great Sydney ie the Sydney Basin area. The equivalent area as the City of Vancouver ie eastern suburbs, south eastern suburbs down to the inner west, lower north shore, I reckon would be a lot higher average.

I have a mate who brought a solid but tired 50 year old 3 bedroom house, backyard, garage all on maybe 500-550 square metre block in Kingsgrove about 18kms SW from Sydney CBD and about 6kms W of the airport in mid 2012 for $730k when RBA cash rate was 3.5% (now 2.0%). He is about a 1km walk to a train station and 2kms to the M5 Motorway that leads all the way into the CBD. He said he was noticing houses in his price range were going up about $10k a month in early 2012 as the RBA dropped their cash rate. He said he lucked out got in at the right time and found a suburb that had more newly dead than newly wed or newly born residents, he has spent bugger all on it, just putting in a new kitchen, new carpet and rewired a lot of it and said he could have sold it for $1.3mil before Christmas. He knows he has lucked out big time getting in when he did and said it is just ridiculous what has happened the last 18 months of the 3.5 years he has lived there.

Not sure what you're into but lots of nice pubs and beer . I'm told that various plant materials are now very available (not my thing.....).
Heaps of factory outlets in a place called Woodburn about 30 miles south.
Mt Hood also good

Had a ball with all the craft breweries and recently legal recreational ganja. Not to mention all the stripclubs. Ah Portland......

Vince Focarelli likes manbags lol, oh yea kidnap & assault charges dropped after alleged victim refuses to testify :rolleyes: