Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Trust me, looking at hot cheerleaders does not make up for your team sucking for years.

Throw those words around a bit, with a small addition here & there, we'd have no problems attracting the cream of the AFL crop. ... ;)

How much would it cost for PAFC to get actual good cheerleader babes in for all our home games?

In Sydney, there are plenty of girls who are models or want to be or want to appear in mens magazines like Ralph, Zoo, People etc. and when Inside Sport used to have the girls on the cover and have the annual calander and even the playboy type mags, are NRL cheerleaders. They see it as way to get exposure. Jennifer Hawkins went from Newcastle Knights cheerleader to model to Miss Australia to Miss Universe. Since then a lot of girls want to follow her path to get the lucky break.

I have an mate - from uni and footy days who is the Chief Financial Officer for the Jim Beam Group of alcohol products for Asia Pacific. He says a few of the Jim Beam promo girls double up as NRL cheerleaders. I keep telling him that when I'm back in Sydney he has to organise Friday night drinks for a group of us that all played footy together in Adelaide, at a pub where the girls are working that night. But he seems to be overseas whenever I'm in town.

Another mate from Brizvegas and the Gold Coast has gone out for years ( on again off again type relationship) with the lady who owns the promo/events company that looks after the Brisbane Bronco cheerleaders, the Qld Reds cheerleaders and the Gold Coast Indy/V8 car race grid girls for over a decade. Once again a lot of them are models looking for a big break especially the Bronco girls who get a lot of Friday night games which where the big TV rating game, when there was only one game on, and even now when there are two Friday night games it's still a big rating game.

She told the girls to raunch it up for a Queensland Reds game back in 2006. They shook their booties to raunchy dance tracks, and only ran onto the ground and danced if a try was scored, no pom poms, no cheerleading. They got the desired result as all the Sunday sports shows had a segment on the girls and in the papers over the next few days. They were asked to tone it down by the ARU after that performance.

I asked her about the AFL and she said they were arrogant pricks and she didn't do any work for the AFL as a result of them not really being interested and being so difficult about what they would allow. She said she had no problem like that with the NRL and ARU and didn't go back trying to get work with the AFL. I reckon that was either late 2006 or when Port played Brisbane in 2007 ( the Motlop ridiculous 50m checkie game) when I stayed with my mate in Brisbane.

Cheers REH

I reckon i could go around with my own contacts, offer the job out and i could get a squad of 12 18-20yo girls trying to get something on their resume that will help them get into acting/modelling

But if the AFL are pricks they're pricks.

**** the Dallas Cowboys. Bloody bunch of stoopids! It's terrible following three teams in three different sports and having them all suck.
New England :D:thumbsu:

Wembley Stadium was amazeballs. Probably the best I've been to. The game had a real good buzz to it as well.

Who are you? How haven you been on here so long with so many posts and i have no idea who you are?
You obviously don't pay much attention ;)

Warne, Merv (Hughes), Pat Cash - all former Victorian sportsmen who represented Australia, who are pains in the backside in retirement.

Could probably put Mark Philippoussis in there too.

Why do we serve hot food on porcelain /ceramic plates that immediately try to suck out the heat?

Put the plates in the oven first :thumbsu:

Well yes, there are workarounds, but you have to wonder why we are using workarounds for everyday stuff that everyone does. This is the future!

I mean, you get those fancy flexible plasticky carbonwhatsit muffin trays and stuff that stay pretty temperature neutral for their environment, maybe a more rigid version of that could be used for plates/bowls with just a thin hard surface where the food goes so that you don't cut through it.

And yes, I acknowledge that people will still use heavy cold plates (or heavy hot over-heated plates) regardless. It just seems odd to me.