Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I just had a random thought.

I think modern players generally have to execute under pressure far more often.

I'd also argue that while the best players had skills comparable to what we see today, the 18th most skillful player in a team would be far behind the 18th most skillful player today.
Not sure how far we're going back here, but I reckon I'd probably prefer Wayne Mahney, Adrian Settre, Daisy Borlase or Daryl Chynoweth....to Matt Thomas :cool:

Get back to me when it exceeds my post count. In about October?

Not sure how far we're going back here, but I reckon I'd probably prefer Wayne Mahney, Adrian Settre, Daisy Borlase or Daryl Chynoweth....to Matt Thomas :cool:

in terms of influence on games I won't disagree but in terms of the basic skills of football under pressure, I'd think you'd be surprised.

the skill level of the game has increased dramatically.

Matt Thomas probably would've been a fantastic player in 1980's SANFL.

Just thought id quote the first post in this thread.

All hail gp for creating such a magnificent thread.

Yes indeed.

Well done to gopower. I only just discovered this thread myself, can't believe I missed it!

efa......

I know the comment is made in fun but Matt Thomas when he plays for Norwood is an exceptional contributor week in week out. His form with Norwood was every bit as good as Nick Lower's and Lower nearly won a Magarey Medal. That neither of them can cement an AFL spot says something about the gap from top level SANFL form to even being an average contributor at AFL

You know me Frodo I never kid around.

SANFL 80's was better and tougher than 00 & 10's SANFL so I might actually be right.... That gap from the 80's is now a gaping chasm.

You know me Frodo I never kid around.

SANFL 80's was better and tougher than 00 & 10's SANFL so I might actually be right.... That gap from the 80's is now a gaping chasm.

Thomas is big, strong, tough and surprisingly skilled at SANFL level now, he would have been a very good footballer back then. Funny, this sort of discussion is usually held the other way around. ;)

Yes it is :)

I'm a fan of Thomas as I am of all our players but he just doesn't do enough, often enough for a player of his size, age and experience.

Who would you drop from the 1980, 81, 88 or 89 Premiership sides for him?

You could find a spot I'm sure in the 83 or 85 sides but when we were up and about.......

The national media goes a bit nuts when Melbourne or Sydney get a hot day.

You reckon the media goes nuts try the locals.

I haven't heard this much carry on about weather since Dorothy sprinkled a bit of rain water on the wicked witch of the west.

Yes it is :)

I'm a fan of Thomas as I am of all our players but he just doesn't do enough, often enough for a player of his size, age and experience.

Who would you drop from the 1980, 81, 88 or 89 Premiership sides for him?

You could fnid a spot I'm sure in the 83 or 85 sides but when we were up and about.......

Sure at AFL level he doesn't, but you posted that he would be good once a year at SANFL level. That's clearly not the case and the point I was making.

I'm not going to get into a hypothetical about who he would replace in premiership sides as I find that disrespectful to guys who are Port Adelaide heroes. But I won't over-mythologise the past and suggest he couldn't make those sides. After all in 1980 Jack Cahill pulled Tony Hannan out of the Spencer Gulf Football League to play in a Grand Final in one of the most dominant football sides in SANFL history.

Sure at AFL level he doesn't, but you posted that he would be good once a year at SANFL level. That's clearly not the case and the point I was making.

I'm not going to get into a hypothetical about who he would replace in premiership sides as I find that disrespectful to guys who are Port Adelaide heroes. But I won't over-mythologise the past and suggest he couldn't make those sides. After all in 1980 Jack Cahill pulled Tony Hannan out of the Spencer Gulf Football League to play in a Grand Final in one of the most dominant football sides in SANFL history.

See there you again using facts against my hypotheticals.

Wont win you an argument in this thread Frodo, no way no how.

Eddie Dingle/Tony Hannan 1 Ford Fairlane/Matty Thomas 0.

See there you again using facts against my hypotheticals.

Wont win you an argument in this thread Frodo, no way no how.

Eddie Dingle/Tony Hannan 1 Ford Fairlane/Matty Thomas 0.

I won't continue this for fear of attracting Dalphonso and his VFL a million times >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> than SANFL argument. ;)

For some reason I was Googling ol' mate Wanganeen and came across this article/interview. It left me fretting.

http://www.theweeklyreview.com.au/well-read-article-display/Baby-Bomber-comes-home/5397

Wanganeen’s first marriage ended in 2009 and he has two children, Mia, 12, and Tex, nine. “My young boy Tex ran out through the Essendon banner as a mascot,” he says. And he adds, temptingly for Essendon fans: “He qualifies father-son.”

http://www.theweeklyreview.com.au/well-read-article-display/Baby-Bomber-comes-home/5397

Yeah, he qualifies for both, but only one (Essendon) seems to be doing all it can to ensure he chooses them should the opportunity arise.

Yeah, I knew he was eligible for both, but it's the fact that Gavin mentions him being father-son in an interview about Essendon. If we miss out on Tex, after he grew up in Adelaide and we have so much more access to him, then that's inexcusable.

You'd think Port would have to fold if Essendon were any chance of getting Tex. I'm sure we'll be seeing Tex around the club a lot more if he decides to pick up footy. Seemed quite keen on golf if I'm not mistaken. Then again, he was only 4-5 at the time!

I know it's a long way out still, but a guy I sit with at the footy told me that his son played a game against Tex or something like that (Gav was on goal umpire duty that day too) and that even though it was at a young level, Tex was far and away the best player out there. So hopefully that continues and he does become an amazing prospect.

Thing Matt Thomas is good at: Would it be handy in 1980's SANFL?

Winning contested ball: Yep, much more contested style back then
Laying hard tackles: See above
Unselfish football, e.g. blocks/shepherds: Always handy, but especially handy in a contest
Hurting people: A lot easier to do in the 1980's than it is in AD's AFL/basketball hybrid.

Thing Matt Thomas is bad at: Would it be less important in 1980's SANFL?

Winning outside ball: Not as big a deal due to the more contested style
Disposal: Matt's disposal isn't awful, it's his decision making that's the main problem. But when the only decision you need to make is 'get ball, kick ball to Hodges' (or whatever other KPF was going around at the time), it's not such a big deal. He has a long and direct kicking action too, which would've been more effective in the days of one-on-ones and emptying out the forward line than it is now in the days of pinpoint passes to pick out leads through the zone.
Giving away dumb free kicks due to being overly aggressive: You could get away with a lot more back then.
Tactical awareness: Tactics weren't as big a part of the game then as they are now.