Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

The same ruling should be in place if someone were to use "Minda" in a derogatory manner.

I have a mate whose nickname is minda.

It is funny when you are playing footy outside SA and you call someone a minda. You identify the other SA boys straight away by the laughter and everyone else by the "What the ****?" looks on their faces.

i just got back from Vegas and i'd hate to sound like a conspiracy theorist but i highly doubt that his death was accidental. There is no way for anyone to access the rooftop of the hotel (they cannot even go up the elevators at the Flamingo without a room key). I dont care if the police checked CCTV footage from the hotel because all the casino security appeared to be shifty anyway. Vegas is truly a sin city infested with hustlers and scam artists, if Jmac was staying at the Hard Rock (same hotel we stayed at) how did he end up at the Flamingo(a 10 min drive away) and gain access to a roof top with no room card at 5am in the morning? And where were his team mates? The story doesn't make sense.

Erh did you ever think the hotel has cracked down on security since the incident? Do you reckon people don't leave doors that shoud be locked, unocked?

**** ups happen all the time. They don't involve conspiracy theories.

I have a mate whose nickname is minda.

It is funny when you are playing footy outside SA and you call someone a minda. You identify the other SA boys straight away by the laughter and everyone else by the "What the ****?" looks on their faces.

D_One, Weathercap and I over a beer or 6, many many moons ago discussed the fact that if Llyeton Hewitt, being an SA boy, had called the chair umpire a minda rather than a *******, he would of got away with it, not been fined and not received any bad PR for being a dickhead teenager. Internet tells me it was way back in May 2001 at the French Open.

I have found myself reffering to people - mainly dills who appear on the news ie politicans, celebrities and idiots - as spazs the last few months. Don't know why, haven't used that phrase for 15+ years.

D_One, Weathercap and I over a beer or 6, many many moons ago discussed the fact that if Llyeton Hewitt, being an SA boy, had called the chair umpire a minda rather than a *******, he would of got away with it, not been fined and not received any bad PR for being a dickhead teenager. Internet tells me it was way back in May 2001 at the French Open.

I have found myself reffering to people - mainly dills who appear on the news ie politicans, celebrities and idiots - as spazs the last few months. Don't know why, haven't used that phrase for 15+ years.

Thats all you blokes do is drink. Can't you have fun without alcohol?

As a west Aussie, ths conversation makes absolutely no sense to me.
Have a mate who lives in Perth, from Adelaide originally, sledged blokes for years on the cricket pitch with the 'Minda' call...probelm was nobody had any idea what he was talking about. Explained it to his teammates obviously, but the opposition had no idea.

One more thing on this subject. The West Indies' 11 Test winning streak in the 1980's is made extra noteworthy due to the problem of slow over-rates at the time (largely their own doing considering they employed four fast bowlers coming off long runs), and the fact play would stop at 6pm sharp regardless of how many overs had been bowled for the day, or if the match had been affected by rain etc. Draws were far more common then and a series clean sweep of victories extremely rare.

During Australia's reign it was rare we didn't see the full 90 overs bowled in the day, lost time was made up either on the end of the days play or the start of the next, leaving teams little choice but to play for the victory. Draws became almost a thing of the past and results became common place, even at previously notorious "draw" venues like Adelaide.

All of the above plus look at which countries the Windies played their tests in during their 1982-84 27 tests without a loss compared to the 2 x 16 wins for Oz when they went 18 tests without a loss in 1999-2001 period and 22 in the 2005-2008 period. India and Pakistan have always produced road wickets, but were even more so made roads to blunt the Windies, and the tracks in the Windies have always been roads, with many or the test team, partnership and individual batting records being recorded in the Windies eg 7 of the 26 triple centuries made in test cricket have been made in the Windies from 221 tests whereas the 7 in England have come in 471 tests. ( 3 have been made in Oz, Sri Lanka and Pakistan, 2 in India and 1 in NZ).

Most tests undefeated lists at
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/records/284038.html

1982-84 Windies 27 undefeated tests - with 11 straight wins at end of run
2in Oz + 5 in WI v India ( 2W 3D) + 6 in India (2W 4D) + 5 in WI v Oz (2D then 3 Wins) + 5 in Eng (5W) + 4 in Oz (3 Win then Draw) - the Sydney Bunsen burner finally got them and Bob Holland and Murray Bennett.

2005-06 Oz 22 undeated tests
1 Eng (Draw) + 7 Oz ( inc World XI + 3 WI + 3 SAF 1st test was a Draw) + 3 in SAF (3 wins)+ 2 in Bang 2(wins) + 9 in Oz ( 5 v poms + 2 v Sri + 2 v India - all wins)

1999-2001 18 undefeated tests
2 draws in Sri + 1 win in Zimbo + 6 wins in Oz ( 3 India + 3 pak) + 3 win in NZ + 5 wins in Oz v WI + 1 win in India

The 1980's and early 90's was a great decade and a bit of of test cricket because even thought the Windies dominated and we a big gap between them and #2, there wasn't much between #2 and #7 nation and even Sri Lanka were competitive at times.

The great allrounders Botham, Dev, Kahn and Hadlee all played and were backed up by one or two very good batsman Gooch and Gower, Gavaskar and Vengsarkar, Javed and Malik, Crowe and Jones as well as good support from one or two bowlers.

Australia had 4 shit years between January 1984 when Chappell, Lillee and Marsh retired and then we played the Windies in 10 consecutive tests, great planning by the administrators and the rebel tour to South Africa stole 20 players form shield cricket depth, until 1988. The bicentennial test was the end of Oz being shit. The 1988-89 series against the Windies even though a 3-1-1 loss, was the start of Australia hardening the **** up.

The 80's was summed up by the Windies winning everywhere in the world or squeaking out drawn series on the subcontinent thanks usually to Malcolm Marshall, other teams winning at home rarely winning away from home and lots of drawn series on the sub continent.

Like Vince Carter against the Warriors the other night. Rolls his ankle (or something) and lays on the ground, only to get up for an alley-oop dunk on the half time buzzer. (Admittedly, the dubs still shouldn't have kept his eyes off him).

Also, on the topic of NBA - Uncle Drew. Again. Gun.

I do wonder if they have much louder audio and more zoom possibility than the tv coverage... There surely must be a reason for it?
Snicko picked up nothing.
Now they are stating to miss play due to showing adverts for the block:confused:, I suppose it's better than having to listen to that bloody stupid farmer uniod iced coffee add.

Regardless of whether the ball did or didn't hit his glove, the original decision was "not out" and video evidence was completely inconclusive. Now i thought in that instance the decision just automatically reverted to the umpires original decision? Besides, for as long as i've been watching cricket the benefit of any doubt has always gone to the batsman.

Really going to have to go with the 49ers today.

The raven is too close to another despised bird.

Move the Rams back to LA.

My boss is a Rams supporter. He has taken the day off to watch the game at the Casino. I am holding the fort by watching the game in the canteen at work.

Are you allowed to drink in the work canteen?