Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Drove 3 hours to see Tool and they cancelled an hour before the show and rescheduled to tomorrow when I am working. This is on top of already missing out on black sabbath in Melbourne tomorrow after already paying for airfares and tickets due to placement at uni because they waited so long to announce an Adelaide show. And I don't have the money to buy yet another ticket for that. **** my life and **** Tool. I know where they get their name from now at least.

You know Maynard is crook dont you ?? Was advised by doctors to not hit the stage tonight. Vocalists can do permanent damage if its as bad as this appears to be. You reckon they waited till the eleventh hour to troll their fans ??

I also bought Sabbath tix for tomorrow nights show and sold them on ebay for a paltry $60ea. I also booked and paid for flights bloody 3 days before the Adelaide show was announced. Sucks balls but I wrote off that money and bit the bullet to see Sabbath here.

Surely you can take a sickie for tomorrow night ?

You know Maynard is crook dont you ?? Was advised by doctors to not hit the stage tonight. Vocalists can do permanent damage if its as bad as this appears to be. You reckon they waited till the eleventh hour to troll their fans ??

I also bought Sabbath tix for tomorrow nights show and sold them on ebay for a paltry $60ea. I also booked and paid for flights bloody 3 days before the Adelaide show was announced. Sucks balls but I wrote off that money and bit the bullet to see Sabbath here.

Surely you can take a sickie for tomorrow night ?
Surely they could have either called it off earlier or get someone else to sing/crowd to sing (seen that happen a fair bit) or even just played instrumental. I know he was crook but it's poor form to announce it so late.
Already took a sickie for tonight, can't find anyone else to cover for me tomorrow.

Surely they could have either called it off earlier or get someone else to sing/crowd to sing (seen that happen a fair bit) or even just played instrumental. I know he was crook but it's poor form to announce it so late.
Already took a sickie for tonight, can't find anyone else to cover for me tomorrow.

Because that would have been awful.

Huge I don't see your problem, you got free tickets. I have a few mates who are off to Melbourne tomorrow for Sabbath that paid the $150 for Tool and won't be attending. They have announced that those people that can't make tomorrow's show will be refunded anyway. Shit happens.

I agree it would've been nice if they did announce it earlier though.

Huge I don't see your problem, you got free tickets. I have a few mates who are off to Melbourne tomorrow for Sabbath that paid the $150 for Tool and won't be attending. They have announced that those people that can't make tomorrow's show will be refunded anyway. Shit happens.

I agree it would've been nice if they did announce it earlier though.
I'm really only pissed off at the fact I drove 3 hours for nothing, if they announced it before I left home I wouldn't be angry at all.

Here I was expecting Bonham or Peart. DC is my number 1 by a long, long way. Polyrhythms

Tommy Aldridge, Morgan Rose, Vinny Appice, Chris Adler, Nicko McBrain, Dave Weckl and Mike Mangini are amazing drummers too and some of my favourites.

You want Polyrhythms, check out Haake.

Severely underrating Bev Bevan from ELO.

Nope. I don't know how good a drummer he is, but anyone named Bev Bevan deserves to be rated poorly.

Mate we could go on all night about amazing musos. There are some wonderful talents out there.

I was totally just putting a name out there to see if you were one of THOSE metal fans. ;)

ELO just happened to be the first band that popped into my enormous melon.

I was totally just putting a name out there to see if you were one of THOSE metal fans. ;)

ELO just happened to be the first band that popped into my enormous melon.

Not at all... I dig a lot of Jazz Fusion stuff too. I've got Dave Weckl on my list for a reason... ;)

Why is it that THOSE metal fans exist, anyway? It seems to be a particular quality of some people who are really into metal to gradually lose the ability to appreciate any other kind of music. I don't think that happens with other genres.

Unfair to tar with the same brush.

Whilst there are those fans that will bag the shit out of anything non metal, you'll find a heap of metal fans will listen to Jazz, Hip Hop and Dance...

Unfair to tar with the same brush.

Whilst there are those fans that will bag the shit out of anything non metal, you'll find a heap of metal fans will listen to Jazz, Hip Hop and Dance...

Oh I totally agree, and don't mean to tar. But there is that 15-20% or so in my experience who just can't and won't listen to anything else. That alone has always kind of fascinated me.