Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I would hate that. It'd be funny at first, but the amount of morons who would yell 'hurr hurr Centrelink Districts!' like they were the first guy who thought of that joke would ruin it. Every time I hear some genius at the footy yell out a witty observation about the umpires being sponsored by OPSM, I die a little inside.

why doesn't clarke bat 3rd

He's not a number 3.

I would hate that. It'd be funny at first, but the amount of morons who would yell 'hurr hurr Centrelink Districts!' like they were the first guy who thought of that joke would ruin it. Every time I hear some genius at the footy yell out a witty observation about the umpires being sponsored by OPSM, I die a little inside.

I had one of those at the Grand Final this year. No joke, he told it to 3 different people in the space of 5 minutes.

Will it be paid in fortnightly instalments?

They will have a choice, either that or an annual lump sum payment, a percentage of which will have to be paid back fortnightly ;)

Watson is the Mark Waugh of this decade. Mark Waugh was a better batsman than Watson but his average is only about 6 more than Watson's. Waugh survived about 30 more tests than he should have because he was a great fielder and could bowl useful off spin, but he underperformed with the bat. Watson stays in the side because of his alround abilities. But he isn't an opener or no.3. Stick him in at 6 and he can get away with those dumb shots.

Oh boy REH.... I see your angle, and partly agree, but there is no universe in which Watson shall be compared to Mark Waugh. The attacks Waugh faced are far superior for a start.

Mark Waugh made over 20 Test hundreds, which as a top order player, is a better reflection than his average in this comparison.

Oh boy REH.... I see your angle, and partly agree, but there is no universe in which Watson shall be compared to Mark Waugh. The attacks Waugh faced are far superior for a start.

Mark Waugh made over 20 Test hundreds, which as a top order player, is a better reflection than his average in this comparison.

There is no doubt that Waugh is a lot better batsman and fielder than Watson and a lot better cricketer in total. But both will end their career never living up to their full potential. Both have gotten out to dumb lazy shots too often in Test cricket.

20 test tons might have been about right for him.

And that still makes him a star.

Everyone says his brother was more determined and had better concentration. Maybe he was just better? Mark was more fluent and looked great when he was on but if you said to a bloke you have potential to be a test batsman and you make 20 test tons I'd say you lived up to your potential.

20 test tons might have been about right for him.

And that still makes him a star.

Everyone says his brother was more determined and had better concentration. Maybe he was just better? Mark was more fluent and looked great when he was on but if you said to a bloke you have potential to be a test batsman and you make 20 test tons I'd say you lived up to your potential.

Mark Waugh was a star and can officially be called a great of One Day Internationals. He lived up to his potential in that form of the game and if anything I reckon he could have played a bit longer.

But he seemed to get bored in test cricket. Only made one score of 150 or more - 153 not out in Bangalore in the 3rd test of 1998. To me he was a very good test batsman but not a great. Justin Langer has a better record at test level.

He hit 20 tons and 47 50's which is the worst conversion rate of 50' into 100's of any one who has made 20 tons or more, and is the 3rd worst of anyone who made 15 tons or more, only ahead of Atherton or Stewart. See

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/records/227046.html

And for the record.... Damien Martyn was a more elegant player than Mark Waugh.

Loved Marto.

But Marto was weirder. Supposedly he doesn't really communicate with any of the guys he played cricket with. Story is he didn't get close to anyone.

I hate to be the one that breaks it to you mate but in this case stats don't lie. He was as good as his average.

So not great but a bit better than average.