Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Playing on Friday night is a weird feeling
I know. Yesterday I went to set the gizmo to record the Monday footy shows and couldn't find them. Because, as it turns out, I had asked it to select from shows 24 hours ahead and it should have been 48.

Even the gizmo's are confused

Did anyone else that was there on Friday notice The Smaller Warrior has an entourage?
Well finally. :rolleyes:
And what is with is not being told he was doing 'Kicking for chicken'? I was pretty disappointed to hear I missed that. I usually watch that but was doing other stuff this game.

I have an exam on Friday the 19th of September - prelim final Friday - the time's not released yet but they're always at night. ****! ****!

Looks like I just discovered a new favorite aunt, unfortunately she's terminally ill and located in, I'm hoping, Adelaide.

Rodriguez - Searching For Sugarman music doco on SBS has been an interesting story.

Awesome song, even better story.

Yep that and I Wonder I have known for years and knew the name but had no idea of his story

Funny to think that a 1970's Spanish American rock n roll / folk singer had a massive folowing among young Afrikaners who were against apartheid in the 1980's they thought he was dead - the south africans find him in 1997 - hes been a poor manual labourer for 20 years and then goes and plays to 20,000 people in Capetown.

Sold millions of records in South Africa and gets nothing from it. The south african news article headline got it right - American Zero, South African Hero.

Yep that and I Wonder I have knkwn for years and knew the name but had no idea of his story

Funny to think that a 1970's Spanish American rock n roll / folk singer had a massive folowing among young Afrikaners who were against apartheid in the 1980's they thlught he was dead - the south africans find him in 1997 - hes been a poor manual labourer for 20 years and then goes and plays to 20,000 people in Capetown.

Sold millions of records in South Africa and gets nothing from it. The south african news article headline got it right - American Zero, South African Hero.
What a surprise that would be, finding out you're a huge star abroad 20 years after releasing your music.

Did you watch the doco? If not you can go to SBS on demand and they have already put the video link up.

Gonna watch the first half of the GAA semi final between Mayo and Kerry live from Croke Park on 7mate.

Will probably spend more time wondering who we can go and recruit rather than watching the game as a sports spectacle. Haha a balmy Irish summer day of 7 degrees.

The Galeic game has adopted the dangerous sliding in rule where taking a blokes leg out is a free against the slider.

Watching some of these set shots with a round ball I cant help but think how Johnny Butcher would go. I dont think it would be pretty but would entertain the crowd.

Score was 0-4 each for about 12 minutes. But Kerry have opened up a 0-8 to 0-5 lead and Mayo just got someone sin binned.

I reckon there are 3 or 4 blokes in each side who could play AFL. Its a bloody quick game. Like the fact blokes cant go to ground and pick the ball up. You have to be on your feet to pick the ball up. It opens up the game compared to ball ups and mauls is Aussie Rules. Kerry 0-9 to 0-5 up at half time. Oh well wont be watching second half.

Rodriguez - Searching For Sugarman music doco on SBS has been an interesting story.
Didn't watch it tonight but actually have the DVD. And the Cold Fact album is on the car's sound system hard drive. One of the legacies of living in a very musically literate share house in the 1970s.

Saw this in the cinema probably 12 months or more ago. Great story and I bought the soundtrack CD after seeing it.