Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

PB has two stages. Not drunk and kill all dylan8s.
Where does the 'TSW is a lip-pierced loser' stage fit in? I seem to remember that from some time ago.

It's the point where you should consciously stop drinking but you think "it will be EVEN BETTER if I keep drinking" and then it is for a short time and then you have chunks of mum's spaghetti on your new shoes.
Fortunately, then, the decision was made for me. My girlfriend has to work at 7.30 in the morning so wanted to leave.

65587908_mmftbbalotelligoalvmanutd.png

Posting this for a laugh, while also sincerely asking the question.

Atleast now we know what happened to dylans0-7.

Doctor Feel, it seems an insane emphasis has been placed on the graphics of Battlefront, which would've taken up a lot of time. Whose decision was it to do that? EA or Dice? Surely gameplay should be taking precedent?

EA. They are literally the hand of god in this. They push very strict deadlines and work people very hard. Hilariously, my mate works 50 hours a week for 40k AUD in Stockholm, he loves his work but he certainly has a hatred for EA. They care about marketing and sales, they allocate very little time and resources to quality control as evidenced by how buggy their games are on release.

During battlefield 4 production they lost alot of talent through resignations, they got replaced with inexperienced coders and artists resulting in a generally awful game that utilised incredibly over the top weather and lens flare to hide sub par environments.

Battlefront was being done simultaneously with battlefield. He has maintained from the get go that the graphics are sweet but the gameplay needs considerably more than a polish if it's to be a long term prospect.

Long story short, EA are box movers. They care about the sales not the end product. Luckily for them, they will make a mint off this because they paid their staff **** all in combination with the fact it will sell because it has the words "star wars" in it.

I was worried when EA took over Mass Effect between 2 and 3, but 3, ending aside, was just as fantastic as the others

ea has been making a killing by adding a fresh coat of paint to their sporting game franchise every year....

I was worried when EA took over Mass Effect between 2 and 3, but 3, ending aside, was just as fantastic as the others

I agree, but that was bioware. Bioware are very experienced, talented and well looked after. They are literally the final destination for anyone in the game industry. The nirvana.

Dice on the other hand are stuck with the yearly release games. They were woefully underprepared for Battlefront.

ea has been making a killing by adding a fresh coat of paint to their sporting game franchise every year....

With the publisher that brings you the sims version 5000 with some new skins, a new battlefield, fifa and underwater basket weaving games each year, were their motives ever not clear?

Tom Clancy Seige, Fallout 4 and Firewatch are the games i'm massively waiting for

As long as their sporting franchise remain at the top they won't change.

With no real challengers, they won't get knocked off. The gaming industry is all kinds of messed up now. All the competition has been aquired/bought. We are left with an overall very tired industry with lots of great ideas that don't see the light of day through lack of funding or end up as a small indie title. We've got all these supposed "blockbusters" which are just rehashes of the same game/mechanics. Everyone plays it safe and never try anything genuinely new because it's a risk. It's become so lucrative that jobs hang in the balance with every release (EA lay people off by the hundreds or thousands without breaking a sweat) - so naturally we get stuck with assassins creed 500, mario 2000, battlefield and cod 999. Simply because no one wants to take a risk, and there is no proper competition to challenge the status quo.

It's awful.

Think of the time the very first AC, CoD and Battlefield came out. They were legit groundbreaking. It's now been the better part of two decades and we literally haven't seen anything truly different since.

Then there is MMOs which has become a scrapheap of a genre with 99% being shut down after a few years (if that) and never achieving a fan base. No one successfully challenged WoW, and no one still has successfully challenged them. The game was released in 2004. What a perfect storm that game was. It had no real competitors aside from some very aged mmos such as runescape or even ragnarok online. MMOS are a dead genre, and it's a shame. They are all free to play or free to a certain point then you pay. They make no money unless they put in deplorable in game transactions etc.

Gaming has been rotting for 10 years now.

Are you a twenty four seven garderner or care taker on here chook? Because between posts ive read of yours ive been to the Coffin Bay National Park in my Cruiser, eaten a hundred oysters, caught 20 King George Whiting, punctured two tyres, kyaked out from Point Sir Issaccs, smashed heaps of gorgeous photos..........................all the while youre still here bagging everyone and commenting on BigFooty. While being a Mod.

Must suck to be you.

Sounds like my kind of weekend!

Did you catch the whiting in your kayak?

I've caught whiting off the beach at sir Issacs and thought of taking a kayak out there to try out a bit deeper, but alas work and life gets in the way:(!
Need to have a trip out there again!

I agree, but that was bioware. Bioware are very experienced, talented and well looked after. They are literally the final destination for anyone in the game industry. The nirvana.

Dice on the other hand are stuck with the yearly release games. They were woefully underprepared for Battlefront.
Bioware's writing is early teenage fan fiction level cringeworthy garbage.

It doesn't stand up to any sort of criticism.

Also their combat is boring and easy in every case.

Cd project red mate

Bethesda

There's a lot to like still

Though not particularly competing. They are all fairly unique and provide only one title at a time, which is great becaus the end products are superb.

I hope with the witcher 3 now out, cd projekt provide some more around cyberpunk.

Though not particularly competing. They are all fairly unique and provide only one title at a time, which is great becaus the end products are superb.

I hope with the witcher 3 now out, cd projekt provide some more around cyberpunk.
They're dropping a big dlc which i read months ago is supposed to be as big as W2

With no real challengers, they won't get knocked off. The gaming industry is all kinds of messed up now. All the competition has been aquired/bought. We are left with an overall very tired industry with lots of great ideas that don't see the light of day through lack of funding or end up as a small indie title. We've got all these supposed "blockbusters" which are just rehashes of the same game/mechanics. Everyone plays it safe and never try anything genuinely new because it's a risk. It's become so lucrative that jobs hang in the balance with every release (EA lay people off by the hundreds or thousands without breaking a sweat) - so naturally we get stuck with assassins creed 500, mario 2000, battlefield and cod 999. Simply because no one wants to take a risk, and there is no proper competition to challenge the status quo.

It's awful.

Think of the time the very first AC, CoD and Battlefield came out. They were legit groundbreaking. It's now been the better part of two decades and we literally haven't seen anything truly different since.

A little part of me would've liked to have lived through the video game up and downs of the 80s to the 00s, from Atari to market crash to Nintendo and Sega and then Sony, with a heap of other players, the gaming industry seemed so rich, diverse, and was really pushing things forward for the right reasons, breaking new ground.

Now it is just boring mainstream franchises with the occasional classic title, and 2D indie games on Steam that play like a 20 year old SNES title.

They're dropping a big dlc which i read months ago is supposed to be as big as W2

Yup. It's a big one. I actually got 3/4 of the way through the witcher 3 and just sort of stopped and carried on living my life. I should really finish it.

A little part of me would've liked to have lived through the video game up and downs of the 80s to the 00s, from Atari to market crash to Nintendo and Sega and then Sony, with a heap of other players, the gaming industry seemed so rich, diverse, and was really pushing things forward for the right reasons, breaking new ground.

Now it is just boring mainstream franchises with the occasional classic title, and 2D indie games on Steam that play like a 20 year old SNES title.

The first dual shock controller with the toggled that was a prerequisite to play ape escape. Lel.

Battlefront is okay..in my most un-committal response ever.

No Class system which is weird, everyone picks a weapon and a couple of cooldown items and thats it.

Very very basic shooter.

As far as MMO goes I did sink an hour in to LOTRO tonight...

That genuinely could have been something just inexplicably huge. They absolutely completely ****ed up a massive opportunity. Upsetting, really.

Battlefront is okay..in my most un-committal response ever.

No Class system which is weird, everyone picks a weapon and a couple of cooldown items and thats it.

Very very basic shooter.

Basically what my mate was expecting. "It's alright I guess" when it so easily could have been "I'll play this for years."