Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I wasn't actually serious... I will obviously help out where I can but coaching isn't on the agenda..

Avoid the scoring duty. Got stuck one summer doing cricket and when an over consists of Wide Wide Bye Leg Bye Wicket wide wide wide and you run out of space in the little 5mm wide square to fit in all those extra balls but maximum 8 and who's on strike and who actually bowled that last over

Plus every 30 seconds some chubby kids turn up to ask is that the score and how much did I get

Yes but your kids will never achieve greatness in the only field that matters (sports).

Nor will most people who get up at 7 on a Saturday (!) to drag their uncoordinated ungrateful turd and stand in a gorram oval for 2 hours looking stupid and having to talk to bogans about internet speeds ffs

So why bother when junior is obviously going to be a call of duty YouTuber.

Finally got around to checking out GameRoom Essentials at Ingle Farm shops.

Two hours for $10. Mentally time-travelled back to 1988. Main difference...

Age 14: clocking games on the first life.
Age 41: can't even finish the first level.
apparently gameroom essentials have been told they have 4 weeks to gtfo..

aldi dont **** around...

Is there any product out there that AC/DC hasn't put their name on? It reminds me of Spaceballs.
ar9w8qu.gif

Spaceballs_toilet_paper1.jpg

I would totally buy AC/DC toilet paper but never use it.

If there was camry crow toilet paper however...

Avoid the scoring duty. Got stuck one summer doing cricket .....
See this is where fate can be kind. When my boys played and families had their team duties my wife actually liked scoring. Scorers get chairs in the shade, people can't interrupt their view. She could happily chat endlessly to the corresponding scorer on the other team sat next to her, usually another mother. I felt like you about it.

My dad at one point was president of the local juniour footy league, umpire of the local league, and coach of a team.

As under 12s coach for that year he was undefeated he likes to tell me. Gotta love a league so short on people wanting to umpire you have the first ever umpiring coach.

Nah but seriously, 20 years later and I still have people reminding me what a hardarse taskmaster he was. 20 years.

I went to Woolworths and I found this.

Petit Pain

View attachment 212760
I had back spasms in France and had to go to a hospital ED for treatment. Ashen faced and sweating I was pointing to my back. My limited French had deserted me and I was saying "Pain*, pain," all the time conscious that to them I was saying "Bread, bread.'

* Seems it could have been any of douleur, peine, souffrance, mal, tristesse, effort (really?), or punition (that's more like it). Also the funky 'faire beaucoup de mal'.

KISS, or rather Gene Simmons are shocking.

It works but, it works wonders.

Many bands of that era indulged in it, including Zeppelin and Pink Floyd.

I had back spasms in France and had to go to a hospital ED for treatment. Ashen faced and sweating I was pointing to my back. My limited French had deserted me and I was saying "Pain*, pain," all the time conscious that to them I was saying "Bread, bread.'

* Seems it could have been any of douleur, peine, souffrance, mal, tristesse, effort (really?), or punition (that's more like it). Also the funky 'faire beaucoup de mal'.
Pain in French sounds more like pan (with a nasal n) and like 95% of French words means yoghurt.

Mal au dos was the phrase you were looking for.

my primary school french tells me you should have said 'ca va maaaaaaal' and held your stomach and doubled over
So of course I had to try that out in Google translate. Without the cedilla on the 'c' in ca it is largely meaningless i.e "'ca va mal'" comes out "Ca goes wrong." But "Ça va mal" means "Things are bad," so although a little ambiguous it would have been a start. :thumbsu:

Avoid the scoring duty. Got stuck one summer doing cricket and when an over consists of Wide Wide Bye Leg Bye Wicket wide wide wide and you run out of space in the little 5mm wide square to fit in all those extra balls but maximum 8 and who's on strike and who actually bowled that last over

Plus every 30 seconds some chubby kids turn up to ask is that the score and how much did I get

Nor will most people who get up at 7 on a Saturday (!) to drag their uncoordinated ungrateful turd and stand in a gorram oval for 2 hours looking stupid and having to talk to bogans about internet speeds ffs

So why bother when junior is obviously going to be a call of duty YouTuber.
See my parents had it sorted.

I reckon from age 10 through to 17, they attended 3 maybe 4 games of footy. The rest of the time they just got other parents to pick me up and drive me, or make me ride my bike to the game. Mostly home games.....mostly.

Good thing I got my licence in year 12 otherwise riding my bike from Fulham gardens to Rostrevor College we going to be tough.

And yes, I have mummy and daddy issues now.

aldi dont **** around...
Yay close down a bowling Ali and game room essentials for a ****ing cheep grocery store.

This is as bad as a ****ing church taking over a skate ring,

Yay close down a bowling Ali and game room essentials for a ******* cheep grocery store.

This is as bad as a ******* church taking over a skate ring,

Geeze, the guy that owns Gameroom Essentials has shit luck, isn't this the second premises he is being kicked out of?

aldi dont **** around...

The owner was looking at getting Coles on board to maybe help him with a long term lease and keep Aldi out.

But that's working on the premise he had up to a year to get it sorted... not four weeks!

Old mate should move to Salisbury/Parabanks. Plenty of vacant joints there! Probably cheaper rent, too.

This would have nothing to do with the fact it's a five minute walk for me. Absolute nothing. Nope...