Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Yeesh, that's good to know, just had an interview with the housing trust, apparently the manager of the southern branch gave us the ok to live here but was overruled by higher ups on monday afternoon, instead of 12 weeks to find a new house it's 8 weeks because it's backdated to the day mum passed away. They might give us an opportunity to buy the house from them but would probably need a stupidly high deposit.

Best of all, the new tenants will most likely be "users". To think all the hard work we have put into this house over the 18 years all to have some scum meth-head come and most probably wreck it, Ok we might be trust tenants but we always took pride in our house.
Just leverage debt to buy an investment property and then your tax savings can go towards rent for a private house. Problem solved.

Yeesh, that's good to know, just had an interview with the housing trust, apparently the manager of the southern branch gave us the ok to live here but was overruled by higher ups on monday afternoon, instead of 12 weeks to find a new house it's 8 weeks because it's backdated to the day mum passed away. They might give us an opportunity to buy the house from them but would probably need a stupidly high deposit.

Best of all, the new tenants will most likely be "users". To think all the hard work we have put into this house over the 18 years all to have some scum meth-head come and most probably wreck it, Ok we might be trust tenants but we always took pride in our house.
Like others have said, get on to Leon Byner or something. Send an email if you don't like talking on radio. He will at least give you a contact I reckon to follow up. Don't lay down and let them walk all over you, take the fight as far as you can. The Housing trust are probably not keen on bad publicity, as they get a bit of it, so make them earn it if they are going to kick you.

Just leverage debt to buy an investment property and then your tax savings can go towards rent for a private house. Problem solved.

...or become a meth head.

Sorry LukeSA, I don't mean to make light of your predicament. Can your local MP help at all, maybe even Today Tonite?

head-nod.gif

Anyone going to GBH tonight?

Isn't she in Portland? She could just buy a gun at Walmart and blow away any unwanted boob fondlers.

Getting rid of negative gearing is not creating a tax, it is getting rid of concessions that only the affluent can get. That's why it's unfair.

Reducing personal income tax just because you can afford to buy a spare property is a ridiculous concept.

Nearly as ridiculous as the argument that it's for the public good!

Great.

So I get punished for listening at school again.

Theoretical withdrawal of a reward =/= punishment

How is it a reward?

I'm helping you povo scum.

I am nothing if not benevolent.

What is interesting Mcdonalds using a floating price system now. They charge more in poorer suburbs, because the clients are willing to pay more.

That's the same with many things.

Groceries are cheaper and better quality in wealthier suburbs at Coles and Woolies because the clientele are more discerning and are willing and able to travel to buy better/ cheaper elsewhere.

Haha watching Jack Irish on ABC and there are a lot of Fitzroy Footy Club references throughout the series.

He books a busty blonde hooker for a 9am booking at home. He is eating cereal and he says they can set up in the living room. She says she can do a strip for him and to find some music. He goes thru his record collection and finds the Fitzroy club song and puts that on and she looks perplexed, but then starts dancing to it.

Then he gets to the real reason he booked her, she was a witness to guys who tried to kill him, has a conversation and tapes it as back up as she says she wont go to the cops as the guys will kill her. I love how the show gets in lots of little Fitzroy references, especially the 3 old boys who are always in sitting at the bar.

Haha and a couple of scenes later a sculptor friend (Claudia Karvan) of Jack Irish meets him at the bar and the 3 old boys talk to her about building a sculpture of Jack's old man who played for Fitzroy to put it up at the Brunswick St Oval. Very clever writing.

Negative gearing is a farce and that's why I'm keen to take advantage of it in the near future, soon as I'm done claiming my share market losses on my tax return so someone else can pay for my first world bad luck.

Also, there's already a tax on V8 cars, the luxury car tax. An even bigger rort. Even if I had a billion dollars I could never see the sense in buying a new car in Aus.

Haha and a couple of scenes later a sculptor friend (Claudia Karvan) of Jack Irish meets him at the bar and the 3 old boys talk to her about building a sculpture of Jack's old man who played for Fitzroy to put it up at the Brunswick St Oval. Very clever writing.
I enjoyed the line about "the apple fell far from the tree" in relation to Jack compared to his illustrious football hero father.