Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

How good is pale?

Sinking Fat Yaks tonight - a premature coping mechanism for the predicted shit footy tonight.
Lazy Yaks are also le business

Fat Yak is a great Pale, I love it, but it's got nothing on Pirate Life which is probably my favourite beer.
I don't know what this is, but you could probably find it at any northern suburbs pub in Melbourne, where local pales are served up exclusively.

I don't know much about Pubs in the northern suburbs of Melbourne, but I very much doubt it. If you happen to find out they do however, I would suggest you drink there all the time. :D

Northern burbs pubs are full of obscure shit. Hipsters farkin'.

Cue edgie with a can of fosters
I'd watch a documentary about the life of edgie. A man who never lived through the 80s, but is somehow trapped there. Psychologists would have a field day.

Ah righto. Well...it's a reeeeeealy good beer. Almost worth having sit among hipsters for....almost.
Hipsters are underrated peoples. I reckon BigFooty is too old and cynical to appreciate how down to earth your Melbourne hipster can be. And their watering holes are much more tolerable than bogan local pubs. Pint of Draught, moite.

Well then get down there and tell me if they have Pirate Life on tap! :P
They would probably have Mountain Goat Summer Ale, another awesome Pale.
TBH, if being a bit of a beer snob makes me a hispter, then so be it (not saying it does, but I have been called that in the past due to my beer snobbery.)

Well then get down there and tell me if they have Pirate Life on tap! :p
They would probably have Mountain Goat Summer Ale, another awesome Pale.
TBH, if being a bit of a beer snob makes me a hispter, then so be it (not saying it does, but I have been called that in the past due to my beer snobbery.)
Beer snobbery is ok but just don't trash VB because it's great and stuff. Also Melbourne Bitter has become a regular in my rotation - but I'm ashamed of that.

Most places just have an assortment of Victorian crafts tbh. Which is fine but I'm just after whatever is cheapest lol.

Beer snobbery is ok but just don't trash VB because it's great and stuff. Also Melbourne Bitter has become a regular in my rotation - but I'm ashamed of that.

Most places just have an assortment of Victorian crafts tbh. Which is fine but I'm just after whatever is cheapest lol.
The way I usually do it is start with a couple of good beers, and then go for cheapest stuff after that. Haha

I'd watch a documentary about the life of edgie. A man who never lived through the 80s, but is somehow trapped there. Psychologists would have a field day.

tl;dr for Dylan.

Older brother born in 1980.
Family good times in 80s.
Family bad times start in 1988.
Edgie born 1990.
Family no money.
Edgie grow up with family materialistically and maybe emotionally stuck in the 80s, so Edgie is raised in an 80s household with hand me downs.

Family gets back on track around 2002.
Edgie experiences modern things.
**** modern things, how cool were the 80s? I WANNA ROCK!
GTA Vice City released. Edgies unorthodox taste in things vindicated.

Post mortem:
80s revival starts sometime in the late naughties. Edgie feels ripped off by these hipster posers, and dials it up to 11 (80s reference).

tl;dr for Dylan.

Older brother born in 1980.
Family good times in 80s.
Family bad times start in 1988.
Edgie born 1990.
Family no money.
Edgie grow up with family materialistically and maybe emotionally stuck in the 80s, so Edgie is raised in an 80s household with hand me downs.

Family gets back on track around 2002.
Edgie experiences modern things.
**** modern things, how cool were the 80s? I WANNA ROCK!
GTA Vice City released. Edgies unorthodox taste in things vindicated.

Post mortem:
80s revival starts sometime in the late naughties. Edgie feels ripped off by these hipster posers, and dials it up to 11 (80s reference).

So essentially, you are living in a time bubble where AC/DC was just about the biggest thing in Australia.

No. Their Aussie success peaked in the 70s countdown era. As is the Australian way, they were then ignored for a decade or 2 until their staying power became undeniable in favour of local only acts that couldn't break foriegn markets like Chisel and Barnsey and Farnsey, so hey presto, they went from playing indoor gigs to stadium tours.