Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

To answer edgie's original question, I don't think either could be considered that obscure. B-Side or not they'd have both been released on a major label in large or largish quantities and the masters likely wouldn't have been destroyed.

AC/DC , U2 , The Stones etc. are just the Coke Cola of the music world, fair dinkum Metallica can just release turd after turd & sell fiddy 5 billion to the pleb brigade it's all meaningless..... I RECKON

It would? o_O
Yes, to avoid dodginess.

You know it's gone all the way around and locked out, I've watched Ferris Bueller, I know how this shit works.

Yes, to avoid dodginess.

You know it's gone all the way around and locked out, I've watched Ferris Bueller, I know how this shit works.
When my 'Cruiser had 10,000km on it the second time around it was pretty obvious it wasn't a "one little old lady owner who only drives it to church on Sundays" car.

If the odometer locks out then there is no way of knowing how far the vehicle has really been driven.

When my 'Cruiser had 10,000km on it the second time around it was pretty obvious it wasn't a "one little old lady owner who only drives it to church on Sundays" car.

If the odometer locks out then there is no way of knowing how far the vehicle has really been driven.
Surely once it hits 999999 the extra mileage is irrelevant in assessing the condition of the engine.

What are you expecting to happen? o_O

I owned an FJ 40 'Cruiser that I clocked. Maybe in the digital age youngsters don't realise what happens when the dial goes past all nines.

I have had heaps of cars, probably over 50...plus I had a small wrecking yard, but I won't add them...I never looked at the odo's on any of them, other than a passing glance. Just as long as it started when I turned the key, I was happy, but I would have gladly warped to another dimension if I could

Surely once it hits 999999 the extra mileage is irrelevant in assessing the condition of the engine.
Maybe not the engine but certainly the engine oil.

The odometer only went to 99,999 hence it being clocked.

AC/DC , U2 , The Stones etc. are just the Coke Cola of the music world, fair dinkum Metallica can just release turd after turd & sell fiddy 5 billion to the pleb brigade it's all meaningless..... I RECKON

Metallica fans are ****ed. They lapped up Death Magnetic which was mostly terrible.

All the other bands mentioned have a far more impartial and objective fan base.

Nah. Death Magnetic was pretty good. The production was awful but the songs were decent.

Hmmm, what's more obscure?

An unreleased AC/DC b-side or a PJ Harvey reject that once ended up on the soundtrack to a bad movie?

I like PJ Harvey.

I liked AC/DC.

But then Bon died.

And so did they.

You can bag theses guys all you like Nancy but the one thing they all have is two or three albums that will be played till the end of time.

On the YouTube hits, PJ Harvey wins the obscurity challenge by several hundred thousand.

I'll nominate that.

Or I could nominate a song from the local glam band I wrote for... Decisions.

It really is shit lyrics that kill alot of bands, Bon was like a cheeky street/bathroom wall poet it's like a pale imitation since his death.. if you are as one dimensional musically as they are also it becomes boring real quick.

It really is shit lyrics that kill alot of bands, Bon was like a cheeky street/bathroom wall poet it's like a pale immitation since his death.. if you are as one dimensional musically as they are also it becomes boring real quick.

The song I'm talking in particularly here, the unreleased Carry Me Home, is his finest lyrical moment. It's poetry. He also predicts his own death in it.

The Unforgiven 3 is one of the worst things I've ever heard and actually tarnished the other 2 Unforgiven songs.
Metallica finished at justice in my word.

Realised last night my HQ only has 6000 miles left til it tops out the odometer.

What happens then? Genuine question.

In Married with Children when Al Bundy's decides to sell his old car, the people at the Dodge Corporation inform him that if he can get his Dodge's odometer up to all 9's, the car will take part in a commercial, breaking the 1,000,000 miles and Al will be awarded a brand Dodge Viper.

You can bag theses guys all you like Nancy but the one thing they all have is two or three albums that will be played till the end of time.
That's true precious!!! pitty they become like brand names & produce garbage for decades is all I'm saying