Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Rue Grit - After a cleaning lady murders the job of cleaning my house leaving mould on the tiles in the bathroom I seek vengeance and hunt her through the Indian lands of Parramatta. With the help of James Bourne.

Mr Holland's Octopus - Heartwarming tale about the importance of following your passion. A frustrated restauranteur finds fulfillment as a high school home ec teacher while in his spare time he pursues his true goal of producing the perfect grilled octopus.

My Big Fat Geek Wedding - A 200 kg man, living in his basement, finds true love on World of Warcraft and faces the agonising decision of whether to sell his Star Wars collection to fund the wedding.

Saving Private Yan - Celebrity chef Yan from Yan Can Cook is conscripted to the army by mistake, and manages to improve the diet of the entire armed forces and thereby help win the war.

Ambo: First Blood - A paramedic on his first day has to deal with a massive car accident.

Alen - In deep space, the crew of the commercial starship Nostromo is awakened from their cryo-sleep capsules halfway through their journey home to investigate a distress call from an alien vessel. The terror begins when the crew encounters a chipmunk inside the alien ship, incessantly calling for his mate, Alen.

Steve?

Jurassic Par - A golf course is overrun with Dinosaurs. Shooter McGavin, the greatest golfer of all time armed with his golf clubs, is faced with completing the course and winning the trophy to maintain his number one ranking, all while saving people from rabid velociraptors.

...a half senate going up for re-election...The first 6 senators elected in each state get to serve 2 terms ie max of 6 years, and the second lot of 6 would have to stand for relection...
I can't remember who said it, it may have been Barry Cassidy, but I'm sure I heard that the new Senate itself needs to determine this. If you're selling your arse at every step maybe you can't just boot the juniors. It would be a strong card in any negotiation if true.

Despite Labor running a baseless (but effective) Mediscare campaign, it will increasingly become an issue due to spirally costs. $30 billion at the moment and rapidly increasing.

The ad with the GP whinging about the Libs supposedly winding back medicare I found particularly irritating. Why? Because your average GP has gone from a small practice 20 years ago to these super clinics and pretty much doubled their income because the corporatisation of the medical industry at this basic level has meant that people treat going to the doctors like going to the supermarket, except it's all free.

Your average GP who's willing to work a 60 hour week can bill between $600k to $1 million per annum (The clinic pockets 40-50%) of this.
It's a very tidy earner but numbers not possible back in the 1 man practices of yore.

Still I don't think a token co payment from people of means is necessarily a bad thing. It might stop some of the chronic "I stubbed my toe" visits. Obviously, the poor, the old, children should be exempt. Of course the GP's and their super clinics are dead against it, not for only altruistic reasons either, it is estimated that their incomes will decrease by as much as 15%.

So with this massive cost only increasing, maybe it is time to actually talk about it constructively (will not be possible in the next 3 years). Will we have a system that whereby we continue to jack up the Medicare levy, or do we look at a system where some form of co payment is a strategy worth looking at?

Anyone watching the Tour de France last night see the giant **** and hairy balls painted on the road? Was pretty funny.

When isn't a giant **** and hairy balls painted anywhere funny?

The Passion of The Chris - A journey of discovery and growth about this idiot I work with called Chris, and his passion project, doing up his 'tonner ute.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

Jurassic Par - A golf course is overrun with Dinosaurs. Shooter McGavin, the greatest golfer of all time armed with his golf clubs, is faced with completing the course and winning the trophy to maintain his number one ranking, all while saving people from rabid velociraptors.

Didn't that happen to Clive Palmer recently?

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

Gee thanks TSW, I might actually have to watch this shit now. :huh:

13606920_943430019099734_2022388896066591970_n.jpg

I mentioned this the other day.
No one got my subtle note... admittly I think it got stuck between a Liberal/Labor shit fight

The Dark Night - An oscar winning film noir, starring humphry bogart as a crime fighting orphan. Featuring symbolism such as "tripping over the bed pan because it's dark" and memorable one liners such as "I can't see shit."

Anyone watching the Tour de France last night see the giant **** and hairy balls painted on the road? Was pretty funny.
At a number of places for miles around on main highway near here you can see my paddocks up on the hill and framed really nicely by the National Forest. I have repeatedly resisted the urge to do this with roundup. :D